We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blacksmith's House
Ranked #6 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at this excellent B&B, on arrival we had beautiful homemade cakes and preserves laid out in the dining room, our room was lovely and cosy, we stayed in the Mary Queen of Scots room we found it very clean and comfortable just like home from home. We met Tracy at breakfast who was very welcoming breakfast was lovely a great choice of meats, cheeses smoked salmon plus plenty of ceareals and fruit, cooked breakfast is charged as extra. It was a nice touch to be able to make lunch if wanted.Tracy has a wealth of knowledge on the New Forest with lots of tips on what to see and where to go. We had a very relaxing weekend and would return and recommend to others, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for you taking the time to review the Blacksmiths House and rating your stay here as excellent. One of our aims is to make our guests to feel at home and therefore are delighted that you found your stay relaxing, welcoming and a "home from home". Thank you for your kind comments and we hope that we can welcome you back again on a future trip to the New Forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

My friend and me stayed in the heart of the New Forest in this excellent B&B. Hospitality level exceeded expectations. For a change no traditional english breakfast but bread with smoked salmon, cheese, different jams etc. Rooms are very new , well kept and whole place invites you to feel home .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post us a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality. Brockenhurst is a great base to start exploring the New Forest National Park's many cycles routes and is great for all levels and abilities. With local cycle hire shops aswell within a couple of minutes walk form us and the open forest a couple of minutes away cycling here is a great activity. We are glad that you enjoyed some of our alternative choices to the usual cooked breakfast although we do provide this if required for our guests with locally sourced ingredients. When you are next back in the UK we hope that you will visit us again for some more cycling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We really had a great time at the cosy Blacksmith's house and didn't find it difficult at all to get in by code. We liked very much sitting around the breakfasttable having wonderful conversations with other guests from other countries. We felt warmly welcome by Tracy, got lots of special hints to where to go in new forest and moreover she even asked us to take lunch from the homemade breakfeast-choice as well. We surely come back to this quiet and comfortable place.

Room Tip: You should be sort of littlebit athletic if you take the room with the bathtub: boarding is quiet h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review and we are so glad that you felt so welcome here. It was lovely to share stories with you both and if you are over from Germany again for the Beaulieu Autojumble or a visit we would love to welcome you back again. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here for the second time on 4th April and everything was wonderful. We were made to feel so welcome, our room was so comfortable and spotlessly clean. Homebaked scones and fruit bread were available all day in the dining room for snacking and there was a jar of homemade shortbread biscuits in our room. The shower in our en-suite bathroom (we stayed in the Cat & Fiddle room) was huge!

The owners are perfectly lovely and my sincerest thanks go to them for making The Blacksmith's House such a retreat.

The Blacksmith's House is ideally located for exploring the New Forest. Brockenhurst station is just up the road so is very convenient if you don't want to drive. There's a bicycle hire centre at the station.

N.B. This is a Bed & Breakfast, NOT a hotel, so if you are expecting 24 hour room service, porters and a health spa you need to look somewhere else! If, on the other hand, you are looking for a clean, comfortable, welcoming place to stay while you enjoy the New Forest, then this is the place for you. Excellent value for money.

We love it here and will visit again. We highly recommend The Blacksmith's House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pariate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post us your generous review - it was great to be able to welcome you back to the Blacksmiths House again. The Cat and Fiddle room that you stayed in is a popular choice due to it's flexibility, location within the house and it's good sized ensuite shower. We are fortunate with our location being within such close proximity of the station for our rail travellers as well as all the local amenities that the village has to offer. Although in a village location we are only 5 minutes away in all directions to the open forest, walks and cycle routes. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you for a 3rd time next year. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

In general an excellent B&B. Good location, cosy, clean and comfortable, great breakfast, fantastic that they encourage you to make sandwiches for your lunch, and lovely afternoon cakes and biscuits. The only thing that let the place down was that the ensuit in the room we stayed in (Red Lion) was tiny, hardly bigger than a toilet. And although the fact it was a wet room made it look slightly bigger, it made it pretty akward to use once someone had taken a shower. The other thing that could be considered a negative is that you had to pay extra if you wanted a cooked breakfast. However I'm not one for cooked breakfasts, and the selection of food at breakfast was good enough (cereals, youghurt, fruit, bread, scones, pancakes, salmon, ham, cheese....) I don't think many people would miss a fry up.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Although our Red Lion room is our largest room in terms of floor space it does not have our largest ensuite but does gives a fully functional wetroom and facilities making the best use of the available space. On your next visit you may prefer our Mary Queen of Scots room which has a much larger ensuite with a deep roll top bath with rubber ducks and candles for a long luxurious soak as well having as a shower attachment if preferred. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Thank you very much for your kind comments and taking the time to post us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over a birthday weekend, so really wanted somewhere special and our stay at the Blacksmiths definitely hit the mark. Well-run and very friendly, it is the little touches that make it so good. Tracy mentioned she wanted the B&B to feel like staying at a favourite Aunt’s house where you feel at home but can come and go as you please, and that is just what it felt like. Comfortable, spotlessly clean, nice furniture (a world away the bland B&B’s you often get) and lovely freshly baked biscuits, scones and cake on arrival and every day if you fancy! There was a good choice for breakfast including pancakes and the option of a cooked breakfast for a small additional charge. Situated in Brockenhust means you are in the heart of the forest and get anywhere easily. It definitely made our weekend and we would stay again and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueB647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post us such a kind review and all your comments. We are very pleased that you felt welcome and "at home" and hope that we can welcome you back again at the Blacksmiths House very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at the Blacksmith's House B&B last year and found it so warm and welcoming that we booked it again this year. We were a group of six, 2 couples and 2 friends. Who come down to the New Forest for a bit of cycling and a fair bit of eating and drinking. The Blacksmith’s is ideally situated with cycle hire shops just by the train station, and pubs and restaurants within a few hundred yards. I stayed in the Ducking Stool room which is a lovely light dual aspect room with en-suite shower/wc on the first floor at the front of the property. On arrival you let yourselves in with a code to the front door, walk down the hall way to the dining room where you are greeted with Tracey's homemade treats of shortbread biscuits which are to die for, scones, cakes, pancakes, jams and marmalades. You are made to feel like it’s a home from home. In the mornings Tracey or Sam will come in and prepare breakfast for you, supplying you with Tea, coffee orange juice, Fried breakfast if you would prefer (at additional cost of £4) at time of writing this review. But we stuck to the continental breakfasts, cold meats, salmon, cheese, toast and cereals.
I hope you enjoy your stay at the Blacksmith’s House B&B as much as we do.
We are looking forwards to staying there again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your "home from home" stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Let's hope that next time you will get better weather for your cycling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thatched Cottage Hotel
Thatched Cottage Hotel
#3 of 31 in Brockenhurst
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmith's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmith's House

Address: 4 Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable warm house with modern conveniences and traditional touches.There is always something to eat - home made shortbread biscuits scone's in the dining room on arrival. Complimentary afternoon tea of scones with butter and jam, Bara Brith and biscuits available every afternoon. Breakfast is Full English Cereals Fruits Yogurts Toast and Preserves Fruit JuicesTea and Coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Blacksmith's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksmith's House Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing