We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blacksmith's House
Ranked #6 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I found this b&b to be very homely and welcoming and would recommend it to anyone. On arrival there was plenty of scones, tea and coffee to help yourself with which I found to be a nice touch.
You couldn't beat the location as you have the local forest pubs on your doorstep with a Chinese restaurant a stones throw away..
A great little b&b which provides a very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Blacksmiths House is a great base to enjoy the New Forest National Park and all that Brockenhurst has to offer. Great pubs and restaurants, fantastic walking and cycling all within easy access. I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    35
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
37
115
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Good BnB overall. We were there weekend of 22nd.

The BnB is clean and well kept. Tracey cooked us lovely breakfast and was able to provide good guidance on stuff to do in Brock. Biking through the forest is a must.

Good location - very close to Train Station and Bike Hire.

The Pub next door is fine too but explore the area to suit your needs.

Room Tip: Pick the Ducking Stool - its spacious yet cosy and good value for money (if you dont want a bath)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachyGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
I am so very glad you enjoyed your weekend in the New Forest and found the information helpful and especially pleased you enjoyed the Blacksmiths House. I hope we will see you again.
Have a look at our winter prices. January and February can be spectacular in the New Forest and the Blacksmiths House offers a warm welcome at a very good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed in the Red Lion room for two nights as we were attending a wedding in Brockenhurst. Our welcome letter received just after booking provided a doorcode which meant we were able to get to our room and make ourselves comfortable at our leisure upon arrival.

The room was comfortable and has an ensuite wet room. Tea, coffee and homemade biscuits were provided and we also made the most of the complementary afternoon tea, including amazing home made scones!

Nimrod was our host and scone-maker that weekend and made sure we had everything we needed. A cooked breakfast costs an additional £4 but the locally sourced buffet breakfast including fruit, yoghurt, toast, cheese and meat was fresh and filling. Breakfast is served at a large farmhouse style table where you can swap stories with other guests and the host, or read a paper and keep your thoughts to yourself.

A fridge is provided in the hallway for guest use and contains spare flasks of milk. An iron is also available and towels are changed daily.

Some previous reviewers have commented that they consider the cost of the rooms to be high, but when looking for a B&B in Brockenhurst, I found the Blacksmith's to be excellent value by comparison. It's also very central and only a short walk from local pubs and the rail station.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireabelleBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you were ab le to take advantage of all we have to offer and were comfortable with the freedom and homely atmosphere of the Blacksmiths House.
During December I am adding Home made mince pies with biscuit pastry and stilton to the tea table for guests to enjoy on arrival and during their stay.
Please make sure you take advantage of our word of mouth offer of 10% off bookings made through our website for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

You more or less look after your self at The Blacksmith's House. It was all very clean and homely, afternoon tea with home baked cakes to help yourself to. A very generous breakfast served by a friendly lady named Sam, not sure if she is the owner. For one night it was ideal for us. It is very central to places to eat, Pubs, local shops and the train station. For the price we thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMary6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will take advantage of our word of mouth offer of 10% off all rooms booked through our website for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed in smallest room. Bed comfortable but room featured shabby secondhand wardrobe and couldn't find remote to operate TV. Shower is combined with toilet on landing so too small to be usable and all not en-suite. Breakfast excellent but taken at long table "school style" so necessitated small talk with other guests. Staff friendly but owner rather bossy. Fairly expensive and not really value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Manager at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post us a review on your stay at the Blacksmiths House Bed & Breakfast. The Cat room , our single occupancy room has a 4’ bed, comfortable but is not huge. This room is not ensuite as pointed out on our website, in our advertising and in our confirmation, this information being available to you before booking this room. Although not ensuite, It does, of course, have it's own small private shower room next door to the room.

With regard to price I have, as a result of your comments, reviewed the cost of our rooms. Firstly I was surprised that there are very few single rooms available in the New Forest area. I was pleased to find that we are competitive compared to other bed & breakfast establishments in the area.

Our facilities are comfortable, more like staying with a favourite aunt who makes a great tea and puts home made biscuits in every room than a designer hotel. Our communal breakfast table enables guests to share breakfast with other interesting guests, who often exchange holiday stories and suggest places to visit.

Kind regards and thank you again for taking the time to post your comments
Tracy Thew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Our recent stay was very dissappointing. I booked the Cat Room for our friend, only to find out that the bathroom that she was going to use as an ensuite, can be used by people staying in the Mary Queen of Scots Room as well. Not good when our friend was charged £60.00 per night for single occupancy. No sign of owner, it makes a difference to be greeted by the person who ownes the B&B. Rooms are small. Also shabby wardrobe in Cat Room awaiting renevation should be renevated first and then put into bedroom, this made the room look dirty. Breakfast very disappointing, extra charge of £4.00 per person for cooked breakfast which is not stated on the website, choice of cereals, well 3 actually, flaky oats, rice krispies and some other cereal not very satisfying. Cold hard boiled eggs, two choices of fruit, bowl of grapefriut and bowl of dried fruit does not wet the appetite, and no breakfast scones, left us a little hungry when we left for our day out. Also communal dinning does not suit all people, atmosphere a little awkward. Prefer individual tables for eating at, and a word of two to other guest if you choose too is better passed this way. No I am not a grumpy old person, but someone who likes a little comfort when being taken away for a week end. Not with this B&B.

Room Tip: Do not book Cat Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell me personally your feelings about your stay at the Blacksmiths House Bed & Breakfast.

Firstly I am pleased that you read the letter of confirmation as I feel it is so important that guests are fully aware of the accommodation and facilities before they arrive. I charge for a cooked breakfast to encourage guest to try our alternative as I think the home cooked, hand-carved ham, hard boiled eggs and tomatoes provide a good substitute for most people. Those who do book a cooked breakfast do get a good deal as they also have the benefit of all that is on the table

The breakfast selection of cereals is my choice. I disapprove of packaging, seeing it as environmentally un-friendly. Economically the little packets are a disaster as you always end up throwing away so many of the same one . My stewed fruit is indeed not "run of the mill" as it includes dried apple, peaches, prunes, apricots, nectarines, apricots and plums which probably don't look to appealing if you are not accustomed to country foods. The conventional grapefruit segments are my concession to conventional Bed & Breakfast breakfast. The yogurts are the ones I like, the cheeses are processed and do look similar but are in fact Edam or Cheddar and Emmental. There are also two sliced german salami's, smoked salmon, hard-boiled eggs, fresh tomatoes and hand-carved home cooked ham along with freshly made pancakes, there is not always time to get the scone on the table for breakfast but there is usually homemade bread and always sliced white and brown bread for guests to make toast.

We encourage guests, walking or cycling, to make sandwiches from what is on the breakfast table and of course the afternoon tea; scone, Bara Brith, & home made biscuits are always available for guests to help themselves during their stay; so I am surprised that you did not enjoy your breakfast or feel satisfied with what there was to eat.

The Cat room is a single room with a 4' bed, comfortable but not huge. The toilet and shower are available to guests in the Mary Queen of Scots room, which only has a bath, if the Cat room is not occupied. As you booked both rooms it was not considered necessary to restrict your use of this option. The furniture in the house is of no great value but many pieces have significant family meaning. The 1950's gentleman's wardrobe in the Cat is a lovely piece and will in time be renovated.

With regard to price I have, as a result of your comments, reviewed the cost of our rooms. Firstly I was surprised that there are very few single rooms available in the New Forest area. I was pleased to find that we are competitive compared to other bed & breakfast establishments in the area. Our facilities are comfortable, if not designer, more like staying with a favorite aunt who makes a great tea and puts home made biscuits in every room; gives you the opportunity to share the family breakfast with other interesting guests, who often exchange holiday stories and suggest places to visit.

Staying in hotels where there is someone there to meet every guest, abundant staff, designer rooms and cereal in individual packets is almost always reflected in the price they are prepared to pay for their accommodation may be more suited to some people.

I appreciate your decision not to stay with us again or recommend us to similar people
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Lovely accommodation. Close to the train station and shops. Our host was friendly and very accommodating. Will definitely recommend it to others who will be visiting the area. The town offers bike hire at the train station and some cosy coffee shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brockenhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.0 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmith's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmith's House

Property: The Blacksmith's House
Address: 4 Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable warm house with modern conveniences and traditional touches.There is always something to eat - home made shortbread biscuits scone's in the dining room on arrival. Complimentary afternoon tea of scones with butter and jam, Bara Brith and biscuits available every afternoon. Breakfast is Full English Cereals Fruits Yogurts Toast and Preserves Fruit JuicesTea and Coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Blacksmith's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksmith's House Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing