We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blacksmith's House
Ranked #6 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place at affordable price”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights in smallest room.
Very affordable. 2 min from train station.
Close to pubs and bike rental places.
Very welcoming atmosphere at the table during breakfast.
Will come back here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    37
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
37
122
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at the Blacksmith's House in March this year. The lady who greeted us was lovely and let us in to the room early so we could head out on our bikes. The rooms are quite sparse and could do with a good clean (the drinking glasses were dirty and the carpet was quite grubby) and for the price I expected some "home comforts". There were no shower gels, soaps or shampoos provided but the shortbread was a nice treat! The best thing about this B&B was the breakfast which was excellent. We visit Brockenhurst quite regularly but will probably not return to this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BikeExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here on way to Isle of Wight on 12 August 2012. The rooms are clean and individual you feel at home here. The freshly baked afternoon tea was much appreciated. This has a personal touch about it your welcome note is addressed to you by first name and this makes it feel like they care about you.Coffee, tea etc in the rooms is not pre packed sachets but branded the coffee was Nescafe Gold Blend sugar in a jar and milk is freshed stored in a flask in the residents fridge. I would recommend The Blacksmiths House and will use it again when in the area. Thank you Sam for looking after us at breakfast.

Room Tip: The Red Lion Room is very roomy and not at all noisy from passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 642Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed here last year with my girlfriend for two nights and it was just not us. On arriving in the afternoon we found the house empty with a note. Our room was not that big for the price but it was clean and the bathroom was spacious.

Breakfast is at a big table which is shared with the guests for the price I do feel it should include a cooked breakfast which is a supplement. However there is a large choice of cheese, meats and bread which you can also use to make up a lunch.

The location is useful as it is near the train station, there is parking at the back but it limited.

For myself in the end I think it is only average because I had high hopes because of the price, I did not at all have a terrible time just underwhelmed. I can however understand why people enjoy it, just not for me.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

As a solo female traveler it is always a worry when staying somewhere new for the first time. I was pleasantly surprised. Small single room but with double bed. home made shortbread in the room. Very relaxed atmosphere and the home made cakes etc in the dinning room def added a few pounds. i have never experienced communal dining before and usually like to keep myself to myself but I found it really nice to talk to the other guests over breakfast and will def re-visit this hotel again when next working in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms have a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REBEKAH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great stay. Was welcomed by tea & home made biscuits in room. Room was homely, clean & very comfortable, with nice ensuite bathroom. Staff make you feel very welcome. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Ducking stool room, recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings uk
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at this excellent B&B, on arrival we had beautiful homemade cakes and preserves laid out in the dining room, our room was lovely and cosy, we stayed in the Mary Queen of Scots room we found it very clean and comfortable just like home from home. We met Tracy at breakfast who was very welcoming breakfast was lovely a great choice of meats, cheeses smoked salmon plus plenty of ceareals and fruit, cooked breakfast is charged as extra. It was a nice touch to be able to make lunch if wanted.Tracy has a wealth of knowledge on the New Forest with lots of tips on what to see and where to go. We had a very relaxing weekend and would return and recommend to others, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for you taking the time to review the Blacksmiths House and rating your stay here as excellent. One of our aims is to make our guests to feel at home and therefore are delighted that you found your stay relaxing, welcoming and a "home from home". Thank you for your kind comments and we hope that we can welcome you back again on a future trip to the New Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brockenhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meerut
Meerut
#2 of 31 in Brockenhurst
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmith's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmith's House

Property: The Blacksmith's House
Address: 4 Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable warm house with modern conveniences and traditional touches.There is always something to eat - home made shortbread biscuits scone's in the dining room on arrival. Complimentary afternoon tea of scones with butter and jam, Bara Brith and biscuits available every afternoon. Breakfast is Full English Cereals Fruits Yogurts Toast and Preserves Fruit JuicesTea and Coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Blacksmith's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksmith's House Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing