We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brockenhurst's Best B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blacksmith's House
Ranked #7 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brockenhurst's Best B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at the Blacksmith's House B&B last year and found it so warm and welcoming that we booked it again this year. We were a group of six, 2 couples and 2 friends. Who come down to the New Forest for a bit of cycling and a fair bit of eating and drinking. The Blacksmith’s is ideally situated with cycle hire shops just by the train station, and pubs and restaurants within a few hundred yards. I stayed in the Ducking Stool room which is a lovely light dual aspect room with en-suite shower/wc on the first floor at the front of the property. On arrival you let yourselves in with a code to the front door, walk down the hall way to the dining room where you are greeted with Tracey's homemade treats of shortbread biscuits which are to die for, scones, cakes, pancakes, jams and marmalades. You are made to feel like it’s a home from home. In the mornings Tracey or Sam will come in and prepare breakfast for you, supplying you with Tea, coffee orange juice, Fried breakfast if you would prefer (at additional cost of £4) at time of writing this review. But we stuck to the continental breakfasts, cold meats, salmon, cheese, toast and cereals.
I hope you enjoy your stay at the Blacksmith’s House B&B as much as we do.
We are looking forwards to staying there again next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your "home from home" stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Let's hope that next time you will get better weather for your cycling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    35
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
37
115
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Ours was a large gathering of family and friends, including a barking dog. We couldn't have received a warmer welcome and a quite outstanding evening meal was provided. The rooms were perfect, breakfasts generous and the location was perfect for our needs. Absolutely no complaints - we would recommend this B&B to anyone. A thousand thank-yous.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review as we are always delighted to receive any feedback from our guests. We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the home cooked evening meal, which although we do not normally provide, were happy to do so on your special family occasion. We look forward to being able to welcome you all back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cupar
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the Blacksmith's House for one night and would have no hesitation about returning.As previous reviewers have mentioned it is within easy walking distance of the train station which was a key factor in our choice but in contrast to others we were not disturbed by train noise but in contrast had the pleasure of a car alarm sounding all night-no fault of the B&B !.A previous reviewer complained about there being only a continental breakfast.In fact you can preorder a cooked breakfast for £4 more leaving those of us who prefer a continental breakfast a lower price unlike many other places.Featuring cooked ham,cheeses,boiled eggs as well as the usual cereals etc and good coffee it is an excellent breakfast.We were well looked after by Sam at breakfast and she advised us about the local area which added to the very good information booklet in the room.Prior to our arrival we were sent a very welcoming and detailed information letter including a security code to enter on arrival.In addition there was no problem in us leaving our cases downstairs to collect in the afternoon prior to heading for the train.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt welcome. We are in a prime location for rail travel into the New Forest with Brockenhurst train station providing great links around the country giving the opportunity to leave your car at home and enjoy a car free weekend. Thank you for taking the time to post us a review and when you are next visiting the New Forest please do come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Sam was very helpful and sent us an email with everything we needed to know before we arrived. When we got there the room was really comfortable with a super shower. The location was great as you are right in the middle of Brockenhurst within a few minutes walk of pubs, restaurants (a great Indian at the opposite end of the village), tea shops etc. We also hired a tandem from near the station, which is a few minutes away and then you are a short cycle from the forest. In the morning Sam was the perfect host and served up a great continental breakfast. Would recommend this place and stay again when we're in that neck of the woods (or should I say forest).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are fortunate to be in a good location centrally based for all the local amenities and, with the local cycle hire shops, a perfect start point for cycling on the forest. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

On arriving there was no-one to greet us just a note on the door asking guests to call a number to be let in which made it feel more like a hostel.
The room was nicely fitted out but small and had only a bath (a shared shower down the corridor was offered).
Location was good for rail travellers as was close to railway line with trains running all through night and preventing a good nights sleep.
A car immediately in front of the property was broken into overnight so not sure on the safety of the area but would not park there again.
Food was all home cooked and good quality including scones and cake in the evening which was nice but English breakfast was extra and had to be pre-ordered.
Over and above all if this it was VERY expensive!! Many of the local hotels are much cheaper and offer larger rooms, better facilities and cooked breakfast.
We won't be going back.

If booking via booking.com be warned this says it's a hotel - it's not!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and sharing your feedback. On booking you chose our room with an ensuite roll top bath, a popular choice for our guests who prefer an ensuite bath to a shower. We did at your time of booking still have availability for rooms with ensuite showers if you prefer to have this rather than a bath so it is unfortunate that you chose this room. This room does however also have a shower attachment and we offer the use of a private shower room next door to this room if required in addition. We are listed as bed and breakfast accommodation but unfortunately the terminology used by the agents is outside of our control and they choose to use the word "hotel" for any accommodation type listed. I am sorry if you felt that this was misleading. We do point out our proximity to the station on the agent's website both in the description and the map as well as on our website and in our confirmation details which were sent to you prior to your stay. Our windows are double glazed and when closed block out any outside noise. These confirmation details also provide all the arrival information for guests including how to let yourselves into your room using your codelock and make yourselves at home should we not here on your arrival. We have guests that arrive at different times of the day and evening who cannot or do not want to always commit to an arrival time and being a very small business with the best will in the world we are not always able to be here to greet guests so we offer the flexibility of this option which has proven very successful to date. I was not aware of and can honestly say that we have never experienced any vehicle break ins in or around our location and so was extremely disappointed to learn that this should happen while you were staying here and so close to our business. For yours and other guests' peace of mind please be assured that we do offer off safe street parking at the rear of the property through a gate for our guests to park during their stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us for you and thank you again for taking the time to post us a review. Your comments and feedback are important to us and give us the opportunity to address any issues raised that are within our control and that we may be able to improve on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We arrived on a Sunday evening on the offchance of finding a room. Although we were told that they were actually closing the next day for refurbishment, we were told that we were welcome to stay and had a choice of rooms, being the only residents there.

We were given tea and home made biscuits on arrival and the room was very clean and comfortable. The bed in the Ducking Stool room is very soft, but we were warned about that and given the choice to change rooms (although this may not have been possible if they had been fully booked). The only downside was that it was quite noisy being next to the main road, as we had the window open because it was quite warm, although we were able to alter the radiator settings. The bed was an old genuine brass bedstead - reminded me of "Bedknobs & Broomstick

The milk was given to us in a small flask from a fridge under the stairs, which made a nice change from the usual cartons of milk you get in a lot of B&B's, and the milk stayed fresh overnight, ready for tea in the morning. There were also home made biscuits in the room.

Breakfast was a lovely buffet style with plenty to eat - fresh made pancakes and scones as well bread, cold meats, salmon, yoghurt, cereal and cheese. (Oh and Marmite apparently!)

All in all a lovely friendly B&B. The fact that they do not live on site was not a problem, as contact is possible by mobile 24/7. The front door is on a code lock, which saves having a key which can easily be lost.

Room Tip: If you like a soft bed, then the Ducking Stool room is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneI-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

After getting stranded in the New Forest a quick telephone call to Tracey secured a room for night at very short notice. The cream tea and homemade scones that welcomed us were a real unexpected treat.

The room was lovely and clean with tea making facilities, a comfy bed and a big TV. Breakfast was plentiful, and Tracey and her daughter made us feel like we were at home.

Apart from the tiny sink in the bathroom we haven't a bad word to say about the place. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Red Lion room is on the ground floor next to the main road but still relatively quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post us a review telling us how much you enjoyed your stay in the Red Lion. This room is a popular choice with our guests due to it's size and flexibility and we also note your comments about the size of the sink. We are currently considering changing this in this room and so thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the home baked products that we provide here. Our biscuits, cakes and home made baking have proved so popular with our guests that we are about to launch the sales of some of these products as a takeaway memento of their stay or a gift and these should be available shortly. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brockenhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.0 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmith's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmith's House

Property: The Blacksmith's House
Address: 4 Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable warm house with modern conveniences and traditional touches.There is always something to eat - home made shortbread biscuits scone's in the dining room on arrival. Complimentary afternoon tea of scones with butter and jam, Bara Brith and biscuits available every afternoon. Breakfast is Full English Cereals Fruits Yogurts Toast and Preserves Fruit JuicesTea and Coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Blacksmith's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksmith's House Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing