We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub”

The Preston Gate Inn
Ranked #13 of 107 Restaurants in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$45
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You can enjoy delicious home cooked food every day, Try our lovely roast dinners on Sundays and why not round off your dinner with a scrumptious home made dessert!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent two weeks on a caravan site half a mile up the road. We drank in this pub most days on a tea time. The stafff were very friendly and the locals a right good laugh as well as being helpful with directions. Thanks Pinger .

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    54
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top local pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

recently visited with my fiancé, had a lovely meal, fresh locally prepared food. This place has a really nice atmosphere that lot's of modern pubs just don't have. The owners were there and were incredibly friendly. I always read reviews before going and the only negative one was because they were fully booked so we thought it must be a good place if that's all that people can criticise it for. My other half was most impressed with the beers as they had some local microbrewery beers there too. Well worth a visit if you're nearby, probably also worth booking to avoid disappointment. Definitely would go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great busy local down to earth no nonsense pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Been here several times food is always great, great atmosphere, can't understand the review from brummychez as with most decent pubs you need to book a table in advance, especially in the countryside where pubs are sparse, this is not a big city! local reputation means everything here, we always book to go to local places to avoid disappointment. anyway always got great local beers on tap as well, this is a proper local so be prepared for a bit of banter among locals! Go and try you won't be disappointed. 10/10.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sorry we have a pre booked party so cannot do food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

After driving down small country lanes we came across this pub. On entering it didn't seem busy except for a family on a long table. We ordered drinks and asked to look at he menu. We were told to check the board but was sorry the chief could not do any more meals that evening due to the "large party". It was quite disappointing as it was the only pub for miles. We then had to drive back to Bude to find somewhere to eat. Never again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brummychez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Meals in Preston Gate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had two meals in this pub during a stay at nearby Wooda.
Excellent food freshly prepared and great value for money.
Well worth a visit and local real sales as a bonus

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Preston Gate Inn also viewed

 
Bude, Bude-Stratton
Marhamchurch, Bude
 

Been to The Preston Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing