We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautifully converted Wesleyan Chapel full of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sun patio ready for alfresco dining.  A real sun trap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sun patio ready for alfresco dining.  A real sun trap.
Sunshine in the garden Front of chapel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Sun patio ready for alfresco dining.  A real sun trap.
Sunshine in the garden
Front of chapel
Kitchen with door leading to sun patio
View of the kitchen from the loune/diner
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double bedroom with comfortable memory foam mattress.
Double bedroom.
Door leading from double bedroom onto the  sun patio.
Built in book shelves in the twin bedroom off the lounge.
Twin bedroom showing raised 3 foot bed.
Door leading from bunk bedroom out to the  sun patio.
Bunk bedroom leading off the double bedroom showing the en-suite shower room.
Family bathroom with large shower
Garden furniture and bbq on the sun patio.
West facing decking to watch the sun set over the fields and star gaze at the unpolluted skies.
Driveway at the side of the chapel.
A view from the lane of the front of the chapel with off lane parking.
Arty shot in bedroom
South facing garden
West facing decking overlooking farmland
Bathroom with WC, bath, walk in shower and basin.
Twin bedroom with built up bed
Large walk in shower
One of the local beaches
Sun patio with BBQ for al fresco dining in the the protected patio area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Navigate4...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautifully converted Wesleyan Chapel full of character and charm”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at this beautifully renovated chapel in February 2017. It was warm and cosy on cold evenings. All the equipment, furniture and fittings are of a very high standard and we loved the little reminders of the historic past of this converted Wesleyan Chapel including the gothic windows, antique wall clock and antique clasp Bible in a special Bible cupboard. The cottage is full of charm and character and we warmly recommend it. Next time we would come back in warmer weather to be able to take full advantage of the lovely garden and decking.
There is much on offer in the wider area, we travelled to Paignton Zoo near Torquay, Arlington Court (National Trust) north of Barnstaple, the breathtaking cliffs and beach at Sandymouth (National Trust) and Splash swimming pool in Bude, a quiet and attractive resort.
We were also impressed with Sallie's prompt responses to our booking and email queries.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Ros, thank you for your lovely review. It is always such a delight when our guests enjoy the chapel and surrounding area. We woukd love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional – Enchanting – Comfortable”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here over New Year with my wife and four children.

Exceptional – This place has the wow factor. Exceptional accommodation with every detail right. Very decent, straightforward, honest and generous owners.

Enchanting – Beautifully restored Chapel with great sensitivity to the buildings spiritual history. The building is the best place we have ever stayed to rest body mind and soul. It’s just a very special building and setting. The area is also wonderful. For us the perfect distance from civilisation if you want it, but cut off enough to feel like you really have escaped.

Comfortable – The owner’s generosity of spirit really shines through. Every detail is well thought through. The Chapel is very well heated. The beds are very comfortable. The furnishing is very tasteful. The owners allow you to enjoy the place as if it is your own private escape. Really, we cannot fault anything.
We will certainly be going back as soon as we are able.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
Thank you Matthew and Carolyn, for your lovely review. We are so glad you and the children enjoyed staying at the chapel, that is what we aim to achieve and you are more than welcome back anytime particularly as you left it very clean and tidy, that is very much appreciated. I hope it isn't too long before we can welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonna L
2 reviews
“Wonderful Stay in Converted Chapel”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The chapel is brilliantly converted to a cottage that fulfills all needs of the guest, It is spacious, well-equipped, lovely settled in a rural surrounding (close enough though to run errands without driving too far).
Everything is of a very fine quality: the kitchen, linen and towels, comfy beds, a beautiful patio (and we were lucky enough to sit in the sun in October).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you Susanne for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid C
1 review
“Beautiful home, gorgeous surroundings, child friendly”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful holiday, the home was tatesfully decorated, very well equipped and the location was fantastic. My four year old enjoyed watching the tractor in the field, I myself enjoyed having a coffee in the morning on the decking while everyone slept in. Sallie was very quick to respond to any questions. If you have older children and a husband addicted to Wi-Fi please be patient and understand that the cottage is in the countryside so it is up and down though there are plenty of good books to read and jigsaws/board games. On the top lake there is a small park area for children to burn off steam which my 11, 9 and 4 year old enjoyed along with the ice-cream. We made a lot of memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review Ingrid, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bishops and the surrounding area. We would love to welcome you and your family back in in the near future.. Sorry about the wi-fi , we don't have super fast broadband in that area yet, but hopefully soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracy j
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“charming chapel with every home comfort you can think of”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Bishops Chapel from the beginning of our stay to the end was just perfect,w with everything on hand that you could possibly require and so much more, it was tastefully decorated throughout with super detail, from the open fire to the comfy beds and the box full of games . A truly beautiful accommodation we are already planning to re-visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the accomodation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Tracy, Thank you very much for lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A returner to this unique holiday chapel”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Returning to the same place says it all really. This is a beautiful unique and peaceful chapel. Centrally located to make travelling to lots of places of interest easy by car or bicycle. We took bikes and cycled the Tarka and the Camel trail. The Chapel has everything that you could possibly wish for for a summer or winter break. A gorgeous big log burner and an Aga if you fancy cooking. A large garden beautifully tended and south facing, watching the sunset from the jack and jill seats at the rear of the property is a must.
It's a home from home break and we can't wait to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner have thought of everything to make this a perfect getaway
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyG65
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Returned many times to this fabulous, unique, holiday home.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Bishops is more than home from home. I fell in love with the place the moment I set foot there. It's hard to put my finger on exactly what it is that I love so much... It's a feeling, I love the tranquility of the location, the nature you encounter, from the bumble bees and butterflies in the garden to watching the birds flying overhead across the fields and of course the horses in the field next door. The view over the back field is constantly changing and so peaceful.
Bishops is unique, you won't find another building like it. Obviously it is a conversion and for this reason the layout to this wonderful holiday home is quirky. The conversion has been done in a very complimentary, sympathetic way.
The master bedroom has a lovely snug cottage feel to it and has the advantage of it's own door to the garden.
Children will love the bunk room with it's own shower room and in my opinion will feel like they're having an adventure of their own. Yes there are a few steps down to this bedroom, but nothing dangerous or awkward about them.
The third bedroom is situated off the mezzanine level from the lounge. Another quirky room with one of the beds being set on a level above the floor (a great room for friends to share or teenagers for those late night chats).
The lounge area is as previously mentioned on the mezzanine level, I think it's 6 stairs high? So again you're not climbing Everest or in need of grampons!! It is a generous size with 2 large sofas, dining table and all the usual mod cons! You can even plug your iPod in to play out your own tunes! There are views on 3 sides of this room overlooking fields and the garden. The little touches with children's games, books, DVDs and information leaflets shows that a lot of thought has gone into this family holiday home.
I've stayed at Bishops during different times of the year and can honestly say I love it whatever the weather, but love the chance to light the log burner!!
The kitchen has been fitted out in keeping with the chapel and is so well equipped it puts my own kitchen to shame. There is also another table and chairs here with a door to the garden, a nice little spot for breakfast!
The bathroom is large with a separate shower and bath tub. I've soaked in the tub with a glass of wine after a nice long
walk more than once.
There's so much more I could say but I would say go see for yourself.
On the whole, I think any age group would be happy here. I've visited with different people over the years and they have all come away with a little place in their heart for this beautiful home.
You can't fault Bishops, it has everything you could think of (and more) to make a comfortable, happy holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review Tracy, we are always happy to welcome you back at Bishops, and hope you are looking forward to another visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing