We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Country Pub”
Review of Rose and Crown - CLOSED

Rose and Crown
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Traditional Country Pub”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It is a bulk standard pub but the food was pretty good. I had vegetable lasagne which came with garlic bread and a salad garnish. I have to agree with a previous reviewer the portion sizes aren't massive so if you have a big appetite you might feel disappointed but it was good quality produce. The service at the bar, wasn't particularly great but the waitress was friendly, polite and asked us if our meals were ok and they were very good. There is a nice outdoor area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    125
    51
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Susdsex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small portions and rip off drinks”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to eat here. The food was good but potions small. I asked for a full bodied wine and was offered a Rioja. Instead of giving me a choice I was offered the most expensive. It was only when I returned and questioned the price as being different to the menu was i told there were different options.

Helpful?
Thank Cultured_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We eat several times in pub as stayed for a week.Every meal was good ,especially the trout and the Sunday carvery.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swills503903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Good old pub grub, pleasant pub and nice garden area, check the specials board for something a bit different and from the Forest. Good value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful restaurant”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Had a really good meal in peaceful surroundings. Very good service. Had had experience of noisy restaurants in other parts of the town, so enjoyed this one!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eileen181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

 
Sway, Brockenhurst
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing