We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Budehaven Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 49 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We got the room on KGB Deals and to be frank £59 for a 2 night stay was a great price - I have read other review and (as with the 1 star reviewer) wonder how people can rate it as 5 stars and the AA as 4 (albeit as Guest Accommodation).

The entrance and reception (or space under the stairs) is cluttered and messy - the picture of Basil Fawlty and Manuel does not helt to alleviate matters.

We ahd booked two rooms BUT there was a mix up and there was only onle available - for four of us! Granted John got us a (better!) alternatitve BUt we had wanted to stay under the same roof... but Bude was full and could not accommodate this.

As it was the bedroom wes modern, chic and comfortable BUT I assume that downstairs is a work in progress... or at the very least it should be!

We would return... if KGB offered it again... but don't think it is worth the full asking price as a B&B...

John was great - and went the extra mile to sort out their error.

Room Tip: No rooms have views as the hotel is quite a long way from the front - They say a five minute walk bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week and Bude Haven is a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay with Sue and John being very friendly hosts.
The reception, bar and dining room is very homely and friendly and our room (no 2) was large, bright and clean with a huge comfotable bed, kettle, tea and coffee, 2 easy chairs and a coffee table. Also there was plenty of hanging and shelf space.
Breakfasts are delicious and set you up for the day. If you try the American pancakes, which you need to order the night before, you will be in heaven.
If you've been out and about in the day you will find a lovely evening meal there....(Steak and Ale Pudding which took me back to my childhood, except the Ale part.) After that you can wobble to the bar and flop on the big squishy settees.
Bude Haven's quiet position is ideal for the 10 minute walk into Bude or visiting the surrounding areas. Parking isn't a problem as even if the small car park is full there is plenty of parking outside the hotel.
A hotel we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RioSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

There is a saying "Don't judge a book by it's cover!" Well, nothing could be a more apt description of this hotel. Don't be put off by the approach to the front door and the explosion in the hall that is also the reception. The owners, John and Susan, have made their home a very welcome place for all their guests supplying adequate facilities in the bedrooms with very comfortable beds and a good menu in the bar/dining room. We stayed in Room 1 for 4 nights. The hotel is situated away from, but within reach of, the centre of Bude. There is plenty to do in the area although we rather ignored Bude's attractions!

Room Tip: Room 1 is fine with a limited sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed at the Bude Haven with my dad recently after purchasing a deal on kgb or similar website. Upon arrival I thought the b&b was really well located with plenty of parking on road & a few spaces next to building. The entrace is a little cluttered & doesnt give a great first impression but the owners have created a nice homely feel & the rabbit in a cage outside would be nice for children. The owners John & Sue make you feel really at home and welcomed & the building itslef is very nice, although the rooms seem to have been recently refurbished & the beds were very comfortable, the rest of the b&b is in need of a little love to update & refresh. We were given a lovely room with a view to the sea, despite buying a deal which some hotels put you in the worst rooms, very comfortable, the only thing I would say is the door to the bathroom was sliding with a gap which didnt give you a lot of privacy. Although I think Bude itself is a little tired, it has lovely beaches & its a fantastic location to explore the surrounding area, I would recommend visiting Padstow & Boscastle. The breakfast was lovely & made super quick, we enjoyed the fresh fruit salad. We really enjoyed our stay & would like to go back, I think its good value for money if you are able to get a deal but I dont know how competitive it is as I dont stay in b&b's very often.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean. Lovely to have a complimentary bottle of water and biscuits in room. Bed was very comfy. The owners are very nice. Breakfast was lovely. Lovely view and quiet area. The beach is 5-10 mins walk away. Mermaid fish n chip shop in the town is a must. You get a lovely large piece of fish and chips for a fiver. Omg was lovely. And there is a pub 5 mins from the B&b lovely food I think it's called crookstons or something.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I have just returned from weekend at Bude Haven hotel with a friend, we bought KGB deal which was reason we went to Bude, and we are very glad we did, yes the interior decor is tired, but its clean and owners John and Susan are friendly, welcoming and helpful.

We were spoiled for choice with breakfast menu, and the food was lovely and we had sufficient. We had plans for evening meals but menu for evening meals looked great.

Room was clean and beds were comfortable, we had kettle, tea and coffee with bottle of fresh water each day, it was quiet and we slept really well.

5 minutes walk to beach / Sainsburys / lovely pub called Crooklets Inn and great Fish & Chip shop called Mermaid. We did 8 mile coast walk. If we had known about the hot tub in garden, we would have brought our swim suits

We had a lovely relaxing weekend and will return again and hope we can stay at Bude Haven hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazza28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I have to agree with Beetlejuic that this was a great friendly place to stay.

We have just had a 2 night break to Cornwall in the middle of a week in Wet Dartmoor.
The owners Sue & John made us very welcome. Our room (number 1) had a nice large bed (a plus when you are 6ft 3ins) and a bay window. Great homely food and John's american pancakes at breakfast are a must.

Bude itself was a nice seaside resort with beautiful views from the cliffs across the beaches. A highlight was to see an otter catching eels in the river by the bridge next to the tennis courts.

We will have to come back to explore the area better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.1 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 10 in Bude
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bude
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 10 in Bude
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
1.8 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#9 of 49 in Bude
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Budehaven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Budehaven Guesthouse

Address: 7 Flexbury Avenue, Bude EX23 8NS, England (Formerly Bude Haven)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range: £65 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Budehaven Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brian & Hilary welcome you to enjoy the homely comforts of our highly rated guest accommodation. All our rooms are en suite with either bath/showers or just showers and 19-32inch Smart Freeview flat screen TV's. The Bude Haven is only 5 minutes walk from the sandy beaches of Bude, and is near to the Bude Golf Course. The town centre is within easy reach. There are many attractions and activities in the surrounding area. We are located in a quiet location. Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Budehaven Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bude Haven Hotel Bude
The Budehaven Guesthouse Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing