We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to spend a perfect week with good...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

annie d
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place to spend a perfect week with good friends”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I Stayed at this beautiful holiday cottage with my six friends, a baby and a dog. It was very exciting arriving and seeing how beautiful, clean and spacious it was. Arriving to perfectly presented rooms with homemade cookies was a lovely touch. It really was 5 star luxury to all have large bedrooms with spotless en-suites.
We loved the layout of upstairs, it was perfect for our many dinner parties and also felt very cosy for quite days inside, when the weather was bad.
The views all around were absolutely stunning. It was such a peaceful spot, and it felt very serene and calm waking up in the heart of the countryside every day. The location was brilliant and meant we were on the doorstep to the coast, local pubs and fields for walks.
The owners are extremely friendly, and entertained our constant flow of recycled bottles (thanks). We had a great time as a group of friends and I imagine the cottage caters very well for families as we found the cottage is so large that we had no problems with noise and having a sleeping baby.
Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious clean layout
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Jan 2014
Thank you Heidi for your review. We are so glad you and your friends had a good time. Glad you enjoyed it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyPeb
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will definatly be back!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stunning renovation/conversion, oak floors and beams, light and airy bedrooms and living space, everything has been done with thought and style to a high standard. I booked the Hayloft for a long weekend for my family to celebrate my Mother's 60th, everyone fell in love with the place, Caroline and James made us all feel very welcome, even left a birthday card and bottle of Prosecco for my Mum, a really kind touch. The cot provided was lovely (most places I will only use my own travel one), facilities wise everything you could possibly need was provided, well equipped kitchen and fabulously comfy beds. The arrangement of the living area upstairs works perfectly, the view out of the patio windows in the mornings is great, having a cup of tea watching the birds on the feeders. We also brought our lurcher, so having a utility room on the ground floor was very handy for mutt cleaning/drying after a walk and letting her out at night. A random aside, the place is absolutely spotless, which with a 7 month old crawling is appreciated. We also looked around the 2 bed, Hunters lodge, wow, I want the kitchen and bathroom!!

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living space
Liked least: There was not anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Thank you Ayesha for your kind review we are so glad you all enjoyed your weekend celebrations. We would love to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie200...
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“At last we have found the perfect holiday rental in the UK.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

All to often in the UK when you see 5 star ratings the accommodation can fall short of you valid expectations, this is certainly not the the case with The Hayloft.
Caroline and James have thought about everything to ensure you have the most enjoyable holiday, from the luxury bathrooms, top class furnishing, fully equipped kitchen and with views that take your breath away.
You only need to read the other comments, this really is a special place and we are so pleased we found it, we are hoping to return next year.
To be able to take our Border Collie away with us for the week and to be able to stay in such a luxurious holiday home with a pet, is a real treat.
Normally pet friendly holiday lets are bronze standard and to be honest we would not stay in them so this is a real find.
Don't hesitate, book while its available you will not be disappointed.
Thank you

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parent-ag...
Bucks
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow, exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a fabulous time staying at The Hayloft near Bude. The building has been beautifully built and very nicely finished with stunning bathrooms, oak beams and solid wood floors.

The garden is also very well designed, as you can go out through the top floor or bottom floor as it wraps around the building, which was perfect for our toddler and dogs.

We went with our young son, our parents, plus their dogs. There was lots of room for all of us. We all agreed how great it was, which is rare!

The view is stunning - we took many sunset photos from the balcony terrace.

It is well located for all the local areas, as well as being really quiet to relax away from the crowds.

Most importantly the owners were lovely. They were so friendly to us, helping with whatever we needed. Our son enjoyed playing with their children too.

There was a big selection of crockery, pots and pans, which all seemed brand new and very high quality.

We absolutely loved our time there and were sad to leave at the end. We will certainly be back again!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, light, luxurious and homely
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemlou13
1 review
“Luxurious accommodation in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed at the HayLoft with my husband, 2 year old daughter, parents, brother and sister in law for one week in August. The house is outstanding ( the pictures do not do it justice). It has been renovated to a very high standard with no expense spared. There is plenty of room for 6 adults and the house is very child friendly with toys, prams, stair gates and more provided. I'm very picky about where I stay and I can honestly say it's the nicest holiday cottage I've stayed in. This is praise indeed because we currently live in Australia and have stayed in a lot of holiday places both there and in the Uk. The surroundings are also beautiful so you can't help but relax as soon as you arrive. Caroline and her family really do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. I'd definitely recommend this house to friends and family.

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Thank you Gemma for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
Hope you had a good journey home! Regards James, Caroline, Jago and Reuben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E
Wickham Market
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Heavenly holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our best holiday stay so far! Grandad, Nan, mum dad and two children had a really great time. The accommodation is superb and resourced extremely well. Our five year old enjoyed having two playmates thrown in! The surroundings are superb, and there are lots of good places to visit. The Hayloft is a super place to come back to in the evening. The directions to the property could be better, giving the distance from Week St Mary, and the name of the property on the wall.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superbly equipped and resources
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K
Leicestershire
2 reviews
“Complete, total and utter perfection!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Caroline and James have created such an amazing family holiday home and really deserve outstanding reviews packed full of praise. Yet it it with a heavy heart that I write this as we're already planning to return every year for the foreseeable future and the selfish streak in me is panicking that everybody will discover how great it is and we won't get in!

My husband and I holidayed with our 3 children, ages 16, 11 & 3 and without doubt has been the best holiday any of us has ever had. Our youngest loved playing with Reuben & Jago and their lovely toys - although now insists a ride on tractor is the only present he wants for his birthday - if only we had the space that there is at The Hayloft. It was so amazing that my 16 year old, who incidentally hasn't been enthusiastic about anything since 2007, actually calculated how much equity we had in our house to see how many weeks we could stay there if we sold it!

The views were to die for, the setting was so peaceful and serene and sitting eating breakfast on the terrace watching the birds and the animals was the perfect start to every day. The accommodation was of an exceptionally high standard, equipped for anything and everything you could possible need, there is NOTHING about this beautiful property that could be improved. Three massive bathrooms, 2 of which were wet rooms were ideal for the children and the quality of the fixtures & fittings including the soft furnishings was fabulous.

The photos are lovely but even with words it's impossible to get a true idea of how spacious and attractive the Hayloft and the gardens really are, it's like living in a perfect little bubble protected from the realities of real life. It's the sort of home you aspire to live in and look at in the property pages when you have a Delboy & Rodney moment, thinking 'this time next year......'

Despite being an English teacher I really can't find the adjectives I need to give you a true picture of how lovely the property, setting and family are. Definitely a holiday we'll never forget for all the right reasons!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything!
Liked least: Leaving - briefly considered claiming squatter's rights but Caroline & James are too nice to upset!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Aug 2013
WOW.....What an amazing review!!! Thank you for all your great comments and again so glad you enjoyed your holiday here with us. James and I continually work all year round to keep all our properties looking good and when we here that our visitors love it, it makes it all worth while. If your happy, we're happy!! Looking forward to seeing you all again.

James, Caroline, Jago and Reuben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.