We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot, very few complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollands Wood Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollands Wood Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, very few complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed recently with the family, outside of main season so nice and quiet. Can't vouch for the site during peak times.
Pitches are level and ground is soft so easy to pitch tents, Lovely views and no formality of pitching arrangements so it is your discretion where to pitch, so long as you observe the 6m rule. This meant we were able to chose a lovely spot with no-one else around.

Great location with only a short walk to Brockenhurst and surrounded by meadows and woods, perfect for tree climbing and den building with the kids.

Costs was on the expensive side but worth it for quality of site and facilities

Facilities were clean and plentiful.

Staff were very helpful if ever so slightly militant in their approach to checking car permits etc. We had one visitor join us for the evening and he was charged £5 to do so, this seems disproportionally expensive.

In all a lovely quiet spot and recommended.

Room Tip: Get there early and take your time to drive around and find your perfect pitch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glentress2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    134
    41
    24
    14
See reviews for
196
163
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends over the weekend. Had a fantastic time and this place is wonderful. Can't fault it and have booked already to stay again. Beautiful countryside.disnt want to leave. We don't live far away but this is our escape awY from it all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dainydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

but this Campsite is a little piece of heaven in the New Forest! It has all the things you need (Showers/Loos etc) but still retains that "back to nature" feeling that you want when you're pitching your tent for a break in the wild outdoors.

The site is great for families with a large area of heath for running and ball games but I wouldn't rule it out if your are a couple either. There is no "formal" playground but who needs one with acres of forest on your doorstep - I would recommend bringing a bike for the kids (and the adults too!) even if you are only coming for the weekend.

There is no shop on site but with Brockenhurst only a 10 minute stroll away we didn't find it a problem. The office will charge phones etc for a small charge if you need them too (and I think they sold Milk as well) but to be honest our son didn't even notice his iPod had died until he got in the car to come home!

The Loos and Showers are clean and functional - perfectly adequate for washing the dirt off before bedtime. The dishwashing area is a tad on the cramped side but again clean and functional.

The staff were welcoming and friendly with regular patrols of the site as well as managers on site overnight should there be any problems.

Most people seem to get their kids back to the tents at a reasonable time and we didn't hear any late night music during our stay although the owl sitting in the branches over our tent made himself heard loud and clear.

As for the ponies.....our son asked the ranger where we should pitch our tent to see the ponies....he laughed and told him not to worry the ponies would find him.....to his delight they did! Ponies are your constant companions on this site - in fact you get the distinct impression you've set camp in their front room so treat them respect and you'll be more than welcome.

Only complaint was that we didn't stay long enough so we are going back again as soon as we can!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We have used this site for ages and have always found it great. We love the pitches amongst the trees and roaming wildlife. Sadly this time it was my child that woke repeatedly in the night and cried. Sorry anyone who was there and heard. Usually a good nights sleep, quiet and good facilities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Skytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this campsite with another family during May half term. That is not high season and not a bank holiday weekend (the previous Monday was BH, we stayed Thurs-Sat). The campsite was a lovely location, I had often cycled passed so new of the place and was keen to try it out. Our friends family tent was a smallish 4 man tent, from Tesco or similar, nothing special or large. It had been raining most of the week, so the ground was soft and they had closed bookings for the campsite, fortunately we had booked in advance. Our spot was no where near anyone else, I mean nearest tent was 50yds away, and the campsite was pretty quiet. The first night was drizzly, so we put up our gazebo directly outside our friends tent to BBQ and eat under. There were other enormous tents with extensions on to cook under or tarps, for the same thing, surely a gazebo bang upto the tent is no different? The next day we were told to take it down. Fortunately the remaining nights were fine and we didnt need the cover, but we were already annoyed.
Shower block a little cramped and dirty, but I suppose it was wet'ish weather

The first night we were woken early morning by someone in the tent.. turned out it was a pony rummaging through our rubbish! It had managed to unzip the door! Not a complaint at all, just amusing! Wish I had the camera ready!
Location is fantastic, cycle trails on doorstep, lovely village, Lymington close by as well as Beulieu. Kids spent all hours they had in the campsite cycling throughout. Very safe environment for them and great to explore. Nature all around.

Maybe if it was busy, but it wasnt, it was very quiet. Anyway, I have now bought an extension to my own tent, if you cant beat em, join em :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DGoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a lovely time at this site a few weeks ago, with it being nice and quite and staff being very friendly always saying hi as they passes etc. And one morning waking to Shetland ponies munching grass outside of the tent (I loved this as I've been around horses all my life) I did have to re direct him as his head appeared in the tent when I opened it =D

I've added a picture of the pony as he left but unfortunately the one of him coming in was very blurred =(

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We are already planning to go back and stay a bit longer.
The camp is ideally located within walking distance to Brockenhurst. The location is just beautiful. The ponies come to say hello which is a nice touch.
Toilets and showers are clean and warm. There's plenty of space as the camp is really big and the 6 metre space between the tents rule is very useful - even when there's a lot of people you can have some privacy.
We are in love with this place!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ThailandIsTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.1 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
4.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollands Wood Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollands Wood Campsite

Property: Hollands Wood Campsite
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Brockenhurst
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitching your tent here will automatically connect you to nature and provide you with a camping experience you won't forget! Just a ten minute stroll away is Brockenhurst village with an abundance of pubs, banks, shops and restaurants. The campsite also has direct access to the forest via its numerous walking and cycle paths, and is within easy reach of the popular and expansive picnic site of Balmer Lawn next to the Lymington River, perfect for a dreamy lunch next to an enchanting waterway - where wildlife is abundant. This is an extremely family-friendly campsite and popular with families, groups and young people alike; it is therefore advisable to book in advance during high season to avoid disappointment. This campsite features grass pitches suitable for tents, caravans and motorhomes. There is no electricity on site, but it is fully equipped with three toilet and shower blocks, disabled facilities, baby wash and change areas, laundry facilities and a dog showe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollands Wood Campsite Hotel Brockenhurst
Hollands Wood Campsite Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing