We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best evening meal in lovely old Hotel.”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
BOURNEMOUTH
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best evening meal in lovely old Hotel.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had a evening meal in the Falcon Hotel on 28/0814. The place was heaving due to tourist and Jazz weekend that was in full swing. I had Steak and ale pie and it was hot,fresh and so tasty the best pie ever I have tasted. The staff were all very busy but so professional and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They all kept smiling and made it a lovely evening for us to enjoy.

Room Tip: Did not stay here as fully booked but have seen a room and they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BournemouthSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    146
    29
    16
    5
See reviews for
139
221
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My first review so here goes..
My family have been to Bude for many years now but this year, being as my brother was getting married at the falcon hotel we all stayed there for a few nights. The wedding venue is beautiful!! And the room where you have your meal and a boogey later on is perfect- with a private bar so you don't have to leave the room. The gardens are massive and kept lovely with a very big conservatory in which we took over whilst staying here it was great!
The rooms are clean but a little outdated. The bathroom was very large though so can't complain! Beautiful views of the canal from the windows.
At breakfast however it was a little unorganised. People were waiting longer than others after ordering the same thing and waiting for coffee. There needed to be a manager of some sort to tell the staff who needed what.
Overall though made some great memories and had a great time.
But wouldn't stay here again as there are some lovely b&bs next door for half the price (breakwater house).
amazing if you have a large family or for a wedding though! :) x

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrapston, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here celebrating my silver wedding anniversary. As well as the hotel being excellent the landscaped gardens and also the location was perfect. I would strongly recommend this hotel. The menu was extensive and the presentation of the food was faultless. 5 star in my estimation .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Placed in a scenic location, this hotel offers a great place to stay. Rooms are very good with a lot of light and windows all around. You can see the canal and in some cases the ocean. A nice pub at the entrance and a restaurant completes the service. Although, food at the restaurant could be better and service faster. Breakfast is probably the downside of the hotel - poor choice, not too many options, very slow service.
Recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I took a 3 night short stay at this hotel during July and found it one of the most enjoyable breaks I have ever had. Bude is a lovely place for a break and a stay at the Falcon is the icing on the cake. The rooms are spotless and on the two occasions I have stayed there the view from the room has been magnificent. The breakfast is truly enjoyable served by very pleasant attentive staff in a very warm and friendly environment.
There are many eating places to choose from for evening meals in Bude but the bar restaurant at the Falcon is very comfortable and competitive serving a good variety of food at reasonable cost.
The staff at this hotel make you feel welcome and very eager to please. I look forward to my next short break at this hotel some time soon.
P.S. From my house in Greater Manchester it is a 620 mile round trip, well worth the drive.

Room Tip: Only stayed in 2 rooms and both were 1st class for view and low noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I've just spent a week here while working locally and was more than pleased with the hotel. It's not modern, so there are some creaky floorboards and sash windows, but the rooms and beds are clean and the bathrooms modern, in a good state of refurbishment and efficient plumbing. There was free wifi (open access). Breakfast choices are excellent. As well as the standard full english and the side table full of cereals and yoghurt (like you get everywhere) the additional choices include smoked haddock, kippers and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. All of these are excellent, as is the fast, efficient and impeccably polite service. There is also a vegetarian full english option. Who knew there was a such thing?

Downstairs the restaurant and bar was friendly with efficient service. Meals were good bar standard and reasonable in price. Location wise its great. Right on Breakwater Road within 5 minutes of some lovely walks around Bude.

Room Tip: Single rooms are small, double rooms a quite generous in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwater, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

popped in for supper which was spot on ,had a few beers and was then was treated to live music.brill night must go back. food good.music good.beer very good !! the staff are very helpful and all seem happy in their work.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bob708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.6 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
0.3 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Property: Falcon Hotel
Address: Breakwater Road, Bude EX23 8SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Bude Canal, with lovely walled gardens and just a short walk to the beaches and shops, the Falcon Hotel has a most attractive location. Established in 1798, it still retains that old world charm and atmosphere. The bedrooms are very well appointed, and have flat screen televisions with freeview and Sky. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for the quality of food, both in the Coachman’s Bar and Tennyson’s Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing