We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue S”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blacksmith's House
Ranked #6 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

What a lovely place to stay for my week's break. The room was lovely and very comfortable. Sam and Tracy were very welcoming, friendly and informative. The breakfast was absolutely amazing and provided everything you could want. I could not have chosen a better B & B and loved the home baking. Thank you so much and see you next year.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Ducking Stool. Room lovely, bright and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_skiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Ducking Stool at the Blacksmiths House and that you feel that you made the right choice in choosing to stay with us. We are pleased that we were able to make you feel comfortable during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

What a gem of a place! Without doubt the most homely, welcoming and inviting place I've ever stayed. Tracy (the owner) is amazing. On arrival we had homemade cakes and biscuits waiting, and a lovely breakfast made each morning. We really enjoyed the one large, communal breakfast table, it was a wonderful place to meet and chat with the other guests. Tracy has a huge knowledge and passion for the New Forest, and is also full of information about the local area, such as restaurants, shops etc. We felt that Tracy couldn't do enough for us. She asked us to make sandwiches for lunch each day, and invited us to use the facilites in an empty room prior to leaving for home on our last afternoon.

We will stay again without question. Tracy, if you read these reviews, a huge thank-you from us. (Gary and Aneta - the cyclists in the Cat and Fiddle room).

Room Tip: Cat and Fiddle room was delightful - very homely, and huge showerhead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_The_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

While the hospitality was great and the offer of cakes in the afternoon, the stay was extremely over priced for what was a small bedroom and very few facilities. Chose to book a B&B instead of a hotel for that personal feel but discovered on arrival that the owners and staff didn't even live in the B&B. One night we were the only people there!!! Won't use again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cremer201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A very flexable comfortable and clean Bed & Breakfast. I stayed in the single room with wash facilities available for exclusive use on the landing. Tracy and Sam were the perfect hosts providing homemade scones and pancakes for breakfast along with a selection of cheeses, hams, eggs, cereals Fruits & yogurt. Thank you Tracy and Sam for your hospitality and allowing my colleague and I to study and practice in comfort. Both Sarah and I Passed Yeaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Double rooms with on suit facilities are lovely.The single room is smaller with seperate washing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have just returned from a weekend break to the New forest. This B&B is lovely, Sam who works there is very friendly, helpful and makes lovely breakfast scones and pancakes. You're made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The rooms are clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities plus home made biscuits which are yummy! The hotel is in a great location, there are two bike hire companies near the station plus restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: We booked the Cat & Fiddle room which was on the 1st floor, the shower was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danishKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Blacksmith's House is a truly exceptional bed and breakfast. The service and hospitality are second to none. The breakfasts are delicious and you would like a full English there is a small charge. Personally I found the alternative breakfast a refreshing change and felt much better equipped for a day's cycling or walking than if I'd filled up on greasy grilled meats and eggs for breakfast.

Cat& Fiddle is an excellent room. We had a wonderful few days and would recommend this B&B to anyone. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pariate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here on a short visit to the New Forest - soon after we booked we were contacted with details of our stay, as well as food, parking, access and so on. Directions were given and easily followed, and we found afternoon tea laid out and melt-in-the-mouth home-made biscuits in our room. Our hosts could not have been friendlier, and we found the whole atmosphere to be warm and inviting. Breakfast was a lavish affair, a welcome change from the full English, and, unrequested, the owners had even gone to the trouble of finding suitable bread for my partner, who is coeliac. Our room was also cleaned so well in the morning that we think that even our flask was washed out, an extraordinary detail, but one symptomatic of the attention to detail here, Our room was comfortable and inviting, and we felt that we could, indeed, were encouraged, to come and go as we pleased. The location is ideal for getting into the Forest, and, although there is some traffic noise in the morning, this is the flip side of being in such a useful location, and it was not an issue for us. In all, this was a real find and, when we return, it will be at the very top of our list.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brockenhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
621 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thatched Cottage Hotel
Thatched Cottage Hotel
#3 of 31 in Brockenhurst
338 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor at Sway
The Manor at Sway
#2 of 9 in Sway
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Huntsman of Brockenhurst
The Huntsman of Brockenhurst
#9 of 31 in Brockenhurst
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmith's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmith's House

Address: 4 Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £58 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable warm house with modern conveniences and traditional touches.There is always something to eat - home made shortbread biscuits scone's in the dining room on arrival. Complimentary afternoon tea of scones with butter and jam, Bara Brith and biscuits available every afternoon. Breakfast is Full English Cereals Fruits Yogurts Toast and Preserves Fruit JuicesTea and Coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Blacksmith's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksmith's House Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing