We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
south coast england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We were bought a night at this hotel as a present which also included evening meal and breakfast. First impressions are that it is very old and tired and could do with some TLC, however, this is what makes up it's olde worlde charm. Our room was large, very clean and with a lovely bed. We had a good size bathroom, again very clean and with adequate toiletries and towels. There is a beautiful garden, where we sat out and had cream tea and a bottle of wine, from a very good wine list. The cream tea was disappointing, the scones did not appear to be homemade and had been warmed up in the microwave so were very spongey. The evening meal was excellent, good selection of choices, delicious and large portions. Breakfast was also very good, plentiful choices of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and breads and cooked breakfast to follow, with lovely quality sausages and fresh eggs. All the staff at this hotel, were so friendly and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The location of the hotel is wonderful, right at the start of some beautiful walks through the forest, with the ponies wandering around at the front. We really wished that we could have stayed here for longer, and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honey13339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    192
    109
    76
    80
See reviews for
129
284
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife and I selected the Forest Park Hotel on the basis of our knowledge many years ago and the current web site details. First impressions on arrival were that the building was very tired and maintenance of exterior painting and roof tiles was lacking. The entrance steps needed attention and cleaning. The receptionist was efficient but not well presented. To access the room there was no lift and one hd to pass through a fire door in the corridor which automatically slammed shut afterwards with considerable force and noise. There was a further fire door giving an exit towards the tennis courts which was nearly always wide open - this could have been a serious security matter allowing uncontrolled access from outside to the rooms in that wing. The radiators in the corridor were very hot - totally unnecessary with the warm weather. The carpeting in the corridor was also very worn. The bedroom was adequate but, again, very tired. the bathroom was a good size but not clean with mould on the bath and corrosion on the base of the taps. Water pressure was poor and the shower head clogged with hard water deposit. There was no soap or toiletries provided. Breakfast was limited in choice and poor quality. The young staff were trying but really needed training. We were not tempted to have other meals in the hotel restaurant. We consider that this visit was not good value and would neither return nor recommend to others.

Outside the hotel entrance there is an AA plaque indicating several stars. We do not feel that this is justified and in any case we do not think that the hotel is still actually listed by the AA.

It is sad to see what was a good hotel in such a state and the fact that we understand that the hotel has been up for sale for some time is no excuse for allowing it to deteriorate while still presenting it as of a high standard and charging that level of prices. Even if maintenance etc., is kept to a minimum while looking for a buyer it should be kept to a reasonable standard to ensure safety, security and service to customers and staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brockenhurst hotels

Winsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Took my elderly mother on the" tea for two" offer with the daily mail. Scones were cheap defrosted frozen bought in which were all soggy and only one small pot of tea without a pot of hot water to share. The cost with the offer was still £10..certainly not value for money.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mopdraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked a premier room for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a great location and we had a lovely walk in between the rain showers. Although the room was large and had french windows opened out onto the garden, we have to agree with the other reviews that the room was a bit shabby. The carpet could definitely have done with an industrial clean and the wallpaper was starting to peel off the walls. The bathroom was basic but adequate and when we asked for fresh soap the receptionist was very helpful. Our room was on the ground floor by the kitchen and the stairs and was very noisy due to the lack of noise insulation and at some points we thought we had strangers having a chat in the bed with us . The hotel information pack did state breakfast was from 7.30am to 10.00am but the receptionist said that serving breakfast stopped at 9.30am so we made sure we arrived at the dining room before 9.30am. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of it. We were a bit disappointed with the room considering the price we paid unfortunately we would not stay at this hotel again as the price charged should warrant a better class of room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin_rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My family stayed here for 2 nights 9/10th June in 3 rooms. The hotel is in need of urgent spending to upgrade it needs to address the cleanliness issues? This is all that it needs elevate it to a fantastic Hotel. It is in a lovely location and the staff really pull this hotel up by its socks. Judy and the lovely young ladies in front of house are blooming fantastic, they went above and beyond the call of duty during our stay. The breakfast was good and the waitress very efficient during what was a very busy breakfast service on the Saturday (the hotel was fully booked). If you look past the tired and shabby appearance and have a laugh about it you may well enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: Avoid room 31. It is devoid of life and would drain the life out of anyone staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

good points, great location...... that's it! rooms are very dated and not worth the money. We stayed for 1 night as we were attending a wedding at another hotel down the road. went to have a shower in the morning and the shower gel they provided was half full so we assumed it had been used before which made us think what else hadnt been replaced or cleaned. breakfast served between 8-10. as we'd had a late night the day before we went down later for breakfast, around 9.45 only to be told we'd missed the cooked breakfast, how could we have missed it when it states they stop serving at 10! maybe they should put that in their welcome brochure. 'breakfast served between 8-10 unless we cant be bothered to cook you anything' there are much better hotels near by that offer better service. Rooms over priced

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virtues2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We chose the hotel for a three night break because it is dog friendly- we took 3- which was exactly what we wanted. Many other guests seemed to have made the same choice. From that angle it was perfect- large rooms (we had 2 doubles), nice garden, over the road from the open forest. We liked the breakfasts. The staff were very friendly. Yes, the decor was tired inside and out but the rooms were clean. Despite recent reviews there were plenty of TV channels (more than I could ever want to see) and the rooms were comfortable to sit in. That said, our evening meal the night we arrived was awful, but they did reduce the bill! We ate eslewhere in the evenings after that.
If you want to take your dog wtih you to the New Forest, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing