We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard ground, controlling staff, £5 for a friend to say hello!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollands Wood Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hard ground, controlling staff, £5 for a friend to say hello!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

From intial checking in we were impressed by the beauty next to the campsite, the village was nice nearby (brockenhurst) however staff seemed controlling, there was no on site shop, the toilet was not opened up by us until they got busier, a friend came to see us for an hour, they wouldnt let him in without paying a fiver!

The price advertised online booking was less than the price when I arrived. Then they stung me with a bank holiday special price? another £25???? didnt feel like we could relax most of the time.

They tell u the rules like your a child and not a customer . One rule was no tent closer than 6m to another yet on peak days we had people very close (less than a cars length)

I dont understand why this places has such good ratings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    147
    48
    26
    15
See reviews for
218
172
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I Spent a few days in Hollands and i really like this place. Wild horses and animals are around. Great for families and kids. i have enjoyed mountain biking around. Also if you dont have you own bike you can hire one at the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our third trip to this campsite and hope to return again later in the year. You are greeted by friendly staff on your arrival and then left alone unless you require help. The site itself is set in idyllic woodland with ponies wandering around ready to eat your dinner. The facilities are basic but sufficient and are clean and tidy . If like us you just want a few days chilled out in beautiful surroundings book now.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank princeriker d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Arrived home today after a 3 night camp and already want to go back, what a fantastic place, The shower and toilet block are spotless, the site so clean and the staff very nice and cheerful. Loved the shetland ponies that are on site, hope the white one has a safe birth. Got to see a day old foal. Great pubs within walking distance. Only one fault, your not allowed to kidnap the shetlands LOL see you soon Hollands Wood

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Despite being a rather big site it still has a small campsite feel and they allow you to camp wherever you want. The showers were clean, tidy and nice and warm, even the timer on the shower was of a good length, you wasn’t constantly pressing it to get the water out! The toilets and washing-up facilities were also immaculately clean and tidy; staff were very friendly and helpful. A lovely site with New Forest ponies wandering around the site.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsonabike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 night. 4 day stay. We stayed with a few friends and their children and quite frankly this has been the first time we could all relax with kids and camping. We chose the left hand side nearest the road as it was less busy, though the road was there it was fine to be honest and not intrusive, even at night you could hear cars passing but after a few Magners who cares! The site itself was very good, ample areas to pitch your tent in between the woodland, lots of stand water pipes and rubbish bins. The facilities were very good, dish washing was amply spaced (the water is very hot!) the showers and toilets were regularly cleaned and the laundry machines were in good nick and worked wonders. Word of warning to those who go with kids, there is a tree swing at the far end of the site and a stream, so typically it was my lot that got drenched and muddy - hence the laundry machines worked wonders! The staff were always courteous, friendly and nothing was trouble. One even loaned me their washing machine powder and softener! Thank you. we rarely left the campsite, though if you do; a 10 minute leisurely stroll will take you to Balmer Lawn where you can sit or play in the river. Take a 20 minute stroll into Brockenhurst and here you can rent a bike (on the other side of the traintrack) or rent a Twizzy. There is a good little shop that sells all that you need for the camping side (food, bbq stuff, drinks etc) plus the Indian takeaway was good as well (there is only so much BBQ you can eat!). The price for 3 nights with 5 people and two cars was £140.00 on Bank Holiday weekend. If you do decide somewhere, for sure stay here it will make life easier for you. The only down side was woody woodpecker and his mates kicking off at 5am anyway we will be going back in the summer for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Decided on a last minute mini break to the New Forest for the Bank Holiday weekend. Again, we were not disappointed with Hollands Wood! From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the staff until we left, we were in relaxation mode.

Unfortunately, on the Sunday the rains came and our tent didn’t keep all the water on the outside! We came back after a lovely day out to find that the bedding was wet and we had a muddle puddle by the tent door. Needless to say our booked 3 night stay turned into a pack up and go home after 2 nights, instead of the planned BBQ dinner.

But, this is not the campsites fault and will not deter us from returning again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVCM3565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,045 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,705 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollands Wood Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollands Wood Campsite

Property: Hollands Wood Campsite
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Brockenhurst
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitching your tent here will automatically connect you to nature and provide you with a camping experience you won't forget! Just a ten minute stroll away is Brockenhurst village with an abundance of pubs, banks, shops and restaurants. The campsite also has direct access to the forest via its numerous walking and cycle paths, and is within easy reach of the popular and expansive picnic site of Balmer Lawn next to the Lymington River, perfect for a dreamy lunch next to an enchanting waterway - where wildlife is abundant. This is an extremely family-friendly campsite and popular with families, groups and young people alike; it is therefore advisable to book in advance during high season to avoid disappointment. This campsite features grass pitches suitable for tents, caravans and motorhomes. There is no electricity on site, but it is fully equipped with three toilet and shower blocks, disabled facilities, baby wash and change areas, laundry facilities and a dog showe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollands Wood Campsite Hotel Brockenhurst
Hollands Wood Campsite Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing