We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for a walk”

Tamar Lakes Country Lake
Ranked #11 of 39 things to do in Bude
Attraction details
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a walk”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Although it is well signed, the roads approaching (paricularly from the Devon side) are very narrow and in poor condition in places. However, the driveway to the upper lake is wide & smoooth, and leads to a well maintained car park overlooking the lake. There is a charge for the car park, but it's not unreasonable, particularly as the money apparently goes directly into maintaining the facilities.
We only visited for a wet afternoon walk, so I can't comment on the watersports or camping facilities, but the longest (4km) walk round the lake was on pretty level gravel paths the entire way, with recently cut verges. The views are not stunning (you are at water level, not on a hill), but there is a lovely variety of wild flowers and occasional wildlife notes pinned to trees. There are a couple of birding hides too if that's your thing.
The toilets by the car park are clean enough, and the cafe is reasonably priced. Others have raved about the cream teas, but we were underwhelmed.
We also noticed that, despite the notices, dogs were generally off leads, but the ones we saw were very well behaved and owners had them under control. I imagine that on busy days (in better weather), that this could be more of a problem for some.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good place to walk the dog !”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The walk around the top lake was great. We ignored the request to put the dog on a lead as did just about everybody else who were walking dogs. Car park charges are high.. Better to park down by the entrance as it's free. The walk along the canal via the lower lake is worth it if you want to escape other walkers...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A walk in the (late) Spring”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

A morning walk around the top lake, this was after a walk around both upper and lower lakes last week Geocaching. This second walk was to do the missed cache at the top of the lake and to resume the hunt for the did not find on "tucked in Ivy!"
Weather was cool sun but westerly wind to bring in the change that night. The missed Cache was soon detected and found, but the DNF remains as looks to have been " muggled!".
Fine flat path with very little mud on upper lake BUT be prepared for different terrain on lower lake, so no heels or sunday best!
Great walk and a bonus EXCELLENT little cafe on car park a £1, or to be safe £2 parking ticket will be sufficient but a£4 all day is well worth it.
ENJOY.
An excellent starter area for a starter to caching, is the lower lake Car Park and the loop around the Bude Aqueduct and little used road to return, we had a great time

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vianalky1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Good level walking dogs welcome on leads. Well maintained paths, car parking and toilets. Abundant wildlife and flora.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, average service”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The café itself looked nice upon approach and did have a good stock of food/drinks however when I asked for my tea to be serviced in a teacup as opposed to a coffee cup I was told that wasn't what they did! Strange!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamar Lakes Country Lake also viewed

Bude, Bude-Stratton
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to Tamar Lakes Country Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing