We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay with dinner and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Filly Inn

The Filly Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Filly Inn
Ranked #20 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overnight stay with dinner and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived on a Thursday after spending the day exploring the new forest. A very polite member of staff showed us to our beautifully clean room with tea and coffee facilities, the bed was very comfy and we had a great night sleep. Dinner was lovely my husband had ribeye steak with chips salad and onion rings it was a generous helping full of flavour, I opted for the wild mushrooms on toast which was extremely tasty. After we shared a chocolate torte with salted caramel ice cream, we could not fault the food or the service. The next morning breakfast followed suit.... No complaints at all. Can't wait to stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Biscuit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    56
    23
    13
    21
See reviews for
42
92
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

ignore old reviews as new management here for about 2yrs. Food to die for & delivered fast as lightening. Excellent local beers, polite & professional staff & loveley decor. Second visit in a 4 day local stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dino237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped off on the way home from a hospital appointment, we have passed by so many times! What a lovely surprise! Warm welcome, delicious local food .Chilli sausages and mash, lamb with roasted veg! We can't wait to go back, taking others with us. We need to work our way through that menu! Didn't have room for the starters or the delicious looking desserts.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dillybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Me and my mum decided we would try out the Filly Inn(Good decision) as we hadn't visited since it had recently changed hands.
We really enjoyed our lunch of Wild Mushroom Pasta & Locally Produced Sausage door stop sandwich with salad followed by Eton Mess and Lemon cheese cake. All of which was nicely presented! Staff were all really friendly and polite. We will definitely be returning to use our 10% discount card which we were given:)! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz21211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We tried The Filly for lunch last Saturday while exploring the New Forest. Neither of us had been there before and we were both pleasantly surprising by the great food at this dog friendly pub. We were looking for accommodation for the Sunday night and discovered they had a dog friendly room.

The room was not large but very clean and well decorated supplying everything we needed. No bath but a good shower. Beautiful white linen on the bed, flat screen TV and good hospitality tray. A suggestion would be a mattress topper as the bed was a little hard but we both slept well.

The very best thing about the Filly is the friendly atmosphere, lovely staff and Steve the owner. We were made so welcome. It was lovely to find Jasper my dog could also be with us in a part of the pub were we could have dinner and great daft cider !

This place is also great value for money - we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Dog friendly room.............. worked for us. It is over the pub and on a main road but has good q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Healthtouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have been to this B&B twice now and both times have found it a very enjoyable experience. I went for a quiet weekend away with my partner recently and though it was in the winter months, we never ran out of things to do. The new forest is right on your doorstep with miles of natural scenery that has a calming effect on those that walk through it. This establishment is also very close to Lymington town.

The staff there are friendly, warm and cannot do enough for you.

The food is sensational and in very large portions, we never went hungry. In fact a full English breakfast was filling enough to keep us going until dinner time. All food was of the best quality.
We also stayed in the B&B for dinner as it has a pub and restaurant downstairs, I highly recommend the filly burger if you are eating here.

We stayed in room 3 which was modern, yet homely. I have actually styled my own bedroom around their room as I just loved the colour scheme. The en-suite was clean and modern. Our room was kept well stocked with an array of drinks and biscuits. The room was always kept warm but we had control over the radiator dial and so was able to turn it up or down as we needed.

I would recommend this B&B to all as a beautiful, clean and comfortable place to stay for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We had the best experience, 2 adults and our 2 year old naughty toddler, the service was so good but THE FOOD OMG I WANTED TO EAT THE WHOLE MENU, we arrived at Brokenhurst Station and caught a taxi from there, cost £5 to get there. We arrived around midday, normal check in time there is 3pm but we were able to go in early as no one had stayed in our room the night before. We were greeted by the hotel manager Steve, very nice man, gave advice about the area. Across the road are free roaming donkeys, horses and Shetlands all friendly and always keen for a pat

We planned on only staying 1 night, but one our first night, the surrounding area and food provided at the hotel we paid for another night, we would have stayed even longer however we had to leave because of family engagements, which we were considering to skip

Food is the best though, hats off to the chef there. Loads of people travelled to this inn just to go to the restaurant, EAT EVERYTHING, the specials menu changed daily

I am going to miss this place. Thank you for your service :)

Oh and the room was awesome, big white and spacious and clean, so quiet and right in there with nature

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooch1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
1.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
1.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Filly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Filly Inn

Property: The Filly Inn
Address: Lymington Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Hotel Class:4 star — The Filly Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Filly Hotel Brockenhurst
The Filly Inn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing