We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as last time” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Snakecatcher

The Snakecatcher
Ranked #18 of 58 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had eaten here once before ant thought it was good. This time we were disappointed. We had hot stone beef, the garnish was cold and the quality of the meet not to good. The service was not too great either, so we will try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vestfolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    276
    116
    43
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good quality pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We ate at the Snakecatcher on a Friday night in early December when the pub was busy but not packed. There was a lot of choice with multiple menus, for specials, cooking on a hot stone, and 'normal', which is a bit off-putting as I thought there could be a lack of focus from trying to do too many things at once resulting in poor quality food. However, this was not the case and the food was very good. I had the hot stone tuna and my husband had hot stone steak, both with green beans and chips - you get to choose 2 sides with each. We both really enjoyed the food and the potion sizes were huge. The staff were friendly, happy to recommend which guest beer they thought my husband might like, but not over the top and did not hassle us once we had finished eating. I would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlazaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Dined here as a party of 9 and we all really enjoyed the evening. Looked after extremely well by all members of the team and the food was of a very high standard and exceptionally tasty. Hot Rocks is a great concept and those in the party who took this option all enjoyed cooking their meat and fish wish was of great quality. Thank you to the team at the Snakecatcher

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TLYON10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

After strolling through the front door, we were warmly greeted by a cheeky fellow who made me and my friend laugh.
His sense of humour was second to none and I don't visit the pub unless he's serving. There was a time that a young filly worked behind the bar , she wasn't quite so welcoming and had alot to say about irrelevant sewage. I have to say when we see our most favoured fellow behind the bar he is always working himself to the bone and carrying out additional services whether it be food orders, cutlery maintenance and bar cleaning but this never prohibits the enjoyments of getting a cold well poured pint of my favourite kronenburg. However I have recently discovered that mine and my business associate's favourite drink has now been replaced with Hieneken. Not very impressed with the change but I will still drink at the Snakecatcher in Brockenhurst as I find it spiffing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank publoverxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Needs some warmth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We had a lunch here after a long train journey where the sandwiches on the train trolley didn't do anything for our growing appetite! So we were starving when we arrived.
It was a cold wintery day so a bowl of soup and venison sausages and mash seemed perfect.
The service was 'flat' as I've seen someone say in another review.
The girl wasn't rude at all but there was no friendly smile, no chit chat you'd expect in a country pub.
The guy behind the bar looked as dull as the soup tasted.
Some people should be reminded they are in these jobs as people's people!! Chat, smile, be friendly... it really does make your customers feel like could stay a bit longer especially on a month when customers are needed.
Chef needs to understand seasoning too...our soup and bread was like prison food and I'm no salt fan. Really tasteless.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Snakecatcher also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Sway, Brockenhurst
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 

Been to The Snakecatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing