We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bude
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages
Ranked #14 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Bude
Dormansland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very relaxing break”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our family of four stayed at Blackberry lodge in August, the cottage was very well equipped and we even had milk and tea and coffee waiting for us after our long drive. The children particularly liked the pool and play area, and I took full advantage of the washing and drying facilities. The collection of books, games and dvds were brilliant and we cannot wait to go back again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsimonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevalgas, Owner at Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Thanks for your review Mrsimonp.

I must admit that I do enjoy choosing a wide range of DVDs for the cottages, and keep buying new batches, plus the fact that I can fit so many more on the shelves when we had a videos instead!

Very pleased to hear you would consider returning another time,

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in Bramblewood for a week in July and were delighted with just how much there was to do there. The cottage itself has everything you need for self-catering, and a great selection of DVDs for a quiet night in. And the group of cottages also have access to a large swimming pool, table tennis table and pool table, so there's lots to keep you entertained, even if it is raining outside! We virtually had the facilities to ourselves even at the beginning of July.

Bude is only 5 mins away in the car, with great beaches, surfing lessons and shopping. A really nice little town. And we also found a gluten free cream tea at a place called The Bakery (very exciting discovery for a coeliac!) in Bude. There were also lots of other lovely walks along the coast in that area.

Overall, great cottage, great facilities and lovely part of Cornwall. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevalgas, Owner at Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Thanks BlueCowboy for your review, and also the information about the Bakery.
I wasn't aware of this, so very useful.

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanymynech
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Been 3 years since stayed in Blackberry Cottage but so looking forward to going end of October. We have stayed in Bramblewood also and such high quality and so clean. We decided a while back to try somewhere different for a change in Polperro ... Oh my goodness we were so disappointed with the cottage I rang Katherine who owns both cottages in tears and asked if there was anything she could do for me and my family as we couldn't stay in such a horrible cottage. She very kindly sorted us accommodation out for Blackberry Cottage and saved our holiday! Due to work and family commitments we haven't had chance for a holiday for 3 years but we are so looking forward to going back to Blackberry because we know that it's like home from home for us, and Katherine does all she can to ensure our holiday is relaxing and stress free. I truly wouldn't go to any other cottages now when we come down to Bude. Alot of cottage owners could do with following Katherine's footsteps in keeping her guests happy. Would recommend a stay in either Blackberry or Bramblewood cottage thousand times over and twice on Sunday! lol

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevalgas, Owner at Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Thanks Sue H for your review.

It's lovely to have visitors return year after year, or even after a break or a few years, so lovely to hear from you again & that you were booking another week at our cottages.

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th visit back to Blackberry Cottage. The cottage is always clean and great for young children with high chair, Cot and bed guards available if required. The garden behind the cottage leads onto a lovely children's play area and the swimming pool is a great facility for the site. WiFi is available but not high speed but fine for checking mails if required. Samuel (our 4 1/2 yr old) is already looking forward to coming back next year :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevalgas, Owner at Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Thanks Andrew J for your review- and looking forward to welcoming you back next July!

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fantastic get away for couples or family we went last year and are going next week . Very well kept excellent condition . Our family from Canada our coming over to come stay with us in the cottage I know they will have a fantastic time here . My son loves the little park at the back . Such lovely views such a treat to stay there looking forward to next week

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 59Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevalgas, Owner at Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Thanks 59Dawn for your review- so glad you enjoyed the views, and the play area was well used !

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very well kept little private site, cottage very well equipped, Reg the gardener does a great job, indoor pool lovely , great stay , very relaxing place , could not ask for more, children's play ground safe and leads onto your garden through gate so no worries if you had the children or grandchildren with you

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevalgas, Owner at Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Thanks you Lesley225 for your review!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay: - yes we are very lucky to have Reg looking after our gardens in both cottages , and around the site,

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A great week in Blackberry cottage, lots to do and see locally.
The cottage was well equipped with everything we could of needed after the drive down(hairdryer, teabags and milk) LOL.
All was very clean and tidy on arrival and the kitchen was spotless and appliances looked new, and pots and pans well looked after all ready to use straight away without a worry of who used it before us.
The well stocked bookshelf came in handy on a rainy day, along with the TV and a bundle of classic films left to watch.

a great spot for a week away whether your relaxing or doing lots of activities!
Sure to return!
Charni and Tom

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevalgas, Owner at Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Hi Tom & Charni,

Thanks for your review- so glad you enjoyed it, and will be very pleased to welcome you back for your next visit in May 2015.

Hope you have have time to get some surfing in next time!

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.5 mi away
Broomhill Manor Country Estate
1.4 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
589 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Penstowe Holiday Park
Penstowe Holiday Park
#3 of 7 in Kilkhampton
429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daisythorne Bungalow B&B
Daisythorne Bungalow B&B
#5 of 7 in Kilkhampton
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages

Property: Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages
Address: Stonehill | Poughill, Bude EX23 9HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed detached holiday cottages in a tranquil setting, close to Bude and its sandy beaches. Enjoy great facilities normally found only on busier sites, including: Large indoor pool, Games room, free Wi-fi, children's play area in a large meadow, & laundry. The tastefully furnished cottages feature dishwashers, flatscreen digital TV, DVD & video players, private landscaped enclosed gardens with hardwood garden furniture & BBQ. Towels, bedlinen, cots, highchairs & bedguards are all provided FOC. Please note these cottages are kept free of pets and are for non-smokers - there is also hard flooring so they are suitable for those suffering from pet and dust allergies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackberry & Bramblewood Cottages Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing