We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful North Cornwall - beautiful Trevigue!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trevigue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 48 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful North Cornwall - beautiful Trevigue!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I shared a week on this beautiful, peaceful farm. We stayed in the B&B in Big Cam - a lovely spacious room with comfortable bed overlooking the courtyard. We ate in the restaurant twice and shared an evening meal with another couple who were friends of the family to Gayle and Henry and were treated as part of the family too! The food, as most would comment, was excellent/fabulous, I run out of superlatives! Fresh produce cooked to perfection. We were welcome to use the whole of the downstairs accommodation, music room, lounge with wood burning fire, and dining room, so staying in our room late evening was not necessary and was good to watch the late news sitting on a very comfortable sofa with large TV! I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying from 1 night to a week. There is plenty to do round about Trevigue - oh, by the way, the sunsets are amazing!! Stayed June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Beatifully converted old farm house. Lovely rooms. Great food. Hosted expertly. The setting is stunning. Walking distance to a lovely beach. Perfect for a week or a long weekend. The restaurant is good too. We had great weather but even in the rain It'd just be a lovely place to be. Thanks for a great stay. Would go back at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: The all looked nice to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drcjwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Arriving exhausted from Port Gaverne via the coast path in the rain, we had a wonderful warm welcome and lovely hot tea in the cosy living room with fire roaring. Our evening meal in the restaurant was delicious, our room and bed really comfy and breakfast one of the best I have had in a while! Wonderfully friendly and helpful hosts, we would love to return! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Trevigue B&B is second to none. As soon as you drive the road to Trevigue, you are transported to a world of beauty, luxury, fantastic food, and delightful hosts. Staying in a home that is filled with love is a delight. Gayle cooks the most delicious breakfasts and the servings are plentiful. She will prepare anything you ask for, as she did when one in our party asked for an egg white omelette. Within a short walking distance from the B&B, you are at the rugged north Cornwall coast looking at the ocean, the cliffs,and hearing the wind. There are numerous paths to walk on. If you go the other direction from the B&B, you will find yourself in an enchanted forest that is as quiet as can be, except for the birds and the bubbling stream. The bluebells and pink campions were in full bloom. It was a slice of heaven on earth. By the time you are done walking, you are ready for dinner. I would highly recommend eating in the restaurant at Trevigue. Gayle's dinner are beyond comparison. Every dish we ate was superbly prepared with fresh ingredients and love. From the appetizers to the desserts, we weren't disappointed in any dish. Some of the stones in the restaurant are over 1,000 years old! Can you imagine the history of the wonderful building? Treat yourself to luxury and perfection in north Cornwall. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: High Cliff is an absolutely fantastic room. You reach it by a glorious stone winding staircase. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran49680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I booked Trevigue for one night for four of us walking the South West Coast Path. When I booked I was asked if we wanted an evening meal and declined, thinking we could get something in Crackington Haven before walking the last mile and a half up the hill to Trevigue.
Arriving in Crackington after a hard days walking (climbing would be more appropriate) having eaten nothing more than a couple of energy bars I realised this was a mistake. The only pub didn't start serving food until 6, and the two local cafes didn't really appeal.
A tentative call to Gayle "is there any chance we may change our minds about dinner?" was met with the response "yes I will just do a few extra potatoes".
What an understatement!!
The long walk up the hill was met with the reward of a beautiful house in a fantastic setting, along with a warm welcome from Gayle with a tray of tea and biscuits.
The rooms, we stayed in Penkenna and Big Cam, were every bit as clean and comfortable as described on their own site, and the house has a feel of peace and tranquility.
The evening meal, a delicious mushroom, leek and gruyere starter,was followed by melt in the mouth beef in red wine with vegetables and a "just try this Cornish suet see what you think".
This was finished off by a light and delicious bread and butter pudding with a hint of saffron that was nothing like as heavy as it may sound.
As an aside and to show how much Gayle and Henry go that extra yard, there were two other dinner guests that evening (they were not staying the night) who managed to get their car stuck a couple of miles away. Henry drove out in his tractor to tow their car and get them going. The grateful couple certainly added to the evening with their amused recollection of events!.
It was almost a shame to have to pull on our walking boots the next morning and leave this delightful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaceandquiet28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Having spent many happy holidays at Trevigue Cottage as a child, I returned last week to stay for a few days at the B&B with my brother and sister-in-law. And, well, what can I say, in addition to the other glowing reviews? Gayle and Henry are fantastic hosts, so warm, welcoming, thoughtful, nothing-is-too-much-trouble sort of people, and if you're planning a visit to north Cornwall, this is THE place to stay - I defy anyone, whatever their taste in accommodation, not to fall completely in love with it all! The house itself is just SO beautiful - as are its environs (even in the rain and wind, which merely add to the dramatic splendour of the north Cornish coast!) - and is exquisitely furnished, each room having its own particular character, and is the quintessence of cosiness.
Gayle's delicious and generous home-cooked breakfasts were eagerly awaited each morning, and her cooking in general is pretty damn good (if you're tempted to go to the Riverside Inn in Boscastle for a special meal - and why not, as it's cited as the 'best place to eat in the area' on Tripadvisor: and it WAS good, I'm not disputing that but I would strongly advise you to rethink your plans and go instead to the restaurant at Trevigue. Gayle's cooking compares favourably to the Riverside, and the service is infinitely better, and the ambience of Trevigue's restaurant is just plain gorgeous). And Gayle's 'pavlova' is SO good, I'd be happy with just that (!), but you'd be really missing a trick not to sample the rest of her excellent cooking, which is, I believe, all of local provenance and cooked with flair and imagination.
The weather was pretty appalling while we were there, but that gave us the perfect excuse to snuggle up in the sitting room, in front of a crackling wood fire, relishing the best cold-and-wet-and-windy-weather food, a Cream tea...although you can forget your Cornish or Devon cream teas, a Crocker cream tea is the cream of cream teas, ahem...!!!
But I would strongly advise anyone intending to stay there to book for a minimum of a week - we were there for only four nights and it was seriously WAY too short a time in such an idyllic place, and you will NOT want to go home...EVER!!!!
As for the one 'poor' review of Trevigue on here, I think there must be more to that story than meets the eye and can only assume that it was written by some rival B&B owner simply masquerading as a 'guest'!!!
I could go on raving about it all, there's so much TO rave about (!) but I don't know how many words I'm allowed on here...
But, in summary, it's a stunning old farm house, the owners are the warmest, loveliest people, it's comfortable, beautiful, within a stone's throw of many lovely walks, the food is yummy, and it wasn't even spoilt by bad weather...well, what's not to like?!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Gayle and Henry,who have recently taken Trevigue over, are the friendliest, kindest hosts in this perfect farmhouse.We have just stayed in their new room 'High Cliff'. It has the comfiest huge bed you could imagine with beautiful quality linen all ironed to perfection and regularly changed. The ensuite shower room is modern and stylish.Gayle's cooking is superb with great attention to detail....best breakfast ever.Henry is everywhere ,constantly attending to the fires and the comfort of all the guests.

Plus the location is out of this world. A must for any visitor to Cornwall.WE will be back as often as we can.

Room Tip: Go for High Cliff or Big Cam
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
7.5 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
459 reviews
7.4 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#2 of 24 in Tintagel
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
537 reviews
7.6 mi away
Surf Haven Guest House
8.2 mi away
Stratton Gardens Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevigue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevigue Bed and Breakfast

Property: Trevigue Bed and Breakfast
Address: Crackington Haven, Bude EX23 0JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevigue Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Trevigue Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevigue Bed And Breakfast Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing