We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Filly Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rhinefield House Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
75
59
23
15
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
59
23
15
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubrooms are basicinteresting specialsnew forestblack pudding scotch eggtea and coffee facilitiescomfortable bedcomfortable staysmall portionsfull english breakfastlovely fooddecent sizedouble roomlocal producemy mumdogs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We returned to the Filly to find that it had been renovated and was under relatively new management. What a change. The rooms were much better, brighter and bigger having had a new wing added. The bathroom was sufficient and did not encroach on the room space as so many do.The management and staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good. We had a long walk in the Forest, on a dry weekend, if overcast. Returning to the Inn we had a few drinks and returned later for a good meal. Cant fault the place and will return again later this year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Friendly staff, large potions of locally sourced food and all with a place to park the Campervan overnight. Found this when looking for places to stay in a Campervan in the new forest. Dog and child friendly with a big screen for the rugby.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sonic38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stopped at The Filly for lunch. I had the most delicious fish finger sandwich made from homemade fish goujons. The staff were lovely and really chatty which gave the pub a really welcoming feel. The sandwiches were a bit more expensive than usual pub prices and were served with a simple side salad. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank themccarthysxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The whole inn has been newly redone, so really clean & fresh. Good location for exploring new forest as it is right off the A337, very close to brockenhurt, and the seaside too.
The rooms themselves are good, not luxurious, but clean, warm, decent size, good bed, new TV in room. Bathroom again is new, with a shower stall, only crib is the shower is not particularly powerful. New linen, complementary toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, cookies & water provided, which is a nice touch.
Rooms 1 & 2 overlook A337, so you can hear the occasional car at night. If you are a light sleeper, ask for the rooms at the back overlooking the woods.
Breakfast was decent, didn’t try the dinner.
Best thing was the owner seems to take a personal interest. Checked to see if everything was fine, and fixed a problem with the bathroom curtain (there wasn’t one) himself as soon as I pointed it out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesiGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This place was ideal for what we wanted...a cosy traditional inn with a comfortable, clean bedroom which was quiet but close enough to the bar so that the baby monitor would work! Dinner was great, ales were good, breakfast was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, offering to help with bags, adjust the heating for the baby and going home to collect a travel cot. For the price we paid, this was more than expected. We will definitely be returning when the weather is nicer! I spent ages looking for the pub I wanted to stay at as I knew the new forest must have such a place...this was it.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews