We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We checked in, and straight out, of another hotel. Tried Tommy Jacks for availability and were instantly relieved!
We were in room 201, a great family room, with a set of bunk beds in a separate room. Nice bath and shower, although watch out for slope above the bath! No sea view from room but great space. Ok, as someone said, there is the old style woodchip wallpaper painted, but it is painted white, clean and bright. Double bed in main room is comfy and bunk beds were nice. Usual tea and coffee faculties but also hot chocolate and water which was great. Wifi could be little temperamental and signal not great in room, but that's if you're looking for faults.
We ate in sea jacks and the staff were excellent with a lively 2 year old. The bar was great and welcoming, aquariums and cocktail (&mocktail) slushies! Perfect for the weather.
Public areas had nice decoration, even little extras above stairs, such as a kite or wooden sea gulls, great for exploring (or getting lost in!). All of the staff couldn't do enough to help and really made it a pleasure to stay.
Outside parking is limited, but there is large beach front car park, although at a cost. There was great grass seating and kids bouncy castle. Perfect to wear them out a bit. The hotel felt family friendly but without alienating those without the monsters. Great mix!
Would love to return, didn't want to leave!!
Perhaps few more signs within hotel, guiding those with direction issues back to reception!! But hey, on holiday who is in a rush?

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobbycog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Dobbycog

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tommy Jacks. We are pleased to hear that you found your room comfortable. We do pride ourselves on being a family friendly hotel (and restaurant) so we are delighted that our staff made you feel at home. Our hotel recently underwent a large scale refurbishment – adding in those little extra touches that you mentioned! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Was booked into tommy jacks in bude, this was for work so not really had a lot of time to explore as a holiday guest. The hotel also serves as a restaurant and I found the room spacious and spotlessly clean and tidy, the hotel is decked out sort of surfer style and the food (each course was plentiful) I would say matches that theme, certainly not expensive for a sea side resort and I would say not expensive for other foody establishments in the town. The key aspect of Tommy Jacks is the service and staff whom I found were always pleasant, approachable and helpful, they are a credit to the management. Though I mention surfer style hotel, there was a range of clients/customers across the age range and during my stay guest from the continent had clearly found Tommy Jacks too, so it's not a 20'something only place. I would certainly stay there again for work and pleasure.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear David A,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Tommy Jacks. We are delighted that you chose us for your work stay - we do aim to cater for both work and leisure trips. We pride ourselves in offering high quality service delivered from staff who are “pleasant, approachable, and helpful,” - it is with great pleasure that I will pass on your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for work or pleasure in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

The Tommy Jacks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Well i would love to say nothing but good things about the hotel, but unfortunately that isn't the case.... on booking our break to cornwall i was so excited to come accross Tommy jacks surf and skate themed hotel :-) my partener skates and we were both coming to cornwall for the surfing, so seemed perfect for us ! although there is a theme, it is very sutble and they could go alot further with it.
On arriving late thursday night after our long drive from Leeds, the exterior of the hotel looked nice and modern with a bright outdoor seating area, the man on reception seemed nice enough, the hotel reception bar and dining room etc were fresh vibrant and modern, unfortunatley i think alot of money has been spent in these areas but not been carried through to the actual hotel rooms, we were quite disappointed when we got to our room, it looked a bit like a bedsit and an after thought, which was such a shame because the room had so much potential, large with big sash windows, high ceilings, a fireplace with large tv above and a nice comfy bed. On the downside, there was no mirror in an area where you could sit to get ready ie- dressing table area or hung on the back of the door as in regular hotels, just a full length mirror lent against a wall (so i sat on the floor to do my hair and makeup), there was a mirror in the bathroom but no surface to put any toiletries (so we used the floor and back of the toilet). The room just seemed very dated even if it had been freshened up with white paint over anaglypta wallpaper.(and naff art work) I am aware that my review may sound petty as i read alot of these reviews myself and never like to complain but i just think its such a shame cos so much more could be done with the upstairs of the hotel, don't get me wrong if you're not overly concerned about what room you sleep in you will have no problems, the bar with mini aquarium is lovely, the breakfast on all 3 mornings was great ! The beach in such close proximty was fab although we preferred summerleaze beach down the road, rosies cafe by the beach was a great find :-) i would love to return in a few years and to see a change in the rooms and for it to be busy with surfers and families and a buzzing atmosphere !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsboyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mrsboyes


Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Tommy Jacks recently underwent an extensive refurbishment costing over £1m. This included all of the public areas (bar, restaurant etc.), the inclusion of marine aquarium, and all of the bedrooms. We are glad to read that you found the public areas to be bright and modern, but obviously we are disappointed that you did not find our rooms designed to the same high standard as our public areas. However I feel it only fair to point out that we pride ourselves on our ability to offer a variety of accommodation options – from ‘pocket-friendly’ to luxurious (as denoted by our rates) so we apologise that you did not find your room suitable.
We apologise that you did not find the freestanding mirror convenient. Because our guests all seem to like getting ready in different places (i.e. some in the bathroom while some like the natural light), we left the mirror free standing so the guest can chose where they would like to get ready. All of our rooms feature a desk/surface top and chairs, we apologise that you did not fin this a suitable place for your hair/make-up accessories.
We are pleased that you enjoyed dinning with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just spent five nights in Tommy Jacks. Really good experience. Great place and really friendly and helpful staff. Breakfasts were excellent, cool bar, very clean and fantastic location. Booked on chance and delighted we did. First time in Cornwall and if we come back it will be to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Gordon F,

Thank you for your review of Tommy Jacks. We were delighted to have you stay with us and are very pleased you had such a good time on your first trip to Cornwall! You are right, we do have a fantastic location!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having researched all hotels in the area we thought this one fitted perfectly with our accommodation needs, nice location near to 2 good beaches, and great reviews. Whilst all public areas were designed in a great surf/ boutique style and of a high standard unfortunately the accommodation didn't match this high standard, cheap furniture and beds( very uncomfortable) wood chip wallpaper and bathrooms that would be at home n a community centre setting so disappointed

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Travelisus2012

Thank you for your review. Tommy Jacks recently underwent an extensive refurbishment costing over £1m. This included all of the public areas (bar, restaurant etc.), the inclusion of marine aquarium in association with the National Aquarium Plymouth, and all of the bedrooms. We are glad to read that you found the public areas to be great, obviously we are disappointed that you did not find our rooms designed to the same high standard as our public areas. However I feel it only fair to point out that we pride ourselves on our ability to offer a variety of accommodation options – from ‘pocket-friendly’ to luxurious (as denoted by our rates) so we apologise that you did not find your room suitable, however I hope you will understand that our “pocket-friendly” rooms are designed and styled for travellers on a budget and our luxurious rooms are obviously priced accordingly.

The great thing about our hotel is that irrespective of your room choice you still have the same access to the superb public facilities we provide for residents of our hotel.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

i found this hotel by chance and stayed foir 1 night and i was very impressed, the hotel is situated in a lovely area called crooklets which is a stones throw away from the beach if you like peaceful walks you will love this area i had no problems checking in and the manager was very polite we had an upgrade room which was spotlessly clean and a very comfy bed. there was everything i needed in my room with lots of nice little touches that i appreciated , one small problem i had (not a moan!) was the bathroom was very small with no window , we had a room at the back and the view wasnt great so maybe a pair of net curtains? the bar was very tasteful and we sat outside for drinks and later food. the food was absolutely fantastic and well priced i could have picked one of 6 things on the menu if you stay at this hotel you must eat there a special mention to the 2 girls who served drinks and food they were very friendly and very efficient after a good sleep we had breakfast which was spot on all in all i loved our stay there and will definately go back again i cannot praise it high enough book now!

Room Tip: try to get a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear dillyboy

Thank you for taking the time to review Tommy Jacks. We are delighted that you found our hotel! You are right, Crooklets is a lovely area and we are very fortunate to be so close to the beach. We do like to ensure the highest level of cleanliness and service, so I will pass on your message to our staff. We are pleased to hear that you found the bed so comfy – in fact, some say they are even ‘award winning.’ We have noted your suggested about the net curtains – Thank you!

We hope to welcome you back to Tommy Jacks in the near future.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had an excellent 3 night stay at the hotel. Service was first rate. Food very good quality. Range of beers was good. We booked 4 rooms each of which were good. When asked the staff were very attentive, responding to any requests. Breakfast has a good range of choice, but can be a little slow during busy times. My 82 year old mother-in-law loved her stay. Would recommend to any one.

Room Tip: The best rooms are over looking the green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Colin2003

Thank you for your recent review of Tommy Jacks. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do like to pride ourselves on our service, so we are pleased that you found the staff very attentive. We also aim to source good quality local produce in our restaurant, which you noted.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
568 reviews
14.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel

Address: Crooklets, Bude EX23 8NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down by the dunes in Bude, you'll discover one of Cornwall's newest hotels - Tommy Jacks. A throwback to when surfers were kings and skaters ruled the world, Tommy Jacks is quite possibly, the grooviest urban beach hotel, bar and restaurant on the Cornish coast. The 21 cheery, pocket-friendly snooze pads are neat, nautical and available from January 2014. In the meantime you can earn your seaside stripes in the family-friendly Sea Jacks Restaurant and cosy brewpub. Just a stone's throw from Bude-iful Crooklets Beach, they're the ultimate surfside HQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing