We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Bude”
Review of Hebasca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hebasca
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband & I had originally planned to stay at Newquay or St Ives as we were visiting these two popular seaside towns. But most good hotels or B&B were fully booked. Glad we found this. It is located in Bude, a quieter town which you feel peace and serenity. The room rate was worth every penny .

We enjoyed our 1 night stay because of:
- Friendly staff
- Hotel with parking, or alternatively free street parking. Our room was just next to the carpark, but we were not too bothered about any noise.
-Big, clean room with comfy bed. The bathroom was bright, spacious and clean, though the countertop was too small to put all our toiletries. Enjoyed and revitalised tired body with the rain showerhead.
-Supermarket was conveniently nearby.
-The breakfast was superb. Buffet breakfast with good selection of tasty croissants, pastries, or cook to order breakfast. We had the Cornish breakfast (like an English breakfast), and blueberry pancake (what recipe ?) with bacon. All were really delicious. The waitress was very friendly.
- Close by to the restaurant -Life's A Beach we booked for dinner

Nothing to fault, but it would be nice if there was air-conditioner in the room. As the air was still and was quite stuffy the moment we went in .

Definitely recommend to travellers

Room Tip: Room next to the carparks would have less privacy as you have to draw up the curtains all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear HEinUK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hebasca. We are pleased that you found us and most of all that you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast selection is rather extensive and yes the ‘secret recipe ;)’ blueberry pancakes are a Hebasca favourite! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We only stayed one night but were generally pleased and would recommend this hotel. Very modern, trendy design, brand newly refurbed. Room was a decent size with a very comfy bed and plenty of space for a travel cot which was provided free of charge. Bathroom was nice but small and disappointingly we hadn't realised it had a shower only which wasn't ideal with a baby. Staff were friendly and helpful. They had a highchair and were helpful in keeping baby food in their fridge and heating it for us when required.
Breakfast was good although dinner was a bit disappointing. Good value all in all. Only slight letdown is the location which is neither right in town or on the beach. However it's only a 5 min walk to either. Would definitely consider staying here again although I liked the look of the location of the Beach Hotel for views.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Gooldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Gooldie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hebasca. We are pleased that you found your room spacious and comfortable. We apologise that you had a room with a shower and not a bath for the baby, had we have been notified we would have done our best to rectify this. As you rightly pointed out we are ideally located (5 minutes walk) for both the town and the beach. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the Hebasca for two nights. The Hotel is excellent very modern and clean with all new facilities. The bedrooms have everything you need, are very comfortable albeit a bit on the small side but fine for a short stay. We ate in the restaurant both nights the food and service was very good.They serve a very good breakfast with plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and efficient throughout our stay. We would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are probably a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Photodrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Photodrt,

Thank you for your recent review of Hebasca. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your ‘dream den’ to have everything you needed. We are also pleased to hear that you found the food and service in our restaurant good. We do pride ourselves in offering friendly, helpful customer service- thank you for noticing. We hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Hebasca for 3 nights. The Hotel was lovely inside, very modern. The restaurant was excellent, the food was well cooked and the portions generous, if a little expensive. The bedroom, however, was a little on the small side, more storage was needed and there were only 4 coathangers for 2 people. We had no hot water on the first night or in the morning, but this was soon put right. The basin in the bathroom was tiny, the size you would find in a downstairs wc, but the shower, when we had hot water, was excellent. The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Most rooms look out onto the car park, choose a room upstairs, otherwise you will have cars parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Photodrt

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hebasca. We are very pleased that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your meals in our grill and that the service was good. We do pride ourselves on offering excellent service that is delivered by friendly staff. Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Looked dated on the outside, however the inside is very modern it's a shame that none of it worked on my stay yesterday Sunday 13th July 2014. No hot water in the evening or morning. TV signal was again very poor , which I did complete as I was there by myself but no action was taken. Intermittent wifi which I required to down load some files for Business. I did complain on checkout to reception, they did say sorry but was still charged full price! Was it worth the money No and I stay in hotels all the time this is the 1st review I have ever written !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Lee F,

Thank you for your review of Hebasca. I am very disappointed to see that you felt that we did not provide the usual high quality of service that we are so proud of and are always complemented on. Sadly, we were completely unaware of the hot water situation until a guest mentioned this on check out. Once we were informed, this was rectified in a matter of minutes (our boiler had tripped), we apologise that you did not bring this to a member of staff’s attention in the evening, the issue then would have been dealt with immediately for you.

Secondly, we have never had a problem with television signal. All TV's are set up on an external aerial so there may have been interference from the provider, and therefore was unfortunately out of our control. We have also never experienced any issues with our Wi-Fi connections, or downloading capabilities. In fact, we welcome many corporate guests to Hebasca for whom excellent and reliable Wi-Fi access is paramount to their stay, our corporate guests often stay weeks at a time and no one has experienced any difficulty. According to the European Directive (2006/24/EC) we are required to log our guests internet use, we would of course be happy to assess the files you were having difficulty downloading/viewing to investigate this matter further for you (and report back to you) to ensure it was not the nature of the files that was causing the disruption to your access.

We are saddened that you stay in hotels all the time and only felt the need to write this review, especially given the nature and scoring of your review which does seem unjust. Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay but are certain that had your concerns been raised at the time, they could have been dealt with in minutes rather than resorting to a negative report on what we (and many others) believe is a great hotel.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at the Hebasca last weekend,and my stay was excellent, the staff were very friendly and very helpful, especially about bude and what do, and places to visit
My room was very nice and with a comfortable bed, with a large digital TV, and good tea and coffee facilities.The restaurant and food was excellent, serving great grills and a very nice breakfast in the morning, the bar was very nice too, with a good range of bottled beers and lagers.The beach is a short walk from the hotel, as is the town centre with some lovely shops.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bude and the surrounding area.
I myself will be coming back again. Simon, Bath

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear simon c

Thank you for your recent review of Hebasca. We are delighted that you found your stay excellent! We are very proud of our friendly and attentive staff, who are clearly passionate about their town. We are pleased that you enjoyed our grill based restaurant and also your cooked breakfast. As you rightly point out, our location is ideal for both the town and the beach, both being only a few minutes walk away. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is located a short walk to shops, a superb surfing beach , coast path, and a links golf course.
The hotel was refurbished in 2013 and is upmarket. The room we stayed in was equipped with a large digital TV, a good shower, comfortable king sized bed, tea and coffee facilities,
The staff were excellent, young and extremely helpful.
The bar is well stocked, but only bottled beers, but if you like cocktails etc you will like this bar.
The restaurant in the evenings serves excellent grills with an extensive range of wines. If you are a wine buff this is for you else it is expensive for the average holiday maker. The cooked breakfast was average.
Don't see this hotel catering for young families.
The hotel uses technology where it can, WIFI was everywhere in the hotel, the toilets used laser to control flushes and taps downstairs.
We did enjoy our 4 days here and would recommend it but would make you aware that being upmarket comes with a price.

Longleys from Devon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Michael L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable stay. As you rightly pointed out the hotel underwent a complete refurbishment in 2013, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the outcome. We pride ourselves in offering excellent service- thank you for noticing. We are disappointed that you found the cooked breakfast ‘average’ I will pass this on to the kitchen department who values all feedback, so please be assured we will look into this. We hope to welcome you back to Hebasca in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.3 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
0.3 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
24.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebasca

Address: Downs View, Bude EX23 8RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range: £66 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hebasca 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hebasca is a playful yet elegant hotel with a killer cocktail bar, feisty grill restaurant, sundeck and free WiFi throughout.Slap bang in the heart of Bude, you'll be just a stone's throw from the beach and a short walk from the town centre, where Bude's best shops, sights and eateries await. Free parking available.Our super-luxe bedrooms feature sleek bathrooms with powerful drench showers, hand-crafted furniture, super-comfy duck-down duvets and fashionable furnishings. Cloud and coffee-coloured walls are punctuated with jewel-bright splashes of colour and slate trimmings. When you awake from your deep slumber, breakfast is served until 10:30am. Tuck into a Stateside Breakfast - plain or blueberry pancakes drizzled with maple syrup and topped with crispy bacon, scrambled eggs and bacon on French toast, or a classic cooked breakfast. Lip-smacking fresh fruit, pastries and croissants are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hebasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hebasca Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing