We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blacksmith's House
Ranked #6 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We have just spent 3 nights here with our dog and will definitely go back again. We liked the fact that you could let yourself in and make your self at home without someone looking over your shoulder. We had no problems during our stay, a lovely breakfast was set out for us by Tracy the next morning again we were made to feel at home and didn't feel like we were paying guests more like extended family. The rooms have everything you need and are comfortable and homely a really nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

I really enjoy having you to stay. I think B&B should be special and the home-made cakes, bread and biscuits seem to be winning me guests who like to be looked after. It's a bit like staying with an aunt where you have the freedom to come and go and the comfort and convenience of something nice to eat whenever you want it without fuss or bother.
The location is good with so many good eating places on hand, the staition a short walk and the forest just around the corner.
Come and see me again soon and remember to use your word of mouth discount when you book through our website.
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed here just before Christmas (2012), whilst on a weekend's cycling round the New Forest; the rooms were well appointed, hospitality first-class (with special notice for the home-made scones) and there were no issues with muddy cycling kit. One minor grumble, the heating came on a little late for winter. Happily recommend and return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Delighted you enjoyed the scones they are amazingly tasty when your get back from a days cycling.
I have addressed the heating and we now have it on earlier in the afternoon and warmer during the day.
IWhen you book again remember to use your word of mouth discount which is available to you , your friends and family when the booking is made through our website. We also have a great offer until the end of April Add a Monday to your stay for only £30.00prpn again this applies when you book through our website.
I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed one night to attend a wedding nearby. It was a lovely comfortable place to stay. Good value, welcoming, clean and comfortable. Everything as advertised.
Amazing home baking from the biscuits in the room to the scones left out for a late night nibble on our return. Breakfast was very good also with delicious home baking.
I would recommend this B&B. V close and convenient to Careys manor spa hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stroma72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

It was good to have you to stay. The baking will always be here so come back and see me again soon.
Remember to pass on the word of mouth discount to family and friends when they book through my own website and remember to use it yourself soon.
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed two nights at the Blacksmith's House and had a wonderful time. Tracy makes every effort to make sure that you're well looked after and the rooms are cosy and homely. The B&B is five minutes from the station so it's a great car-free weekend away from London- we did just that and had a lovely couple of days walking in the New Forest. Thank you very much! We will come again!

Room Tip: We loved the 'ducking stool' room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noemi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Nice people are easy to look after. Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased you enjoyed the Blacksmiths House it is a comfortable home and makes for a great escape from London. The train just gives you enough time to unwind. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Please remember to use your discount for returning guests who book through our website. This discount also applies to your friends and family if they book through the website.
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

As new parents, we've not travelled too much with our baby yet but The Blacksmiths House could not have been more accomodating and, as a result, we had a great relaxing stay.

We chose the property for a couple of nights since it offered family sized rooms, enabling us to bring along a travel cot and all the paraphernalia that comes with a baby. The availability of a guest's fridge was also important for us for baby's food.

A lovely touch to arrive to have afternoon tea laid out waiting for you and quite the best shortbread you'll ever eat in your room! Tracy, the owner is such a wealth of knowledge about the New Forest that you can't fail to make the most of your stay, even if you're new to the area.

This super B&B is perfectly located with village amenities and eateries on tap - we tried a great pub next door and an excellent Indian restaurant, both just a few steps away. It's very much a home from home with a nicely laid back approach - just what we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

It was a great pleasure to have you to stay. Im always pleased when guests enjoy the area and get so much out of it. I do hope that you will come and stay again soon. remember to use your 10% discount when you book through our website as a returning guest. I have also just put a new offer on the web. Add a Monday to your stay for only £15.00 pp Offer applies to bookings from 1st Feb to 30th April 2013. Booking must be part of a 2 night stay.
I hope to see you soon
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We only stayed here for one night but we will definitely return again!! We had a lovely room for the night with a roll top bath. The owner went out of her way to make home made biscuits which I thought was a lovely touch. We woke up to a wonderful continental breakfast with homemade bread and pancakes. Lovey!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greteln1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay. There will always be home-made cakes and biscuits so come and stay again soon. Thank you for the review its so important to have recent reviews. Remember when you book to use your 10% discount for returning guests when booking through our website.
I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for night. Room was spacious, code lock to the house was a great idea. Host was very helpful and friendly. Location is awesome and loads of restaurants around. Parking available and continental breakfast was plenty. Cooked breakfast cost 4 pounds and needs to be told to the owner with 24 hour notice which we forgot. Lovely cosy rooms and would recommend this to all travellers. Please book through their own website. Loved it and would be back again. Baked biscuits and cakes top the list!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akshay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased you found the code lock a good idea it works well. I try to make sure guests feel at home with the freedom you would have at home. Biscuits and cake are a bonus for most guests ,so glad you enjoyed them. Remember to use your 10% discount when you book through our website for your next visit.
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brockenhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
621 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thatched Cottage Hotel
Thatched Cottage Hotel
#3 of 31 in Brockenhurst
338 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor at Sway
The Manor at Sway
#2 of 9 in Sway
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Huntsman of Brockenhurst
The Huntsman of Brockenhurst
#9 of 31 in Brockenhurst
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmith's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmith's House

Address: 4 Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable warm house with modern conveniences and traditional touches.There is always something to eat - home made shortbread biscuits scone's in the dining room on arrival. Complimentary afternoon tea of scones with butter and jam, Bara Brith and biscuits available every afternoon. Breakfast is Full English Cereals Fruits Yogurts Toast and Preserves Fruit JuicesTea and Coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Blacksmith's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksmith's House Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing