We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Shore Bude Backpackers
Ranked #25 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bude
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights at this fantastic hostel, after spending a previous 3 nights in fawlty towers Penzance lol I really cannot recommend this Independent Hostel highly enough it was genuinely the only time 4 days into a holiday I felt relaxed, checking in was a breeze Janine showed me to my room, the whole place oozed relaxed the decor was fab, at least 3 other residents made very positive remarks about the owners and the really positive vibe, I am really so glad to have chosen this hostel I cannot recommend it highly enough Thank you Janine

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank stepurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Really warm and friendly hostel with great communal areas. Northshore is located within easy walking distance of dozens of great pubs and restaurants and the owners were really helpful with local information and surfing forecasts;)
I ended up with a private room with ensuite for a whole week in August - result!!
Bude is just such a great place to hang out and it is less than 10 minutes from Widemouth Bay - top surfing cove.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank illyinbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely house with friendly staff with a great location just 5 minutes walk from the town and 10 from the beach.

However, the accomodation was very basic (yes it's a hostel) and beds were noisy as hell. Every time someone in the room turned over at night I was awake.

Overall, I'd highly recommend it. However, if you haven't been to a hostel in a long time (like me) just remember that you get what you pay for and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_georgester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Thanks go to Sean for taking delivery of our luggage whilst we walked the South West Coastal Path.
The rooms were spacious, the bed was comfy and the showers were hot.
Just the ticket after a long walk.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Henrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hostel before setting out on the south west coast path. We had a private room with bunk bed and attached toilet. The facilities were clean, though small and the bunk beds a bit soft for our preference. The kitchen was quite large and had all the utensils you could want; the dining area was large and colorful. The lounge was comfy, though with other guests using the TV we didn't care to share the space. We were able to hand wash and dry clothing outside. The location is great for Bude; just a quick walk into town and services. Our hosts were personable and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had another great stay in this amazing hostel. It is spacious, clean and very welcoming. The morning view from the room towards the sea and the town is great. Thanks to Sean and Janine for the welcome stay in your great hostel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North B, Owner at North Shore Bude Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for such a glowing review and that the refurbishing work didn't interfere with your stay.
See you again in the summer holidays maybe.
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is an amazing hostel. Very clean, great kitchen, friendly Management.

I stayed for 2 nights, used kitchen on both evenings and found it had everything I needed. The property is very spacious, there is a large dining room as well as a big lounge.
Definitely the place to be in Bude!!

Room Tip: I booked through hostelbookers.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#2 of 9 in Bude
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
672 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bosvean House
Bosvean House
#13 of 49 in Bude
81 reviews
3.4 mi away
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Bude Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Bude Backpackers

Address: 57 Killerton Road, Bude EX23 8EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bude
Price Range: £21 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, relaxed and friendly place to stay for visitors on a budget. North Shore Bude offers doubles and dorm accommodation with a great atmosphere. Huge guest lounge and kitchen plus outside decking and bbq area. Large garden and board store. Close to the town and beaches of Bude. Great base to explore North Devon and the rest of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your North Shore Bude Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shore Bude Backpackers Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing