We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star hotel in central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“3 star hotel in central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a 2 night stay deal via Groupon, and had a good time. Staff friendly and helpful, room adequate and clean and comfortable. We had a cream tea on arrival and dinner on both nights. Food good, but do NOT order the mushroom risotto, it was plain rice swimming in a white sauce with a few lost mushrooms in there, yuk.
It is really central, opposite the fields where the horses roam, about a 100 yards from the village centre. Great large garden, where our dog could roam, but no one seems to empty the dog litter bin, it was overflowing when we were there, with lots of full little bags on the ground around the bin.

Room Tip: It is very quiet there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookworm48London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your time to comment on your stay with us in March. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the local area. It is always lovely to hear the positive comments in relation to the hard work and efforts that all the staff put in to the hotel being as friendly and welcoming as possible. I am sorry about letting both yourself and the hotel down with your Mushroom Stroganoff, I am sure that was just a one off if it was light on Mushrooms, the main item of the dish! Thank you again and I hope we can have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    190
    109
    75
    79
See reviews for
129
279
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a Groupon offer. Our original room was too warm so we moved to another room for the second night. Both rooms were comfortable - the second having lovely views over the rear garden. The included dinner on the first night was better than we expected. Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly and helpful and there was no problem with moving rooms. It's clear that the hotel is undergoing a gradual refurbishment but this didn't interfere with our stay. We would certainly consider returning.

Room Tip: Go for one with a decent view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbieRayleigh_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you very much for your comments following your stay with us recently. I is lovely to hear such positive comments in relation to the work we are all putting into the hotel to do our best to improve as much as we can with the resources available to us. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very traditional Englsih hotel a little tired but comfortable. Staff very friendly. The food however was stuck in the 70's with prawn cocktail and fan of melon on a very uninspiring menu.
White wine arrived at the table unchilled and waitress had to find bucket and ice to chill it at the table. Poched egg not cooked and served on warm bread at breakfast although my friends full english looked a lot better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your time to comment on your recent stay. It is great to hear you found the hotel to be comfortable for you during your stay and that you found the staff to be very friendly. We have a very good team who work very hard to all we can to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay. I am sorry you felt the food was dated, we like to think we offer a good selection of dishes to suit as many tastes as possible and as much as some dishes are traditionally older they do prove popular so we are not sure removing them or changing them would be the best option. I apologise if your breakfast egg was not cooked, this could have been very easy to rectify at the time and I am sorry this did not happen for you. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

One nights stay here was enough, Room still being cleaned on arrival ,not a problem until we went to room which was dirty and dated, Didnt have to look for dust it was all there on the bedside tables , thick enough to write my name in. Bathroom dirty and very worn. Lovely setting , friendly staff ,food good . There is no excuse for unclean rooms . Stayed the 14th April 2012

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us recently. I am sorry if we left the room dusty for your arrival, I can only imagine any dust was missed if we chased for the bedroom to be ready early on your arrival maybe. We generally get all arrival rooms ready in time for checkin from 2pm, however, if guests arrive early we will certainly try our best to see if the room is ready or to find out how long it will be and I hope that although not right, any cleaning issues here were due to us chasing for an early arrival. I am very pleased you enjoyed our location and food and found the staff to be friendly, we do try very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable time with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brockenhurst hotels

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Got this on a groupon so it was good value , first trip into new forest and found the hotel to be ideally placed , very friendly and a good breakfast.

Dinner included on 1st night , not amazing but had a kind of 70's charm.

Look past the weariness of the hotel and embrace the position / staff .

Would visit again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brasero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us recently. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed yourselves and would like to return. There is certainly enough to see and do within the New Forest to fill many visits! We all look forward to welcoming you back the next time for what I am sure will be another relaxing and enjoyable stay. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Fantastic location in beautiful Brockenhurst, great for a weekend getaway. It's a no-frills hotel, and somewhat a blast from the past. It needs a good lick of paint and some TLC. The rooms are a little tired, dinner was adequate but unimaginative, and breakfast was average.
It's not a luxury retreat, but it's a way to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your time and comments following your stay with us last month. Like you say, we are not a luxury hotel and therefore offer facilities that suit our country hotel status, all the staff do work very hard to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay doing as much as we can possible to help this. Bedrooms (and other areas of the hotel) are slowly being worked on by way of decorating with another bedroom actually due to be finished tomorrow morning. We are trying our best to get as much work done around the hotel as possible with the time and resources available to us keeping the character and history of the hotel very much alive. I am pleased by the sound of it you enjoyed your time in the New Forest which certainly does offer plenty to do to fill many visits! Thank you again for your time and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. Location is perfect, food good and room nice. I felt very comfortable and staff were friendly. Got a great deal through Groupon. Would def go again :-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haybaywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the food, staff and facilities of the hotel. To keep up to date with current offers please check out our facebook page 'Forest Park Hotel - Brockenhurst' and hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Thank you again for your time and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Superbreak UK so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing