We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf Academy Lunches were superb”
Review of Rosie's Kitchen

Rosie's Kitchen
Ranked #16 of 109 Restaurants in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rosie's Kitchen is a family run bustling beachside café situated a stones throw from Crooklet's surfing beach in Bude. Rosie's is positively bursting with atmosphere and we offer a warm welcome to everyone. We are a modern diner with Cornish charm offering delicious beachside food. We have an enclosed sundeck overlooking the amazing waves of the Atlantic Ocean complete with wood burner to keep you toasty on colder days. We know that it's hungry work building sandcastles and scouring rock pools so we have a menu for all the family. Make time for fun in our enclosed outdoor play area where you can keep an eye on your little treasures. Kick back and relax with a delicious fresh coffee, marvelous milkshake or something more refreshing from our bar. At Rosie's, all food is cooked fresh to order using lovely local produce where possible.
Bude, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Surf Academy Lunches were superb”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We ran a two day Surf Academy for our Budehaven students and had a full cooked lunch provided by the superb Rosie's Kitchen. The first day they treated us to a stunning chilli with huge jacket potatoes and plenty of nachos and cheese. It was nice to see what they could do for a large group rather than the typical burgers and chips which they do so well but perhaps not really showing their true cullerany expertise. The second days weather was pooring down and we could not all fit in the main cafe. Not to worry, the staff at Rosie's braved the weather to set up our tables in their Yert (a childs play tent). It was perfect and kept us warm and dry whilst we devoured their second meal of pasta bake with garlic bread. It is such a treat to have such a friendly and accomodating cafe that serves great food and we definately will be using their services in the future. Thanks

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D, Owner at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review you experience at Rosie's Kitchen.

We are so happy that we could accomodate your group (25) of fussy children and we managed to do it within your tight budget and the plates came back clean, which is always a good sign!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    116
    47
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch destination”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Having been walking along the coast path towards Duckpool with our dog and returning in the light rain, we were looking for somewhere to get a sandwich and get out of the rain. As we came off the path at Crooklets Beach we happened across Rosie's. What a stroke of luck for us ! Our first question was being able to eat inside with our dog (a smallish Lab Cross, always on her best behavior i.e. curls up and falls asleep). This turned out to not be a problem and we were made very welcome. We were blown away by the choice of sandwiches and panini, which far and away exceeded your normal beachside "cafe" fare. I had the goats cheese and pepper panini and my wife chose the mozzarella, tomato and basil panini. The place was very busy so we settled in to wait and were both surprised and grateful on how quickly the sandwiches arrived, the size of them and most importantly how good they were. They were piping hot and absolutely delicious. Rosie's prides itself on sourcing as much possible locally (much from local Bude bakery and butcher) and is to be commended for this both in principle and in the freshness of everything. I sneaked a look at the table opposite tucking in to burgers made with beef from a local arm and may well have to that route next time ! Absolutely recommend it but not sure how busy or easy it will be to get a table "in season" as it is literally right off one of the main surfing beaches. If you can, endure any wait for a table - it won't be a disappointment

Helpful?
Thank ssarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D, Owner at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thanks for your kind review.

You and your well behaved dog are always welcome at Rosie's!

Glad you enjoyed the food.

We are planning to extend the seating at the cafe so that there is a seat for everyone!

See you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Great little beach cafe - good food and drinks and friendly staff

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisaclapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D, Owner at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thanks for your kind review.

We endeavour to create the best of Bude.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best family seaside cafe I've ever been to!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We came accross Rosie's kitchen when we visited the beach in Bude.
Wowee have these guys got it right!! There's amazing facilities for families - a yurt full of baby / toddler play equipment with big comfy sofas for resting grown ups, and a great outdoor playground that keeps older kids entertained!!

Well that's the kids happy, leaving beach weary grown ups free to relax and enjoy the delicious coffee and cakes!!!
There's pretty seaside themed tables in the light and airy main cafe, as well as lots of tables outside both by the play area and on the front decking area.

We came back the next day for burgers (which are also scrummy) and they come with a mini windmill ontop, great fun & we felt really showed the attention to your enjoyment this place has!
We finished off with ice creams....and the kids want to come back again to have the milkshakes which looked delicious!
I'm even thempted to brave Bude in the winter so we can cosy up by the woodburning stove -which apparently gets lit on cold days. I wish we had a cafe like this closer to home!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mumsknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D, Owner at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thanks for your kind review.

We are glad you like what we are doing down here at Crooklets Beach and we have lots of exciting plans for the future.

Keep in touch and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place we love it”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We live locally and regularly go to Rosies kitchen - they have a wood burning fire which is great to sit in front of with a hot coffee on windy rainy days. We also love the burgers. Really pleased to have such a great place on our doorstep.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D, Owner at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thanks for your kind review.

We have tried to create a nice vibe for locals and visitors alike.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosie's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Rosie's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing