We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Just the ticket!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Most places for some inexplicable reason stop serving food on a Sunday evening. But this place was open and wasn't it fab?!
The decor was fantastic with interesting fish tanks giving information on what was inside. There was free wifi as well. The children were kept entertained while we waited for the food.
We ordered 12" pizzas which when arrived were more like 16"!! They were clearly homemade and great tasting. There was never a long wait at the bar and we weren't hurried after eating. A nice, chilled evening where the children wanted to stay and not rush us home...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nikkilou1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear nikkilou1969,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Tommy Jacks. We are delighted that you found us – and of course that you had such a nice evening. As you rightly point out, our pizzas are hand rolled, we are pleased that you enjoyed them! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    123
    45
    8
    1
See reviews for
97
201
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great hotel, nice and clean. Food tasty, beautifully presented and sensibly-priced, reasonable bar prices too. Friendly staff. We managed to get a parking space but this was lucky as very few spaces so you may need to find nearby residential streets or use pay and display.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Kate C,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Tommy Jacks. It is wonderful to hear that you found our hotel nice and clean and the food tasty! We hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have just returned home from Bude after enjoying a fabulous stay at Tommy Jacks. The rooms were spacious, newly decorated and very comfortable. Service was excellent, particularly at breakfast where the waitresses were wonderful with my mum who has severe dementia. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Jo M,

Thank you for your recent review of Tommy Jacks. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had a fabulous stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The breakfast was superb - one of the best hotel breakfasts we've experienced.
Also, the HUGE TV set was fantastic!

Our room - a luxury double - was spacious and had a nice view, but the bathroom was quite small, in particular the bath itself, which was very short - not big enough to lie down in. The glass screen along the side of the bath (for use of the shower attachment) got in the way, and made it tricky getting into and out of the bath. We felt that for £135 a night there should have been a decent bath.

Unfortunately the bouncy castle almost directly outside our room was very irritating, being in action from noon until 10pm, even though it was not used for much of this time. The noise of the compressor destroyed what would otherwise have been a very peaceful experience.

One of the bedside lights was not working, and was only mended for our third night, despite our pointing out the fault each day. Consequently one of us was unable to read in bed.

The middle sash window opened fully, but one of the side sash windows had been incapacitated, i.e. was unopenable. The other side window opened fully, but there was no sash, and no means of securing the window. On one occasion it crashed shut. We reported this, and on returning to our room found that that window had also been incapacitated, i.e. was now also unopenable.
Again, having paid £135 we felt that the three windows should have been functioning.

The staff were in general very pleasant and helpful, although the light was not repaired for two days and the bouncy castle was not switched off, despite our complaining about the noise.

This could be a really lovely hotel. We would come again, but not if there was still a bouncy castle in front of the hotel. We would also hope for a somewhat lower price to reflect the small baths.

Will and Sandra

Room Tip: Not at the front of the hotel - within earshot of the bouncy castle (though this is where the 'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear William S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tommy Jacks. We are pleased that you found your room spacious with a nice view and that you found the breakfast ‘superb’.
We apologise that you found the noise from the bouncy castle irritating. We will be sure to have this switched off between 8-9 pm in the future.

We also apologise that you experienced some issues with a bedside light (the bulbs had to be ordered in from our supplier) and the sash window.

We hope to welcome you back to Tommy Jacks in the near future.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have eaten here twice this week while on holiday. The interior is themed on old surfing, and although 'themey' it didn't feel too tacky. The service was good - friendly happy waiting staff and not long to wait for food. The food was fantastic. The first night we skipped starters and went for beef fajitas, bbq chicken melt burger, and our son had pizza. The fajitas were spicy and a huge portion. My chicken was great - succulent and the bbq sauce was the right strength. Our 7 year old gave his puzza the thumbs up too. Tonight we had starters (nachos and calamari), cheeseburger, bbq chicken melt, and children's spaghetti - all fabulous. As it was our last night we had desserts - Eton Mess, Baileys Cheesecake, and children's ice cream. My cheesecake was from the specials board, and was huge. The Baileys really came through, but the cheesecake wasn't too sweet or sickly. The value was good at around £50 for 3 courses for 3 people. They have got everything just about spot on.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam555_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sam555_11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your dinning experience. We are delighted that you found our food fantastic. Our fajitas and burgers are some of our most popular dishes and the cheesecake is also a favourite. We are pleased that you found our food good value for money. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bude
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

8 of us came here for an evening meal and it took nearly 20 minutes just for our drinks to come. the food came out cold and the seafood cost £14 which came out greasy and not worth the price, we told the waitress who didnt seem bothered by this and then to top it all off a group of waitresses were all standing around talking and laughing at us. we were disgusted by there behaviour and will never recommend them or go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank babyboy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear babyboy2012,

I am disappointed to read your review considering you initially complained that the calamari was “too greasy” for your liking, despite it stating it is deep fried. Nonetheless we cooked you a fresh portion, which I note you finished. In fact you finished the entire platter apart from half a crab cake. Despite you eating pretty much all of your meal, as a gesture of goodwill we removed the price of the dish off your bill. When we checked on your table as you left, a member of your party did in fact say that you were happy with how we resolved the problem for you. I guess I find it a little distasteful (excuse the pun) that we resolve your issue, then you post a very negative review on Trip Advisor when you get home.

Under no circumstances whatsoever would any member of our team “stand around” and “laugh at our guests”. I am afraid I can only assume you became paranoid knowing very well that your issues had been resolved and yet you still intended to try an ruin the reputation of a local business that the entire team work very hard to maintain.

I notice that you have also rated your previous dinning experiences in Bude very negatively so perhaps dining out is just not meant for you.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Before I get the 'we hope you will come and join us soon' standard response to everyone's review I can say now that this is doubtful. Service awful. The whole order was a comedy of errors. 1 meal missing from the 7 ordered. And when it did come it was undercooked. This then meant 1 person eating when everyone else had finished. 1 of our deserts had to be ordered 3 times as the waiter kept coming back to say they didnt have it. It was a joke. We were one of 3 tables so it wasnt exactly busy. We go out in Bude alot and were vvv disappointed with the service here and this was reflected in us not leaving a tip which is very unusual for us. Food was good but sort the service out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Maisy B

Thank you for your review. I can assure you that we take all our genuine feedback very seriously and where we fall short on our normal high standards, always hold our hands up. Clearly on this occasion we have failed to meet your expectations and so if you would like to contact the hotel directly I would like to discus this matter further with you.

I look forward to your call.

With kind regards

The Tommy Jacks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
0.3 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#10 of 49 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel

Property: Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Address: Crooklets, Bude EX23 8NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down by the dunes in Bude, you'll discover one of Cornwall's newest hotels - Tommy Jacks. A throwback to when surfers were kings and skaters ruled the world, Tommy Jacks is quite possibly, the grooviest urban beach hotel, bar and restaurant on the Cornish coast. The 21 cheery, pocket-friendly snooze pads are neat, nautical and available from January 2014. In the meantime you can earn your seaside stripes in the family-friendly Sea Jacks Restaurant and cosy brewpub. Just a stone's throw from Bude-iful Crooklets Beach, they're the ultimate surfside HQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing