We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best venue”

Margaret's Rustic Tea Garden
Ranked #2 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best venue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Although the venue is ideal for a nice sunny day, the food is not good at all. Scones and jam are shop bought, taste a bit stale. And the hot drinks are tasteless, completely diluted with water. Very disappointed. 12 of us went in a group. Over half left the food uneaten. But Margaret was a lovely lady which makes this review difficult to write.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    15
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will always return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I once went when I was really tiny, and had dream like memories of this place, I went back this weekend after years, and it was exactly the same, beautiful stream, love the tiny picnic benches for detail, and the "poor" reviews make me sad, it may not be gourmet food like some people have said in reviews, but it is by far has the kindest, sweetest most beautiful lady that works hard to please her costumes and her community. In the most beautiful location. Keep up the good work of 50+ years I say!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angharad_Wynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“such a great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Trip advisor needs 200 characters for the review and yet this place needs so many less as its all about Margaret - unique, lovely, special, like your best granny ever and she does a great tea too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly & lovely atmosphere...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We went here after reading trip advisor, it was no1 in bude. It was a wet miserable day, so we sat inside ... Inside is a caravan btw. Margaret is the highlight, she really is a lovely lady, she was so friendly & inviting. She gave our 20 month old toddler lots of attention & biscuits, which she obviously loved!! We had a great chat with other locals there, who all know Margaret well.

We had 2 cream teas, the scones weren't the best I've ever tasted and they had way too much cream on, I only ate
half & to be honest I didn't think they were worth £4 each.


  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

After reading all the reviews we just had to go and visit. What a beautiful garden, with a lovely stream going through it. Have to admit, we didn't have the best weather to eat a cream tea outside, (very cold, grey and miserable) but it was worth it! I would recommend a long walk on the beach and then amble up to Margaret's and have a bit of a natter and a cream tea - or equally a piece of the lovely looking cakes on display!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laney0968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margaret's Rustic Tea Garden also viewed

 

Been to Margaret's Rustic Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing