We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holiday home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Munster Cottage

Munster Cottage over looking Summerleaze Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Munster Cottage over looking Summerleaze Beach
Living Room opening out onto the patio looking over the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Munster Cottage over looking Summerleaze Beach
Living Room opening out onto the patio looking over the beach
Dining room over looking the beach
Kitchen looking over the beach
Downstairs shower & toilet
Downstairs Hallway
Kingsize bed room over looking the beach
2nd Kingsize bed room over looking the beach
Single bed size bunkbed room over looking the beach
Upstairs bathroom
Upstairs landing
View from the patio over Summerleaze beach
Enjoy sunsets over the sea from the patio
You can relax on the patio watching the surf
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sallyperr...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing holiday home.”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed in Munster Cottage in January, what an amazing property. The house was everything you could hope for and more in a holiday home. Lots of places to visit around the area. Would definitely reccomend this property and will hopefully go back for another visit.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fab break, beautiful location, the house is very tidy and quirky in a fab way x the open fire made the stay extra special, we will definitely book and stay again. The beach is so close and a short walk into bude center itself. My wife grew up in bude and always dreamed of living in the houses by the canal as a little girl, for her 60th birthday it was the perfect getaway before the Christmas storm......huge thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsLB66
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing home from home stay in a lovely pet friendly period property.”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Munster Cottage is in a stunning location, you can not wake up to a more stunning view! We stayed here for a relaxing short break, and brought our dog along too.
The house is lovingly decorated to reflect the period features of this property, but with all the mod -cons to make life easy!
Within easy walking distance for local shops / pubs etc, most of which are pet friendly!
I would recommend a meal in the Preston Gate Inn (Poughill) - Sunday lunch was excellent! Again pets are welcome here too. Advise getting a taxi (Trev's Taxi's - pet friendly), a few quid each way, but worth it as The Preston Gate Inn has some great Real Ales on offer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonBea...
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not nice!”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in August for one week, after booking a year in advance & paying £2000...
I note, with interest the last review for this cottage was Dec 2016 & can only presume, that the 'cottage' has deteriorated since then.
It's tatty & unclean.
The net (nice) curtains are ripped & unclean, there are visually dirty toilet brushes in both bathrooms, the bed linen is of poor quality & stained along with a strange smell throughout the house. Worst of all we found cockroaches in the kitchen & bathroom.I have never seen a cockroach in the U.K & was so horrified we left early.

The reason I have rated this poor rather than terrible is it is liveable, if you're prepared to put up with it.
Personally & especially after paying this much, I expect a whole lot better.... which there is, further up the road, for the same price!

Furthermore, there is a comments book in the property with previous 'visitors' remarks. Let's just say, I'm dubious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
In almost twenty years of this property being a holiday let we have never had a review like this. As well as being upsetting it leaves us asking the question how could it have gone wrong to the point the guests are accusing us of writing our own comments in our visitors book?
To try and get to the bottom of this we immediately contacted the two previous guests both of whom are repeat visitors. They also were astonished to read this review. They both would be happy to state Munster Cottage is always beautifully presented and clean.
Of course there are unforeseen problems from time to time. Earlier this year there was a mix up with dates. The cleaner, the same cleaner we have used for many years, did not clean the house before the guests arrived. After a small panic the problem was resolved and we can confidently say the guests were happy as they are back staying at Munster Cottage as I write this!
We have of course contacted the cleaner to see if there were any problems with the cleaning before this booking and she assured us there were none. Even so we have booked a pest control officer to look into the claim that there were cockroaches.
The guest mentioned there have been no reviews on this website for 2017. This is purely down to over 80% of our bookings come through another company. We are very sorry these guests did not enjoy their stay and as we actually live just around the corner, it is a shame they didn't contacted us at the time. However the fact that Munster Cottage is rented on average for over 40 weeks of the year and a very large percentage of the guests are repeat customers, tells us we must be doing something right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
missfishl...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful House and Location”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful week at Munster cottage. Views are outstanding....I saw pictures on the website and thought they must be fake....no they aren't! You are virtually on the beach which is just over the pretty Bude canal, the sea lock is right in front of the house.
The house had all the elements we needed for a perfect holiday, lovely spacious rooms with oak furniture, log fire, well appointed kitchen, deck/veranda over looking the beach. I particularly liked the original features that have been kept intact such as the stripped doors and beautiful porch and front door.
We really felt at home here from day one and were really quite sad to go home, we have booked for next year already :)
Bude is a really nice town too, not too "touristy" with lots of independent shops, but also supermarkets etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea views and log fire
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackTheHa...
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect :)”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week for our half term and it is simply perfect.

We took our 2 little dogs with us and they had a great time as the beach was so close. They hate being home after being spoilt with the sand and sea on their doorstep.

The house was beautiful, comfortable and had everything you could need. It was big enough to each have our own space and big enough for us to all be together in the evening or at mealtimes. We loved it.

We are definitely going to book to go back next year!

Thank you Gina.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing