We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ducklings Forest Hideaways”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Private sunny garden surrounded by mature trees
Spacious king-size master bedroom with built in wardrobes
Roomy twin bedroom with built in wardrobe
Modern shower room
Ponies roam the forest freely 200 metres away
cyclists enjoying the marked trails
fabulous autumn colours in the forest 200 metres away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alisonjs2...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ducklings Forest Hideaways”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This little house exdeeded our expectations.. Smart and comfortable accommodation with its own garden within walking distance of the pretty village of Sway which has character, little shops and a pub for eating out. It is also within walking distance of the forest and easy to drive form here to several lovely places including Lyndhurst, Brockenhurst and the coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect house in a super location”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

When I saw the previous reviews of this property I thought it can't possibly be as perfect as that. But it really is superb.The location is perfect - forest 2 minutes away in one direction, with the lovely village of Sway with its butchers, grocers, coffee shop &deli and the fabulous Hare and Hounds where food is delicious 5 minutes in the opposite direction. However the real strength of this rental is the way the property is presented and the quality of the fixtures and fittings which made our stay so special. Beautiful roman blinds, natural flooring, interesting lighting - the house has been put together with love and an attention to detail that shows.
Lovely outdoor eating area and a garden which is a complete sun trap. This is quite simply the best house we have rented in The New Forest and we will be back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papyrus47...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I felt really happy about Ducklings from the correspondence I had with the owners and from the moment I opened the front door I knew it was a very special "find". The cottage is warm and welcoming, superbly equipped, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Sorry for all the adjectives but it really is superlative. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The peace and quiet and the clean air, the wonderful walks and just pottering around the villages - not to mention Setley Ridge Farm Shop and cafe and the wild and windy walks along the clifftop at Milford on Sea.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdenning2...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ducklings is an exceptionally well equipped and presented cottage with a lovely enclosed garden. The photos on the website are representative of the cottage. Good quality bedding and towels are provided.
Sway is a good location from which to explore the New Forest and there are some good places to eat in the area.
Would definitely return to Ducklings in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june_baby...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lived up to the good reviews”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We enjoyed our stay in this well equipped, well located and comfortable cottage. The photos and descriptions are a good representation of the real thing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPWarner
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top quality accommodation in excellent location”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our first trip to the New Forest. If you like contemporary immaculate surroundings with comfort then Ducklings is the place. We enjoyed having a garden as well. Lisa was very welcoming and informative but we felt we had complete privacy during our break. We found Ducklings brilliantly placed to visit areas we wanted to go to in the south without have to crawl through Brockenhurst and Lyndhurst each day but were pleasantly surprised how easy it was to reach anywhere in the whole of the New Forest. Highlights - Beaulieu Motor Museum, Lymington on the coast and don't miss a walk on the beach at Steamer Point and the deer Sanctuary at Bolderwood.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flow of the open plan space downstairs
Liked least: we did have some problems keeping wi-fi/internet access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cher18646...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in New Forest”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautifully kept cottage style house in new forest.
Well kept and immaculately clean with everything you needed. A few little extras like a bottle of wine, fairy liquid which were much appreciated.
Lovely quiet village, central for visiting various areas of new forest.
Enjoyed a day in Beaulieu and Bucklers hard. Not too far from Poole, Bournemouth or the coast.
Hope to return one day for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and cleanliness
Liked least: Wi fi connection poor upstairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing