We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled us at 5 pm the night before we went”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollands Wood Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cancelled us at 5 pm the night before we went”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Disaster - and put us in a campsite almost on top of the M27. Went to look around Hollands Wood whilst down there and it did not look under water to me. They said they cancelled us due to campsite being under water and said it happens all the time here. Proceed with great caution before booking as this was the middle of August. I think they had just over booked the campsite and decided to lose a few on the motorway.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SurreyTravel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    144
    44
    25
    14
See reviews for
210
169
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We stayed here for two nights in the middle of August. The campsite is larger than I expected (about 600 pitches) and as we arrived about 8:30 on the friday night we were worried at first about not finding somewhere to pitch up as the site was very busy. We found an area not far from the toilet/shower block and had plenty of room for our car and tent. The campsite itself is lovely although we didn't get a chance to walk around much of it. The showers/toilet blocks were clean and well kept considering the amount of people that were staying there. The only slightly negative thing I would say is that due to the amount of people there it was very noisy on the friday night when we were trying to sleep but that was to be expected I suppose.
The campsite is about a 15 minute walk away from Brockenhurst town and the nearest pubs (Rose & Crown, Foresters Arms). We ate in a lovely cafe called The Buttery in Brockenhurst and I recommend the Full English Breakfasts! There is also a small Tesco Metro next door to the cafe for you to stock up on food/drink.
Overall we had a nice few days camping but as there's only two of us we will probably opt for a smaller campsite next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rcn1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This is a BIG campsite, but the amongst-the-trees camping makes it feel small and private. We had a lovely pitch under trees with ponies wandering past. Despite awful weather the toilet blocks were regularly cleaned and facilities all worked as they should. The rangers were also very helpful and friendly. The one issue I had with the site was the road noise, but it is right on the main road - if this bothers you, pick a more remote site. I'd go back to Hollands Wood as it is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexiflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Great site!

We are regulars and will continue to come back year after year!

Family friendly, group friendly and generally no hen stag partys come here as they go to lyndhurst.

Great thing is you can come as a group, pitch up together have a great night ( not too noisy ) / or have a quiet time on your own secluded from everyone.

Site has large open areas and little secluded ones so you can choose and not get told where to go.

Great CLEAN facilities!

Dog friendly and you always get talking to someone as its so friendly.

If you want lively don't come here! if you want clean facilities, close to pubs, restaurants and good amenties this is the place.

Good base to explore the area and loads of great walks.

Must haves - Good torch, good attitude to ponies and friendly to kids.

10 minute walk to pub in pictures which is great and verry resonable. ( also dog friendly )

Enjoy but don't tell everyone....... it is a little jewel in the crown!

  • Liked — great seclusion
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AChuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed in Hollands Wood campsite over a weekend recently. We were impressed by the organisation and set up of the campsite. We received a warm welcome and had little trouble finding a pitch even though we arrived slightly late on Friday - this is because the campsite limits its capacity so that everyone has enough space. The campsite is set in an oak woodland and is very tranquil. There are also lots of small ponies around which adds to the 'country feel'.The toilet and wash facilities were fine and the overall atmosphere of the place was very relaxing and family orientated. The camp site is easy to find and is only a short walk from Brockenhurst village where there are a couple of good pubs. Its also a good base for exploring Hampshire and the New Forest. In all we found it to be very pleasant, organised and good value for money. We would def. recommend this place and would go again, although a long weekend is enough and you may struggle with things to do after that. One more thing, its perfect for families as it is a welcoming, and safe environment with lots of space for kids to play. dog lovers also welcome. oats.

Helpful?
5 Thank pqkobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2006

just got back from hollands wood, 3 night break over the bank holiday weekend. Loved the simple beauty of the place. Set within oak tree forest. Ponies walked right up to the tents, children loved it. Very cold at this time of the year, so would suggest taking plenty of extra blankets so you can sit outside the tents until well into the night. Can be a bit noisy at busy times, although there is a warden who is a bit of a jobs worth. Nice walks into Brockenhurst Village. Decent pubs, good fish and chip shop and excellent chinese. Would recommend going to Lymington on a saturday morning, good market and excellent cake shops. Will definately go again for a short break, although not enough to do for a week, unless you a honeymooning!!

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank skyhemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollands Wood Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollands Wood Campsite

Property: Hollands Wood Campsite
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Brockenhurst
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitching your tent here will automatically connect you to nature and provide you with a camping experience you won't forget! Just a ten minute stroll away is Brockenhurst village with an abundance of pubs, banks, shops and restaurants. The campsite also has direct access to the forest via its numerous walking and cycle paths, and is within easy reach of the popular and expansive picnic site of Balmer Lawn next to the Lymington River, perfect for a dreamy lunch next to an enchanting waterway - where wildlife is abundant. This is an extremely family-friendly campsite and popular with families, groups and young people alike; it is therefore advisable to book in advance during high season to avoid disappointment. This campsite features grass pitches suitable for tents, caravans and motorhomes. There is no electricity on site, but it is fully equipped with three toilet and shower blocks, disabled facilities, baby wash and change areas, laundry facilities and a dog showe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollands Wood Campsite Hotel Brockenhurst
Hollands Wood Campsite Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing