We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large summer getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked late on a whim and were pleased with our choice. A very friendly hotel with clean, comfortable rooms and a lovely breakfast! The fish choices were most welcome.
The hotel is close to the beach or the cliff path. There are plenty of facilities ranging from bowls to pool as well as swimming in the slightly cool pool!
Despite being very popular with dog owners, this is also ideal for those more wary of our canine friends!
The room had views over the fields to the rear of the hotel and was roomy, with 4 beds: ideal for young families and plenty of room for the two of us!
The town is a few minutes away, as is the sea pool.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for The Cliff Hotel at Bude
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

As the title says. Nice full English breakfast, spacious room where I slept well. A short walk to town. Friendly welcome from John who showed me to my room. When I next need a hotel in Bude I'll stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I can't recommend this hotel enough. It's location on the costal path being ideal for cliff walkers and bathers/surfers alike. The prices are very reasonable and the owners go above and beyond to cater to your needs. If you are a dog owner they are VERY dog friendly. Bude is an easy five minute walk away and because of this there is no noise from the town. All you can hear from your room is the sea. I look forward to visiting again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Churchill1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at The Cliff Hotel at the beginning of May. We had a first floor room overlooking the countryside and daughter and granddaughter a ground floor room. Unfortunately our room did not have a shower but I was advised about this when booking. The food was wonderful and the staff very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and our granddaughter even got the breakfast she requested! Rosalind and John made us all very welcome. The swimming pool is "allegedly" solar heated but was pretty cold, but it was cloudy and early May!! Lovely and clean though. We really liked the facilities- outdoor bowling green, tennis court, putting. The hotel is also situated in a lovely spot on the coastal footpath. Only one drawback and that is the local planning officials who agreed to someone building a new property right in front of the hotel and blocking the view of the sea from the bar and dining room. We will return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidisGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Cliff Hotel at the beginning of May for 4 nights. We were two couples with 2 dogs per couple. We were all made to feel very welcome, dogs included! Which makes a big difference to our holiday. Rosalind and John are lovely and go out of there way to make sure you are happy. It is a very cosy, comfortable hotel. The breakfast was lovely. We had the evening meal twice out of the 4 nights. It was superb - compliments to the CHEF and Rosalind made the most delicious deserts. We will definately return. Our 4 dogs Tikanni, Will, Charlie and Honey cant wait for there next holiday!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very welcoming and accommodating giving us lots of useful information about the area. Lovely clean and spacious room. Good breakfast and good facilities including indoor swimming pool which makes it even better value. The location is excellent. We spoke to a few guests who had been returning for many years. We will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Considering its price, this little hotel is superb value for money. The hotel sits on the side of the hill , from the breakfast room you have a view across the bay. The nearest beach is a very short walk down the hill, and the town centre is just a little bit further.

Rooms are clean and have en-suite, however I believe some rooms don't have showers....ours did. They are also dog friendly.

The indoor pool is a bonus, but be warned its not heated.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room for a shower.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.0 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
11.9 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel at Bude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel at Bude

Address: Road Near Crooklets Beach Maer Down, Bude EX23 8NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range: £76 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliff Hotel at Bude 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliff Hotel at Bude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Hotel At Bude Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing