We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage - Ideal location for all types”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millers Rest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Joanna L
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage - Ideal location for all types”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Everything you need is here at Well Farm Cottages for a peaceful break in Devon/Cornwall. Whether its raining or sunny these cottages are situated in an ideal place.

This was our second visit to the Farm and again we stayed at Millers rest. Our cottage had three bedrooms a kitchen and a large living room/dinning room.
The main bedroom had a double bed and a single bed. The next room had two single beds and the third had just a single bed, but the luxury of a TV where the others rooms other than the living room don't. Our party consisted of three 40 year old's, one 77 year old and two children aged 10 and 13. So we used all of the rooms.

There is one bathroom, the WC is not separate. The bath has a shower over it.

The kitchen is equipped with everything you need and includes a dishwasher and a washer/dryer. The owners leave you with a welcome gift of milk, scones, homemade jam and clotted cream. Which believe you me after a long journey there was a very much appreciated.

The living room has two sofas and a chair. I think one of the sofas is a sofa bed.
There is a large colour TV. The dinning room table easily seats 6 and there is a highchair in the corner if needed.

The router is in this room for the WIFI, therefore the signal is strongest in this room than others, from experience the main bedroom doesn't pick up the wifi.

There is a games room on site with table football and games for the little ones including board games. There is also lots of leaflets for attractions in Cornwall and Devon. Also on site is a small playground which has a swing, slide and climbing frame. If you go through the gate by the glamping pod there are pigs and chicken to meet, The pigs are gorgous!

If you need any help the owners are regulary on site and are such lovely people,

Recommendations: -
The nearest shop is in Whitstone, 4 miles away. This was, the last time we visited in 2015 a small shop and post office. But now, well what a change!! Premier Whitstone Village store now has a fully licensed restaurant and caters for breakfast, lunch and evening meals. Take away is also an option. We highly recommend you have at least one meal here. You wont be disappointed.
This shop also has the nearest Cash Machine. And has plenty of Wine, Beer and GIN to keep you going while your away!

There is a Waitrose in nearby Holsworthy as well as all banks. If your a slimming World member the class at Holsworthy will welcome you as they have a loveley leader there if you want to keep on track.

Launceston has a large Tesco with a costa within and I noticed a Lidl not far from there.

Bude has Morrisons and a Small sainsburys if your there for the day out and a New retail park which inclides Lidl and B&M

We visited Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre again just north of Launceston and had great fun riding the Dodgems again. That's a great rainy day out attraction.

For sunsets visit Crackington Haven with its pebbled beach, for sunny days we've decided Crooklets beach is for us at Bude. We found it easier to park than Summerleaze.

But always or favourite is Trebarwith Strand. The best beach ever! But for this you have to wait for the tide to go out to reveal its sandy beach, rock pools and sea caves.

Other places to go are Camelot Hotel in Tintagel for coffee and a slice of cake, Boscastle for a mooch around the shops and Dartington Glass in Great Torrington for a tour around the factory and shop.

Well Farm Cottages is an ideal base to be in with lots going on around you whatever you want to do. We highly recommend this place.

Note: There is one WC so if the house is full don't get caught short!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks for your lovely and detailed comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay. I will pass on your lovely comments to Dan at Whitstone Village Stores. Yes there is a sofa bed in the lounge of Millers Rest. Usually we sleep 5 in the cottage but we do make larger groups aware that there's only one toilet!! Great to know that the welcome tray goodies are appreciated. Thanks again, Clare and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan T
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Most comfortable and best equipped holiday rental we ever had!”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I have just enjoyed a nice quiet holiday in "The Millers Rest". We found it to be very comfortable and well equipped - dishwasher, washing machine, fridge/freezer, hairdryer,flat screen tele, etc- and we were made very welcome. We also appreciated the provision of milk, teabags and biscuits for refreshment after a long journey. Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay at Millers Rest. Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
my19804ev...
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife daughter and I visited Well Farm last year and stayed in the superb glamping Pod. You must give it a go. Whilst there we were shown the cottages and we decided to return this year. Well, I cannot rate our stay high enough. The owners and family. You will not meet nicer people, nice welcoming touches in all accommodation, approachable helpful a real delight and make this such a special break away. The accommodation is excellent, bags of room, lots of amenities a home away from home, so clean and well laid out.Very happy.There is a little common room on site with games,films and books to borrow and table football a lovely little touch as well as swings and a slide. An added bonus in this day and age - free WiFi.The location is quiet, stunning and easy to get to the towns. Chickens sheep roaming just beautiful.a fantastic holiday, fantastic accommodation and the best people. Thank you Christopher and Family

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and it's great that you've decided to come back to Well Farm several times over!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue743
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“we would stay again”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Alovely quiet place to stay. good toys for children my granddaughter enjoyed the swing slide etc.friedly owners all in all lovely setting and a nice taste of country life

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location
Liked least: no potato masher !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, lots of space
Liked least: COuld have done with an extra bathroom with 3 bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.