We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOW CLOSED”

Forest Park Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a hacking centre located right in the heart of Brockenhurst, in the New Forest National Park. We house 15 horses and ponies of varying height and breed, there is something suitable for everyone! We offer direct forest access and welcoming, friendly staff. We are one of few hacking centres that can offer cantering for the experienced riders, as well as walk and trot rides for any ability of rider. Please visit our website for full details and to have a peek at the gallery!
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“NOW CLOSED”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Forest Park Riding Stables have Closed and all horses have been transferred to Burley Manor Riding Stabes at Burley near Ringwood or elsewhere

Burley Manor Stables (the other half of the business continues to offer riding on the forest and Sharon and her staff would be pleased to see you there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kevAKAhamsterfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    3
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My friend and I rang up the business to organise an hour hack, payment was made by card over the phone and off we went to the stables the next day. We walked over half a mile due to lack of a car, got to the location of the stables to find it had been knocked down and was just rubble. My friend proceeded to call them up and find out what was going on, the stables mentioned that they were no longer in that location and had moved to Beaulie (7 miles away). Of course without a car or any other transport but our feet, we said it couldn't make it to the ride and that we would like our money back. Seeing as there was no word from them that they had moved, not mentioned via the previous phone call, OR on their website. The best they said they could offer us was that we write a letter and that we MAY receive a cheque refund.
Avoid this place at all cost, if they are too lazy to even update their site saying they are no longer at the original location, it is not worth spending your money on them.
Very very disappointed, and having worked with horses and on stables for more than 15 years, I expect much better service from them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Phillipa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This attraction no longer exists”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I live near to this site and passed it daily. The standard of hygiene seemed to be very poor and the leaders of the rides were very rude on the road. The stables have now closed and a local builder has bought the site and is building houses there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank HilaryT221111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dull, bored staff, bored horses - GO ELSEWHERE!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Monosyllabic teenagers running the show. Despite being promised one walker for each child, this was not the case. Our third child was separated from the rest of her family, by Emily who spent virtually the entire time on her mobile phone, hardly fun for a nine year old.
The hack was mostly walking past allotments - with all that glorious countryside around!
The horses were old, bored and non-responsive
Given the choice again, I would go elsewhere, were the staff were a little more engaging and enthusiastic about their work, it could have made all the difference.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great fun”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My daughters and I thoroughly enjoyed the one hour hack, it was great that people more experienced had the chance to trot and canter but the less experienced could happily plod along. We all had a great time and would recommend it to anyone who loves horses. Thanks so much to the team x

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerryholliwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forest Park Riding Stables also viewed

 

Been to Forest Park Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing