We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful House and Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Munster Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

missfishl...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful House and Location”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful week at Munster cottage. Views are outstanding....I saw pictures on the website and thought they must be fake....no they aren't! You are virtually on the beach which is just over the pretty Bude canal, the sea lock is right in front of the house.
The house had all the elements we needed for a perfect holiday, lovely spacious rooms with oak furniture, log fire, well appointed kitchen, deck/veranda over looking the beach. I particularly liked the original features that have been kept intact such as the stripped doors and beautiful porch and front door.
We really felt at home here from day one and were really quite sad to go home, we have booked for next year already :)
Bude is a really nice town too, not too "touristy" with lots of independent shops, but also supermarkets etc.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea views and log fire
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackTheHa...
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect :)”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week for our half term and it is simply perfect.

We took our 2 little dogs with us and they had a great time as the beach was so close. They hate being home after being spoilt with the sand and sea on their doorstep.

The house was beautiful, comfortable and had everything you could need. It was big enough to each have our own space and big enough for us to all be together in the evening or at mealtimes. We loved it.

We are definitely going to book to go back next year!

Thank you Gina.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolette...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Munster cottage - Loved it!”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved our stay at Munster Cottage. Beautiful house, dog friendly and right by the beach. Wonderful to wake up to the sound of the sea and to watch the tide come in. The best bit for us was the coastal path at the bottom of the lane which leads to fantastic views, a beautiful walk and stunning scenery. Easy access to the town centre on foot and bike hire was only 10 mins away too. Our little Corgi loved it long walks and swimming in the sea every day! Gina was great to deal with too. Thank you!

The only thing we would comment on is that it would be great to be able to shower upstairs, not just downstairs and we had to keep our dog on a lead as the railings around the decking are not closed off at the bottom.

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony G
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great place to stay to ensure that you are at the heart of what Bude has to offer, there is plenty. Took our German Shepherd who thought he was in paradise playing on the beach with new friends. The cottage is 100yds from beach and same distance from coastal path so if you like walking and getting fresh air this is the place for you.

Owners were welcoming and friendly and we would definitely think about returning. Sitting up in bed and watching the tide come in and out is a real chill out experience.

Great place for families we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitch22
Nutbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Ideal location, very comfortable and nicely furnished property.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed as a family of five, 2 adults and 3 teens, for late Easter Break after getting special deal via eBay.

Substantial detached house, dating from 1934. Plenty of room for all, with two large double bedrooms and sturdy bunks. Location couldn't be bettered - 100 paces from the sand - and views from every room.

(Access would be tricky for less able-bodied as up steep steps from beach.)

High quality modern furnishings, wood floors downstairs, lots of stripped pine. Separate shower and bathrooms and well-equipped kitchen, with recent dishwasher, etc. The sole recommendation for improvement would be to consider offering WiFi.

Would happily recommend this property to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, furnishings
Liked least: Lack of WiFi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryonyt20...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location Location Location!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The location of this property is absolutely perfect. Literally a stones throw from a lovely, sandy beach, with rocks and dunes to explore.
A short walk in a few different directions gave us pretty much everything we needed for a week away with three energetic boys. Lots of nice cafe's and pubs, parks, a handful of shops, bowling and Softplay and two Supermarkets. Bude was just the right size for us.
The house itself was mostly very clean, lovely crisp white bed linen and comfy beds. Gorgeous light rooms and that amazing view from literally every window. The kitchen was well equipped but was missing scissors and some kids bowls would be handy. The rooms are all good sizes, 5 of us were very comfortable in it. We loved sitting at the Dining table just watching the view. Thank-you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: March 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R
Feltham, United Kingdom
1 review
“What an amazing place.....”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Munster Cottage, 4 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs.... The cottage is amazing with views from all round...... The kids and the dogs had an amazing time on the beach and then drying out and warming up in front of the fire. The beds in all rooms were extremely comfortable and bathrooms plenty for all..... We saw a seal pup rescued from in front of the house......and experienced tidal waves but totally safe....... The owners were very nice and made sure we we were comfortable. Hope we can all return soon..... Paula, Ian, Julie, Ady, Emily, Chloe, Sidney and Stanley......

Date of stay: December 2013
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.