We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent weekend away !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Filly Inn

The Filly Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Filly Inn
Ranked #20 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent weekend away !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here from the 11th of April for 2 nights. Staff we're very welcoming and friendly. Our room was very clean and had a modern touch.
Staff looked after us very well, booking a table late one night they still fitted us in with a very busy restaurant. The food was amazing and well priced, we ate here for both nights the menu had a lot to choose from.... The full English option in the morning is a definite must!
Set in a lovely location where it's easy for bike rides straight into the forest.
Highly recommend The Filly Inn to anyone who visits the New Forest.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    56
    22
    13
    21
See reviews for
42
91
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived, three generations and had a fantastic time. Lovely staff who looked after us well, fabulous meat from the specials and the freshly made local ice cream is an absolute must. Atmosphere is friendly and warm and there was a love singer on the evening we went who was excellent too.....well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nickjcthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We where on holiday, when we came across this quirky looking pub whilst on a country walk in the New Forest. We popped in at 11 am, and booked a table for 12.30 for when we would be returning from our walk. when we returned from our walk we entered the pub and ordered some drinks at the bar, the waitress said she would bring them over shortly.

We where escorted to our table by a very nice waitress, and prepared to get excited about our coming meal, the excitement soon cooled because we waited ages for our drinks order, but eventually after 10 minutes the waitress arrived with the drinks, and proceeded to take our food order.

My wife and I ordered the mussels, and the kid ordered fish & Chips. When the food arrived the portions where very small, the mussels being the size of almonds, overcooked, with a distinct smell of rancid fish, very poor quality indeed, didn't mind the fact that the portion was small, but the white wine sauce was tasteless, and served with a tiny slice bread. Shocking!! A decent chef would have know that the meals where poor offerings and not allowed them to be presented to the customer.

The kids picked at the fish and chips, which they said was ok, but again the portions where small, and the chips where over cooked as though they had been lying for some time and re fried.

.Anyway my wife, and I didn't eat our mains, and refused to pay for such poorly presented and badly cooked food! The service was very poor, and not particularly friendly after our initial greeting.

With food standards set so high theses days there is absolutely no need to insult the customer with such rubbish food.

We definitely won’t be coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, Owner at The Filly Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello
I am extremely sorry to hear about this complaint by way of this website as we take great care in dealing with all complaints when they happen. We note all problems and very if a meal is comped then this will be noted as well and bought up with the chef in charge. I actually cannot find anyone of my staff that can bring light to situation so I can only hope that maybe you have gotten us confused with another Inn.
However if this is not the case then I can assure you that the problem that you faced with your meal is not something that we have too often, all of our produce comes directly from producers via the shortest route, so freshness should be guaranteed but this does mean that we will get the biggest or best looking produce but we will get the freshest and tastiest!
As far as mussels go being over cooked is a disappointment but as far as small and having the smell of rancid fish I can also assure you that 1, they do not come in a specified size and 2, they never hang around long enough to have gone bad but as they are seafood you would expect a certain smell.
As far as portions go, if you were given a small portion of mussels then that is because you ordered a starter size and would have been charged accordingly, if you are hungry then it is always advisable to order the appropriate size meal, as far as our children's fish and chips portions go we are usually accused of giving too much and not the other way around!
Lastly I would have to also apologise for the slack level of service that you received which is as well, very unusual as even when people are not happy with their visit to us it is never that service that is called into question so I can only put this down to one of those things where sometimes nothing goes as it should. I also note that you marked the cleanliness down as a 1*, this makes your whole review smell rather fishy as well as the pub is always without fail 100% spotless.
In summery, if you were upset with any one of the above problems then I apologise again but to lay your disappointment on to all areas of our business then I believe that you are stretching the truth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We popped in for a quick lunch, just a sandwich and drink. Excellant sandwich with a well dressed salad. We went back for dinner the following evening. Great menu, food was lovely and the service very friendly and efficient. Would certainly go back when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddletrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stopped for lunch here, have visited in the past when under previous ownership but this was the first visit after refurbishment. First impressions good, shown a table, ordered drinks that arrived quickly, staff waiting were efficient, enthusiastic and friendly. We ordered the lunch two course deal, the menu mentioned that the light lunch was of smaller proportions but never the less were totally suitable for our needs.
Food was good, service was good, atmosphere was good. Little to complain about here and indeed a lot better than our last visit several years ago, we will have no hesitation in visiting again.

Good value and a pleasant experience..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollerteam707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed a couple of nights and had most of our meals at the Filly Inn. We met several friends in the pub- all were impressed by the food and made to feel very welcome (children and dogs included). Our room was bright and clean- some road noise as we were at the front of the building but not enough to stop us sleeping. Good location for walks. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stopped for a light lunch on a cold blustery Thursday and was pleased to see that The Filly Inn was well supported as it deserves to be. We received a very warm welcome and had a delightful light lunch. I'd highly recommend the Farmers Platter and there were many other dishes on the menu I would have liked to have tried. It was also good value and I disagree with one of the previous reviewers who thought it was expensive. It isn't.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AttackoftheTAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
1.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Filly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Filly Inn

Property: The Filly Inn
Address: Lymington Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Hotel Class:4 star — The Filly Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Filly Hotel Brockenhurst
The Filly Inn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing