We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb food - and catered for gluten/dairy free!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bude
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb food - and catered for gluten/dairy free!”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Every morning we thought we might eat out that evening but the menu for the day displayed at breakfast (which was superb) tempted us every day. Plenty of instant hot water and pillows. Very large comfortable room and friendly and well trained staff. Ideal situation next to National Trust land.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
37
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

The Cliff at Bude is owned and managed by John and Rosalind, two very nice people, who set out to make your stay at the hotel as a comfortable and memorable experience. Our room overlooked the beach and was very spacious and clean. The food, cooked by John was tasty, to say the least. The desserts, made by Rosalind were scrumptious. I could go on for hours about this hotel, but, GIVE IT A TRY, you wont be dissapointed.
Only one complaint: Chris's waistcoat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
723 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

When my wife and I decided to 'do Cornwall' in a week, in hindsight the August bank holiday week wasn't the best one to choose as accomodation was not easy to come by! We really struggled in Bude because there was a jazz festival on that week too, but after several fruitless phone calls we were delighted to find that the Cliff at Bude had a room left, which we immediately booked. Looking back, I'm pleased that the others were full because the Cliff is a little gem! Hidden away at the far (and top) end of town on (appropriately) the cliff, it presented us with the best breakfasts of the week, the largest bedroom and the best views. For the price of a Travelodge there was a tennis court, bowling green, free parking, indoor swimming pool, five acres of grounds, a nice lounge and bar, and the friendliest owners you could wish to meet.

The Cliff has recently had to drop the 'Hotel' reference from it's name for some strange administrative reason to do with how the AA rates it's guest houses, but don't be misled, I've stayed in hotels that don't offer a fraction of the facilities that are available here. It may not have room service, but with Bude full of pubs and restaurants (all of which John and Rosalind the owners can tell you about) you really don't need a plate of ham sandwiches at three in the morning. And you should see their safari photographs on the bar walls...!

All in all a great place offering excellent value. And did I mention the breakfasts??

  • Liked — The breakfasts!
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvechurch, hopwood
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We have travelled all over Cornwall, but always stay at the newly named, The Cliff at Bude, ( The Cliff Hotel)
The Cliff is situated on the outskirts of Bude, adjacent to National Trust land and only a 10 min. steady stroll into the town where many good places can be found to eat.
The early morning walk across the cliff tops sets you up for one of Johns excellent breakfasts.
There is always a warm welcome on arrival. Bedrooms are large and comfotable. I sleep better here than anywhere else in the world. John and Roselind are always there in the backgroud making your stay whatever you require it to be.Evenings are spent with new friends over a drink from the bar, admiring the sunsets and looking out for the lighthouse. John and Roselind have excellent knowledge of the local area and can always advise on days out.
Do try the Woodland Tearooms situated on the Atlantic Highway or walk up the canal, to try their new cream teas. If you want to stay in Bude, dont miss out on this gem of a place.

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — having to go home
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverflyer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
181 reviews
24.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel at Bude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel at Bude

Property: The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Address: Road Near Crooklets Beach Maer Down, Bude EX23 8NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliff Hotel at Bude 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff Hotel at Bude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Hotel At Bude Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing