We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value but need to sell themselves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value but need to sell themselves”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Wanting a basic b&b to use as a base our room perhaps exceeded expectations, value wise. It was very clean, had comfortable beds and a generous sized shower. The hotel has a breakfast/dining room and bar. However on arrival we were simply shown to our room and told the times for breakfast. We were finding out about recommended places to have dinner in the area. There was no mention from the staff about their in house restaurant (there is a small banner outside) but perhaps they are missing opportunities, you had a captive audience!! We had two amazing meals at Life's a Beach and when we eventually made enquiries about the hotel's restaurant we were simply told it was closed Sunday and Monday. Our room had no information about the hotels facilities other than the Wifi. Perhaps if there was a leaflet in the room with times, menus and bar times we may well have used them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    49
    16
    12
    5
See reviews for
13
68
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here during a recent expedition along the South West Coast Path. Location is good, handy for the beach and main amenities. I originally booked a twin room but when we arrived, the lady at reception desk seemed surprised we hadn't booked a double. In the end she happily gave us our own rooms for the same price as this was apparently easier than making up the original room as a twin. All very comfortable, either way, and decent breakfast. Bistro looked good as well, although we chose to eat in town instead. All in all, I would happily go back though. Clean and modernised, better inside than it looks from the outside, not the typical rather run-down English coastal hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

GOOD:
Location: very near everything, beach, shops, restaurants, bars.

Room: clean, tidy, NO fan, room very hot, window only opened a little bit. Toilet broke twice during our stay, both days bathroom flooded

Food: Very nice breakfast, although would have liked to see some more juice, there was just orange juice.

BAD:
Parking: No parking, well .......... 7 car parking spaces, 20 odd rooms. you do the maths. I was very annoyed by this and the owners, did not seem to care and almost were surprised why I was annoyed. Where am I going to park my car, they both stood there staring at me, not saying a word! I was told there was parking on the road, but the whole road was full with cars. It would mean parking my car on a single yellow line from 6pm - 9am and then having to move the car and pay for parking and then move the car back again. Way too much hassle. Plus be warned, there are I think 3 other hotels down the road, and they all tell the guests to park on the road, so it could cost you a lot in parking in car parks. Way too much hassle.

Staff: Very hit and miss, sometimes they were nice and helpful, other times failed to get a smile. Plus no warm welcome, not helpful on asking were to park and not helpful on asking were they was somewhere nice to eat in the evening.

Room: Lots off stairs to get to our room, 3 flights off stairs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bude hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Positives: LOCATION, breakfast, cleanliness, atmosphere
Negatives: no air conditioning or fan in the room, no lift and lots of stairs, limited car parking (although other options close by), not all staff were welcoming (although the owner was very nice), evening food very pricey.

Room Tip: Try and secure a front facing room as this gives a view right across Summerleaze beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel for one night. It is a lovely clean hotel the staff are friendly. The breakfast menu has meals for everyone and it tasted lovely too. We could have stayed there all week in the prime location it is in it is very handy for the beach, shops and other amenities. The owner is a very pleasant lady and I would like to give credit where its due such a lovely place I enjoyed every minute

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenCS7135AO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from 5 Nights at this Hotel In Bude. We paid extra for one of their large front facing rooms (Number 9), and it was worth every penny for the brilliant views over the beach, harbour and town. The staff were very friendly, and the breakfasts cooked to order and well presented.
We are experienced travellers and would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philmarsland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This Hotel has the best possible location in Bude, situated in a quiet cul-de sac immediately above the beach car-park with great views from the front rooms and only five minutes walk from the main beach or the shops - saving a fortune in parking charges. Rooms on the front have a great view of the sea and the river and mine was spacious clean and comfortable.
Staff polite and helpful.
However one or two things didn't come up to expectation. A perfectly adequate breakfast was served but otherwise the restaurant is now defunct.The well-stocked and reasonably priced bar closed with reception relatively early evening. The web-site promised a shower and a tub in the bathroom but only had a shower and the lighting in there, including the shaver light was so dim I couldn't see to shave there - not as if there was anything to cover up as the unit was clean, nicely tiled and well fitted out.
Attention to these short-comings would move the hotel from average to extremely good, but it would still be an ideal venue for a family holiday if you didn't mind going out to find a meal every evening

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
3.5 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House Hotel

Property: Atlantic House Hotel
Address: 17-18 Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Atlantic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Bude
Atlantic House Hotel Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing