We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blacksmith's House
Nearby Hotels
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
US$339
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$349
US$325
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
US$210
US$204
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$184
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhinefield House Hotel(Brockenhurst)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
181
41
10
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
41
10
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsducking stoolhome made cakessconestrain stationb bcooked breakfastmary queen of scotsafternoon teahome from homenew forestfresh milksingle roomdefinitely stay here againexcellent showera lovely place to staylast minute bookinga stones throw
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Blacksmith's house is in a really convenient location near Brockenhurst station. It's spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated with antique furnishings and prints. Really comfortable beds, a great breakfast (love the pancakes and the home-cooked ham), generous helpings of afternoon cake and scones and a fantastic host in Tracy. Nothing is too much trouble for her.... I stayed there with my elderly parents and she really worked hard to ensure we had a great stay, including moving their room downstairs to better accommodate their mobility needs. She was really helpful, and friendly. Great suggestions for outings too. I would definitely stay here again. Great value for money and a really nice home from home feel.

Room Tip: The Mary Queen of Scots bedroom has a lovely ensuite bathroom with a huge clawfoot bath. Very comfortable for a long, luxurious soak.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your review
Its easy to look after nice people and I am really glad your parents enjoyed their holiday in the New Forest. Your dad sent me a beautiful thank you.
I look forward to seeing them again.
kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked late, was arriving late & leaving early so wasn't expecting to find such a great b&b. let yourself in, make yourself at home, fresh home baked cakes, scones & preserves in the dining room & home made shortbread in my room. nothing could have made my stay better than perhaps another few nights!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

I hope you will book another few nights soon.
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights during March to go cycling in the New Forest with my brother. The room was great and just what we needed...little touches which make a difference like a afternoon tea when you arrive, torch and some homemade biscuits. Just across the road from the railway station so really convenient. Tracey the owner is lovely and cooks great homemade food. Really close to a number of restaurants for the evening and easy access to the forest for walking and cycling or larger city of Southampton if so desired. Had a great time here and will certainly stay again when the opportunity arises. I can thoroughly recommend it to anybody.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank andersmagraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your review and I look forward to seeing you again
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A truly lovely B&B with a difference, ideally located in Brockenhurst. A warm welcome awaits all guests in the form of complimentary homemade cakes and biscuits. We had a lovely relaxing break here and would happily recommend it to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Queen of Scots room as it had a bath rather than a shower but all the rooms are laid out with character and thoughtfulness.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HC126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in the 'Cat and Fiddle' room, with a comfy double bed and a single bed, large telly and powerful shower. Clean, attractively furnished and welcoming, the B & B is right in the middle of Brockenhurst and very close to the train station. When we arrived, there was a free home-baked high tea waiting for us: bara brith cake, scones and shortbread biscuits, with butter, jams, nutella, everything really!

Breakfast was 2 types of home-made bread, eggs laid from the owner's hens, freshly made drop scones from the Aga, plus traditional scones, smoked salmon, cold meats (including a home smoked) ham, fresh and stewed fruit, cereal, yoghurt. You are even encouraged to make up some sandwiches - for free - for your lunch! And there are spare shortbread biscuits in your room. We left happy and well fed. This isn't a Bed and Breakfast, so much as a High Tea-Bed-Breakfast-and-Lunch!

Room Tip: Some rooms have softer mattresses; check when booking.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrRobertsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksmithshouse, Owner at The Blacksmith's House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

I am so pleased you enjoyed the home baking I do enjoy cooking on the aga. It just makes things taste that much better.
I hope that you will come and stay again
Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews