We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie Sunday lunch”
Review of The Tree Inn

The Tree Inn
Ranked #19 of 123 Restaurants in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Serving lunch 12.00 - 14.30, dinner 18.00 - 21.00 Monday to Saturday and presenting a beautiful carvery from 12.00 to 16.00 Sunday. The Tree Inn is a former Manor House, parts of which date back to the 13th Century. It is situated in the historic market town of Stratton, about 1.2 miles from the North Cornwall coast. The Grade II buildings encircle a courtyard full of flowers and character. Come and see the home of "The Last of the Cornish Giants", a civil war hero standing 7' 4" in 1643 whose picture, a gift from Charles II, dominates the courtyard. One of Cornwall's oldest and most treasured pubs has recently been sensitively refurbished and a new team of chefs prepare from local produce. Aside from the restaurant we welcome well behaved dogs. There is limited street parking but a free large car park is only 2 minutes walk away: for sat nav EX23 9DS.
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Well, unusually for my husband, he thought he would try the vegetarian Wellington instead of the delicious beef, lamb or pork from the carvery. After a very short wait (10 mins. max), it arrived freshly cooked and was delicious, with its own little pot of veggie gravy. The Tree Inn carvery is always great, with a fantastic selection of delicious vegetables and the best Yorkshire puddings, but the veggie option is really really good....tasty vegetables in a tomato based sauce wrapped in crisp puff pastry. Following this we tried a new pudding, a chocolate sharing plate with a little chocolate and walnut brownie, a chocolate mousse, a slice of a ganache type rich pudding and amazing home made chocolate truffles, among other things. All delicious, very naughty but worth the calories! The wine list is fantastic and very reasonable. Eva and the team made us very welcome and service was very efficient. Surely the best Sunday carvery in Cornwall?

Thank sarahpA1420KZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Owner at The Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you Sarah for taking time to write such a kind review: it really means a lot to all the folks who work so hard to deliver consistently good food and service. I'll buy Eva a drink tonight :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

OMG! We were so looking forward to having lunch here with it’s high ratings and seeing the menu online....it was horrendous! We had the croquettes to start which were fried to an inch of their lives with no trace of cheese in. Then fish and chips for all, again fried way too much and in old oil - the batter was solid and thick and just tasted of grease. The pub was cold, unwelcoming and a complete waste of money. Terrible.

1  Thank ElsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Owner at The Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Hi Elsie

I am sorry to hear of your experience. Unfortunately neither Kath or I as owners were on site when you had your meal so it is difficult to recognise your complaint as no record was taken of your dissatisfaction at the time - Friday lunchtime fish & chips special? We do take complaints very seriously and I have just sampled both the croquettes and hake fish and chips with which we use premium Korev lager and regularly changed oil. I do hope you with give us another opportunity to illustrate why we generally have such positive reviews.

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Outstanding menu which tasted amazing! Great service & lovely atmosphere.
The Tree Inn never disappoints on flavour, originality or value for money!

Thank katechaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Owner at The Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you Kate, glad you had lovely time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

We were recommended to come to The Tree Inn by the owners of the holiday accommodation we were staying in, and we haven't been disappointed. Came in for dinner the first night of our stay and have returned for lunch and dinner on subsequent days. Kath and Simon were both very welcoming as was the barman on our last day and even the one chef we met. Chips were amongst the best we've ever eaten and the goulash, beef bourguignon and fish finger sandwich were all fantastic. We will definitely be back when in the area even if it's only for the chips!

Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Owner at The Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you Suzanne for taking time to give such a lovely review. We hope to see you again sometime soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Our friends David and Sally introduced us to this excellent pub/restaurant.The food and beer are excellent.Vegetarian food is very special - unusual, creative and delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steveluck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Owner at The Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review Steve. Our chefs are always delighted to hear when food is appreciated and will always endeavour to suit all dietary needs. I know it is hard to find decent and appealing vegetarian food so we promise to always have something interesting on the menu. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tree Inn also viewed

Bude, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to The Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing