We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Atlantic Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bude
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic Cottages
Ranked #28 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bude
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We visited for a weekend and had the one bedroom cottage, brilliant service, spotless cottage, very modern. Our ten month old little girl loved the animals, except for the very angry turkey!!!!!! The owners took there time to talk to us before we left, we will definatly visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoopyMooMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed in the cottage for a long weekend in February '13, when the weather had just turned freezing. We didn't need to worry though as the cottage was lovely & welcoming with cosy under floor heating throughout and an amazing luxury rain-shower! We had everything we needed for a comfy stay and whilst the cottages are just off the Atlantic Highway (very convenient), it was very peaceful. There are some great restaurants close by in Bude and the neighbouring villages and one evening, we made use of the fully equipped kitchen, huge TV & fast free Wi-Fi to stay in with ready meals and a bottle of wine, cosied up on the sofa in our complimentary fluffy white dressing gowns! A great little hideaway near to some amazing Cornish coastline.

Room Tip: All the cottages are lovely, quiet and secluded. Abalone & Periwinkle are the most cosy for coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in oyster cottage with our two year old. He loved running around the garden, walking to see the animals and playing on the slide and climbing frame. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped and a good location for a young family. It takes less than five minutes to drive to the nearest beaches. Very friendly and helpful owners with any queries we had. It is very peaceful at night time and will only be improved by the new reception that will make checking in and out easier. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesBIrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed in the Periwinkle Cottage for 4 nights. All in all, I'd say that this was an ok place to stay, but I certainly don't think that it merits its 'luxury' description. On the plus side, the property was clean, and the owner and his family were extremely friendly and helpful. The communal garden area was pleasant, and was equipped with large wooden table and barbeque area. Bude is a nice town, and there are several other nice villages to visit, so enough to fill a week's holiday.

However, the cottage was rather poorly equipped: the two-seater sofa was hard and uncomfortable, the mattress was worn down and very very soft (this may sound like a strange complaint, but by the last day I had a backache). The cottage is also in an unfortunate location, as the farmer allows campers from the nearby campsite to park their cars and vans directly in front of the cottage window, completely blocking out the light from an already rather dark space.

In terms of this being a child friendly venue, there is a small play area, which our little one really enjoyed. However, in the cottage itself we were surprised to see several long wires hanging down from the television! Also, the 'farm' is non-existant unfortunately, with a pig and a few chickens in separate fields ... and that's it!

Overall therefore, we'd say that this is an average place to stay, but very overpriced. I'm sure you could get better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebeccakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed in an Abalone cottage which had a very high quality finish and was superbly decked out with flat screen tv, ipod dock, dishwasher, under floor heating etc. The cottage cannot be faulted in any way. However, on arrival we struggled to find anyone to let us into our accomodation and when we did find somene their grasp of English was not great. This was not an ideal start. I would say that, for us, a visit outside of peak summer months is best as this represents decent value. The summer rate is rather high and, in terms of hitting the beach, the location is not ideal as the beaches are a fair journey. This is a not a place where you can rest your car: it is essential. So on the whole, excellent accomodation but strangely positioned; it will be interesting to see how the American diner and seemingly abandoned garden centre fit into the future of the site.

Room Tip: Travel early summer. Peak summer months represent debatable value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

First impressions really do matter and the owners would do well to remember this. Once we managed to find the cottages which are not signposted from the road, you drive past trollies of various off cuts of timber and an American Diner the 'smells' from which you enjoy every evening to find your parking space. We get out the car full of hope following 5 hours behind the wheel to find out we don't actually know which cottage is ours (they are numbered but you book by cottage name and have no idea what number it is) - back to the car to get a phone number which we call, is answered and 5 minutes later someone 'greets us', shows us the cottage, gives an incorrect Internet password and tells off my toddler, who is obviously excited, for nothing at all. Most of this could have been avoided with a welcome e-mail.

Once in the cottage was reasonably well equipped and had everything you would expect at the premium end but despite this it still felt expensive - I have stayed in better for less. The kids loved Tess the dog which was a highlight for them and the garden area is great for them to play. Location of the cottages is ok and Bude itself is lovely with a smashing beach.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in the new 2 bed cottage in January of this year and it was lovely. Cosy and warm with underfloor heating and everything we needed. We loved our stay and would recommend the cottages to anybody wanting to stay in Bude. We only bumped into the owners on the last day but they were really friendly and had we needed anything more I am sure they would have been really accommodating. As it was we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spungeyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bude hotels
1.5 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Poughill
511 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
East Thorne-Cornwall Yurts and Cottages
1.5 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Cottages

Address: Atlantic Highway | West Grove, Atlantic High way , Stratton, Bude EX23 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bude
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on sheltered West Grove Farm, in Bude on the Cornish coast, Atlantic Cottages, Bude have four newly restored stone buildings ideally placed to explore the many attractions the region is famous for. The stylish cottages are positioned just inside Cornwall and only a short drive from the centre of Bude. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Cottages Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing