We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch and friendly atmosphere”
Review of The Filly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Filly Inn
Ranked #17 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stopped off here on our way to our holiday cottage for the weekend and immediately got a warm welcome followed by a yummy Ham, egg and chips to follow. Great pub, lovely food and good service we would definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Four week rental in New Forest for a big family reunion and found this on the first evening when we went out looking for a decent pub.....now, they would consider themselves as a restaurant, and the food is fantastic, but I thought it was a super place also for a few drinks......the staff are wonderful and we enjoyed many an "early doors" there on our own or with family and friends.

For our main evening out we booked a table for 11 and set to with a vengeance......lots of laughs and lots of fun with fabulous pub food that I would take any time over some of the meals in top class restaurants I have reviewed here at a fraction of their cost.

If you are in the New Forest, then amongst all the fine pubs and restaurants, this would be hard to beat for the friendliness of the staff if nothing else!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ustaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Came here with my family for a meal before heading out in the woods to the back of the pub. The food was good and the kids enjoyed larking about in the garden on the wooden seesaw. Would definitely recommend for families.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank 993Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Me and my partner stayed here from the 11th of April for 2 nights. Staff we're very welcoming and friendly. Our room was very clean and had a modern touch.
Staff looked after us very well, booking a table late one night they still fitted us in with a very busy restaurant. The food was amazing and well priced, we ate here for both nights the menu had a lot to choose from.... The full English option in the morning is a definite must!
Set in a lovely location where it's easy for bike rides straight into the forest.
Highly recommend The Filly Inn to anyone who visits the New Forest.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived, three generations and had a fantastic time. Lovely staff who looked after us well, fabulous meat from the specials and the freshly made local ice cream is an absolute must. Atmosphere is friendly and warm and there was a love singer on the evening we went who was excellent too.....well worth a visit.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Nickjcthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We where on holiday, when we came across this quirky looking pub whilst on a country walk in the New Forest. We popped in at 11 am, and booked a table for 12.30 for when we would be returning from our walk. when we returned from our walk we entered the pub and ordered some drinks at the bar, the waitress said she would bring them over shortly.

We where escorted to our table by a very nice waitress, and prepared to get excited about our coming meal, the excitement soon cooled because we waited ages for our drinks order, but eventually after 10 minutes the waitress arrived with the drinks, and proceeded to take our food order.

My wife and I ordered the mussels, and the kid ordered fish & Chips. When the food arrived the portions where very small, the mussels being the size of almonds, overcooked, with a distinct smell of rancid fish, very poor quality indeed, didn't mind the fact that the portion was small, but the white wine sauce was tasteless, and served with a tiny slice bread. Shocking!! A decent chef would have know that the meals where poor offerings and not allowed them to be presented to the customer.

The kids picked at the fish and chips, which they said was ok, but again the portions where small, and the chips where over cooked as though they had been lying for some time and re fried.

.Anyway my wife, and I didn't eat our mains, and refused to pay for such poorly presented and badly cooked food! The service was very poor, and not particularly friendly after our initial greeting.

With food standards set so high theses days there is absolutely no need to insult the customer with such rubbish food.

We definitely won’t be coming back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, Owner at The Filly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hello
I am extremely sorry to hear about this complaint by way of this website as we take great care in dealing with all complaints when they happen. We note all problems and very if a meal is comped then this will be noted as well and bought up with the chef in charge. I actually cannot find anyone of my staff that can bring light to situation so I can only hope that maybe you have gotten us confused with another Inn.
However if this is not the case then I can assure you that the problem that you faced with your meal is not something that we have too often, all of our produce comes directly from producers via the shortest route, so freshness should be guaranteed but this does mean that we will get the biggest or best looking produce but we will get the freshest and tastiest!
As far as mussels go being over cooked is a disappointment but as far as small and having the smell of rancid fish I can also assure you that 1, they do not come in a specified size and 2, they never hang around long enough to have gone bad but as they are seafood you would expect a certain smell.
As far as portions go, if you were given a small portion of mussels then that is because you ordered a starter size and would have been charged accordingly, if you are hungry then it is always advisable to order the appropriate size meal, as far as our children's fish and chips portions go we are usually accused of giving too much and not the other way around!
Lastly I would have to also apologise for the slack level of service that you received which is as well, very unusual as even when people are not happy with their visit to us it is never that service that is called into question so I can only put this down to one of those things where sometimes nothing goes as it should. I also note that you marked the cleanliness down as a 1*, this makes your whole review smell rather fishy as well as the pub is always without fail 100% spotless.
In summery, if you were upset with any one of the above problems then I apologise again but to lay your disappointment on to all areas of our business then I believe that you are stretching the truth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We popped in for a quick lunch, just a sandwich and drink. Excellant sandwich with a well dressed salad. We went back for dinner the following evening. Great menu, food was lovely and the service very friendly and efficient. Would certainly go back when in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Paddletrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brockenhurst hotels
1.0 mi away
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
2,512 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Huntsman of Brockenhurst
The Huntsman of Brockenhurst
#10 of 31 in Brockenhurst
416 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Manor at Sway
The Manor at Sway
#2 of 9 in Sway
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Filly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Filly Inn

Address: Lymington Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Hotel Class:4 star — The Filly Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Filly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Filly Hotel Brockenhurst
The Filly Inn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing