We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing find in the heart of the New Forest.”
Review of Little Heathers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Heathers
Ranked #4 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An amazing find in the heart of the New Forest.”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I booked Little Heathers at 5pm on the day we were due to arrive. My husband and I were going to a wedding in Poole the following day and at the last minute decided to book somewhere closer the night before to break up the drive.

Maria was so accommodating. We didn't arrive until almost 9pm but were greeted like old friends. It was such a warm welcome.
We were shown to our spacious room which had all the comforts of home.
Breakfast next morning was delicious. Homemade bread and marmalade, eggs from her own chickens, and local sausages.
Maria was also keen to make sure we didn't want seconds as she knew we had a long day ahead.

This b&b is really a home from home and if we are ever lucky enough to be in the New Forest again we will definitely be staying in Little Heathers.
A warmer welcome you won't find anywhere.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPudner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
139
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We visited Maria and John at Little Heathers in June 2010. We have twin boys aged 4 years - it was difficult to find anywhere in the New Forest that would cater for children under 5. We need not have worried about our choice of destination. Maria welcomed us all and was just brilliant. She showed us to our spotlessly clean room with its own en suite shower/toilet/wash basin and also had access to the rear garden. There was a swing set in the garden that she said the boys were welcome to use, and have the run of the garden area. The boys had a fabulous time. Especially when they saw the chickens living in an area on the front driveway. Breakfast each morning could not be faulted. So much choice and plenty for the children. I need not have packed so much cereal just in case they wouldn't have their favourites! There was prepared fruit, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast (with eggs from Maria's chickens and sausages produced locally), cereals, toast, yoghurts and tea/coffee and even warm milk in the evenings for the boys. Maria and John have a wonderful little business at Little Heathers. And Maria is incredibly helpful with advice on dining, walks through the New Forest and directions to just about anywhere! Would recommend to anyone wanting to visit the New Forest with youngsters.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyBeckenham_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Maria, our hostess, was brilliant. We were welcomed in and shown to our spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. The place was spotlessly clean and had all the things you would need such as an ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv etc. Throughout the weekend, Maria went out of her way to recommend walks, activities, restaurants and pubs. They also provided torches for us to get to and from the local pub and Maria's husband very kindly dropped us off in Brockenhurst on one of the evenings. The Breakfasts were hearty and huge with local fresh produce being used, including fresh fruit and eggs from Maria's chickens.

A great stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeelgoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at the Little Heathers B & B in Brockenhurst. Maria, the hostess, provided a wonderful service from the time we arrived to when we left 2 days later. On arrival we were shown to our comfortable, clean room which included tea and coffee making facilities (including green tea) and biscuits. Once Maria found out we were looking to hike in the area she provided 2 walks which started from the B & B. She also ensured that we had a reservation for dinner at the best local pub the Foresters Arms. Due to the B & B being a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre, when leaving Maria also offered to give us a ride to the station, however we declined due to it being a pleasant walk great to spotting local wildlife such as New Forest ponies, highland cattle and donkeys.

Breakfast each morning was a friendly affair with the other guest and included freshly prepared seasonal fruit to start, a variety of cereals, preserves as well as full english breakfast cooked to order.

Overall, Brockenhurst was a wonderful little village which is well serviced by a direct train line from London only 1.5 hours away. The New Forest is a fantastic area for outdoor pursuits including hiking and cycling. We were sad to leave and would have no hesitation to recommend the area and Little Heathers B & B to fellow travellers and Londoners wishing to escape the rat race for the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwi-chick79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
1.1 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,616 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,177 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Heathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Heathers

Property: Little Heathers
Address: 13 Whitemoor Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Heathers is a 'little gem' in the heart of the New Forest National Park. Close to the village centre and local railway station, it provides an excellent base for those who love walking (open moor land leading to the forest is nearby), cycling (the village is well-served by cycle hire businesses) and horse-riding (stables are a few hundred yards away). Our spacious bungalow provides two bed & breakfast bedrooms which can be made up as twins or doubles. Each has en-suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee makings with one of the bedrooms having its own private patio leading onto the rear garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Heathers Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing