We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base for North Cornwall and West Devon”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden with a view
3 Swelle Cottages Traditional Cornish Cottage. Fully Equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Garden with a view
3 Swelle Cottages Traditional Cornish Cottage.
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Dinning Room
Large family Bedroom
Family Bed Room
Front Master Bedroom
Large double room with views of the garden and the sea
Rear Garden
Very Large Rear Garden
3 Swelle Cottages is the 1st house on the left with a large garden and plenty of parking.
Sunsetfrom the decking with a glass of wine PERFECT end to the day
No Words
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul S
1 review
“Ideal base for North Cornwall and West Devon”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Brilliant to find a welcome pack of food on arrival, especially after a 7 hour journey.
The teabags and milk were a God send! Thank you very much for that.
Clean and tidy house with a lovely back garden for the dogs. Two showers and toilets one up and one down were very convenient.
2 minor issues which in know way were detrimental to our stay or enjoyment were,that there are 6 steps up in to the garden (Our oldest dog has arthritis so cant manage stairs, luckily I was able to carry the 30kg Golden retriever up the stairs so that she could do her business). Any normal able dog would be up them in a seconds though. Secondly the downstairs TV doesn't work when the upstairs one is on. The picture breaks down to the extent that it is unwatchable. Again not a big issue it just meant I missed a few programmes due to others watching Big Brother every evening at 10.
What was a big problem though was that we never knew dogs couldn't be left in the house alone until we arrived. Our oldest dog hates being in the car and at 13 just wants to sleep. I did feel sorry dragging her out every time we just popped out to the shops etc. as again I had to heft 30kg in to the back of the car. Due to her arthritis it did limit what we could do in the day. I'm sure that this would have been in the terms and conditions somewhere so just got on with it.
As long as you have 2 able healthy dogs I can recommend this property without hesitation - Hopefully you will have better weather.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Firstly thank you for choosing and booking Swelle Cottages at such short notice, i would like to say that at the time of booking, we did give you the opportunity to ask any questions about your holiday at Swelle Cottages ! meaning had we been aware (as not mentioned when booking) that you were bring dogs especially one with arthritis, we would have mentioned the steps (which is now written in our listing) to the rear garden, and would have pointed out there was plenty of patio'd area in which your dog could have done its business. Also at no time did we say that, or does it mention that, dogs are not allowed to be left in the cottage when you go out. We are very aware that when guests bring their pets, that are very much part of their family and that they would treat them how they would at home, and if that meant leaving them in the Cottage whilst they go out is fine. With regards to the TV issue, we would have been more than happy to rectify the problem if you had come and knocked on our front door, which was next to the cottages, so that you could continued to enjoy your holiday without any issues. Thank you again for choosing Swelle cottages we hope these issue haven't put you off booking with us again the future. Kind Regards Helen and Max
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you ! So glad you enjoyed your time at Swelle Cottages . You were all very kind and your puppy was adorable x Helen & Max
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you Maria and family we're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year
Kind regards Helen and Max
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kl201615
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous cottage, exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Such a lovely cottage and highly recommended. It's far more spacious than you expect, very well furnished and equipped and so very comfortable. We felt at home as soon as we walked in. As for the garden - wow! Lots of space. fab trampoline and the decking overlooking the fields with sheep wandering around and views out to the sea on the horizon were just great, You do need a car but it's a lovely place to be based and close to great beaches. We especially enjoyed Black Rock and Summerleaze beaches in Bude where we could go with our dog and also, further away, the stunning Watergate Bay near Newquay. We had great days out in Boscastle, Padstow and St Isaac to name a few. It was one of our best holidays in Cornwall and we'd love to stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for you kind words we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay ! we look forward to seeing you again next year, book early to avoid disappointment LOL .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sscoll
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house, fantastic garden, great location!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Helen provided great communication with any queries we had before and during our stay. The property was very clean and tidy, providing everything we needed for our stay...and more! The house was very charming, warm and cosy but spacious enough with 4 adults and 3 children staying. The house was situated very close to Widemouth Bay (5 or so mins) and about 10 mins from Bude, all very easy to get to. We travelled around to other places too and found our location pretty good. We had a fabulous holiday here, thank you Helen and Max!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you scoll family for your great feed back we are glad you enjoyed your stay ! Hopefully look forward to seeing you all again next year
Kind regards to you all
Helen and Max
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike m
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable cottage, great location”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thanks for a great stay- very comfortable cottage in a great location- short drive to the beach and to Bude itself.
Lovely big garden for the dog and 4 teenagers, everything was just perfect for an enjoyable holiday and we'd not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you Mike and family, it was great to meet you , we're so glad you enjoyed your holiday! and would welcome you back next year thank you Helen and Max x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was beautiful,spacious and quiet you couldn't tell you were on a main road!
The large back garden was perfect for our granddaughter and border collie and the trampoline was brilliant it was used a lot even in the rain ( we had a lot)
The bedrooms are lovely and large, the family room is brilliant
The downstairs bathroom is great and handy.
All the shops/supermarket are within 7 miles. The local beach was literally minutes away and we were able to take the dog there
We had been left a grocery welcome pack which was gratefully received
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swelle and hope to return again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious it was
Liked least: Steep steps up to the garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments were so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Swelle Cottages hope all is well with your new arrival to the family,we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Helen and Max x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing