We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“incredible good accomodation”

Review of South View

Lounge area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area
View from Al Fresco area Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Lounge area
View from Al Fresco area
Bedroom with king size bed
Garden and countryside views
Kitchen and dining area
South View
Kitchen
French doors leading to Al Fresco area
Bathroom
Bedroom
Crooklets Beach Bude
Barrel Rock Bude
Bude canal, lock gates and Summerleaze Beach Bude
The Tree Inn Stratton
Maer Lake Bude
View of Stratton church
St Andrews church and square Stratton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
schulzef
Esslingen
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“incredible good accomodation”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed each minute of our holiday there. The cottage has a high standard, very cosy and clean with a beautiful surrounding. When you are sitting on the terrace you have a wounderful view and are able to hear the sound of the nature. I would book this accomodation again. The owner couple is very nice and politely. The amazing and rugged coast isn't far. You can reach it easy by car or bycicle. There are enough bays with nice sand beaches. We was there with our dog. The rules for dogs inside the cottage are acceptable. Bude or Cornwall are very dog friendly.

Best Regards Nadine and Frank Esslingen Germany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
991seasid...
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“An outstanding apartment,in wonderful surroundings.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and myself have had a wonderful week, staying at South View.What a fabulous place to stay.Without doubt this is a special holiday rental ,with exceptionate hosts, Gill and Geoff. It's a very spacious comfortable apartment with everything we needed.
Without a doubt we would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location to tour around North Cornwall
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kat H
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great quiet location for a peaceful getaway.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay despite the weather, the house was spacious in a quiet location with a lovely view. The property was clean and comfortable perfect for the two of us for a short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bed was too hard for our liking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcottam
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay, comfortable, warm and welcoming with great view”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks to Gill - we've just come back from four great days in South View. We were really pleased to have chosen this property it was perfect for a get away from it all few days. The apartment is very spacious, well set out, beautifully decorated and so quiet we loved it. Would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali L
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed here for almost a whole week.

The property is finished to an excellent modern standard, very comfortable and peaceful. Gill, the hostess and property owner is lovely, very helpful and friendly, attentive but not intrusive and as they are just upstairs in a seperate building, help is always close at hand.

The area is very quiet and stratton is a nice little village. Bude is close though and there is a decent supermarket at the top of town, about 3 mins by car at most.

We will DEFINITELY be returning when we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is lovely and hostess great.
Liked least: Really no negatives!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I stayed for 3 nights as I'd been working in the area. Despite her father being ill, Gill was very attentive and was warm and welcoming. The extras were much appreciated!
I nearly didn't stay here as I was put off by the fact it was an appartment. I was worried i'd be able to hear footsteps, the TV. etc above me. Well, I needn't have worried as the soundproofing was excellent and I didn't hear a thing!

The appartment is more spacious than I expected. There is a room between the bedroom and bathroom which houses the fridge freezer and this, together with the outside area, gives the appartment a very spacious feel. The view with the sheep is especially lovely.

I really liked Bude as it hasn't been gentrified like other places in Cornwall so it feels more authentic. Do check out the sea pool (and even better swim in it as I did!) as it's unique in the UK. Then head over the headland to Rosie's Kitchen on Crooklets beach where you'll find good food and a wood burner!

If you're a CAMRA member, check out the Kings Arms in Stratton. I had a lovely pint of Doom Bar!

I'll be working again in this area, so I'll definitely be back to South View!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We have had lots of comments just like yours about how spacious and quiet the apartment is. Also pleased you enjoyed swimming in Bude Sea Pool, as locals we are very proud of it! Great to meet you and looking forward to your next stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thandimac
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely clean property with great views and in a perfect location”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We had a lovely stay here, it was way more than anything we could have expected for the price. It was very private, cosy, nicely finished, and spotless, and the outside space and views were amazing. It also felt very safe which I think is important when staying in an area you don't know. Plenty of outside space to leave the bikes and surfboards!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Thank you for your review, good to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Lots of our guests have enjoyed the outside under cover area, for either storing their bikes/surf boards as you mentioned or for just chilling in the morning or evening.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing