We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The climax of the day”
Review of Rainbow Fish Bar

Rainbow Fish Bar
Ranked #10 of 58 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“The climax of the day”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spend in week here in a rented cottage and have been coming to the New Forest for about 15 years. As we are OAPs we spend most of our time cooking, however, our treat of the week is to pop along to the Rainbow Fis Bar for a round of stupendous cod and chips. This year we treated ourselves to F&C on Monday and my 94 year old Pops thought it was the best fish he'd eaten.

So enthralled with the excellent food we popped along on Wednesday for another wholesome round.

We are now contemplating a treat on Friday and maybe Saturday when we all go back home. The gentleman who served me is very friendly and has been there for almost 31 years.

The Rainbow Fish Bar is a saviour for folk like us. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beardsmore-uk, Owner at Rainbow Fish Bar, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, I remember serving you on Friday as well!!!. So glad you enjoyed your food and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area. We have been serving people for 31 years and continue to push ourselves to serve the best fish and chips around.
Regards
Alan Beardsmore, proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    25
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Popped in here for dinner one night on our holiday. Food was very quick and tasty. The man who served us was very friendly and the place had a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenBoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beardsmore-uk, Owner at Rainbow Fish Bar, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a positive review, glad everything was to your satisfaction. We try very hard to maintain our high standards.
Regards
Alan Beardsmore, proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and good price”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly team providing excellent fish and chips. Not cheap, but excellent value and consistent quality.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisMJ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beardsmore-uk, Owner at Rainbow Fish Bar, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Many thanks glad you enjoyed your food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, Cheshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Mmmmm delicious!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had fish and chips which were beautiful ,delicious fresh and hearty portions given (could be shared easily). They cost £6 and were worth it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Benitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beardsmore-uk, Owner at Rainbow Fish Bar, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review, I am glad you enjoyed your meal
Regards
Alan Beardsmore, proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I am not a fan of batter but occasionally get the craving for good old fish and chips.
This had a really thin flat crispy batter that really just provided a casing for the lovely fish inside. Friendly service and the place looked really clean.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank helenatmiramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beardsmore-uk, Owner at Rainbow Fish Bar, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review, feed back good or bad is always appreciated so we can maintain our standards or address any issues. Glad you enjoyed your fish and chips.
Alan Beardsmore
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Fish Bar also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 

Been to Rainbow Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing