We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a wet weekend at peppa pig world the hotel was the only disappointment”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked to stay in this hotel as a B and B break whilst visting Peppa Pig world. We chose the hotel compared to others as it was 3 star " yeah right thats a laugh" and the price was in the middle, not the cheapest chioce thou i would like to add. From the outside the building looks a little tired but there is good parking facilities. When we arrived after spending a day at Peppa pig world we checked in to our room. On a positive note which might be the only one the room was a good size especially with a 4 year old, the family bathroom was a good size too.
However the room was extremely poor. The master bed was broken with one caster missing resulting in the bed sloping to one side. The gold metal bed frame was thick with dust. When checking the bedding we notice that the carpet area under the bedside tables which were free standing was thick with dust, food and toe nail clippings, this obviously has not seen a hoover in some years! GROSS!
The rest of the room was very grubby, I know the hotel was only 3 stars but you expect simple housekeeping standards. The furniture was old but this suited the style of the room, however dust was piled up along the edges and in places that can easily be seen and reached. The bathroom was clean but very shabby. After unpacking i informed the reception that we was unhappy with the cleaniness of the room and asked for the room to be cleaned on our second day whilst we were out. When returning the second day, this had not been done....this left me very dissapointed that they had made no effort to redeem themselves.
For food, the first night we ate in the hotel restaurant, WHAT A RIP OFF! The food was rubbish, and way over priced. My daughter had a bowl of tomato soup, obviously out of a tin £3.50, for mains a cheese and tomato pizza, must have been some very cheap frozen supermarket value range cooked in a mircowave £5.50! Our meals were adequate, the Whitebait for starters was lovely thou and a good size portion. My steak tasted like it had been frozen and deforsted in a microwave yuck!
For breakfast the food was ok, but very poor choice of cereal, no frosties or rice crispies, seeing that this hotel is catering for children poor selection. The English breakfast was ok, only one thing of each and looked like it had been sitting on the plate for some time just waiting for the egg to be added. When served the plated were dangerously hot, this i noted was commeted by several guest who could not even adjust their plate on the table when served without burning their fingers.
I would not reccomend this hotel or ever return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Forest Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Whilst it is true that some parts/rooms in the hotel are a little tired, it is also clear much of the public areas have ben given a fairly recent coat of paint. The style of the building is somewhat old fashioned but to me that adds to the charm of the place. The staff without exception were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
I stayed with a large party and we all found the breakfast to be very good indeed. Our evening meals whilst not five star were perfectly acceptable.
This hotel does not price it self at the level of others in the area and as such offers good overall value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been decorated in the last year or so. Would be worth asking if a refurbished room i...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grodhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We chose this hotel due to the location, we wanted a stay in the New forest with our dogs and this hotel was the only one available in Brockenhurst.

Bad Choice

We arrived having booked online and specified a ground floor room only to be offered a first floor room, we paid extra for "premium" rooms, can't bear to think what an "ordinary" was???

The room was grubby, needed a decent clean, the bathroom had panels held on by rusty nails and the shower "trickled"

The wardrobe door was held on by a single hinge and the light fittings didn't match, one double plug socket for "all electricals" so no kettle whilst anything else was plugged in.

The bed was so uncomfortable, so many lumps and bumps and sloped to the middle it made sleep impossible, the noise from surrounding rooms was only just bareable, TV's seemed to have one setting and they weren't low and every time some one in the hotel flushed their toilets everyone else heard the macerators working overtime.

Breakfast although included consisted of a choice of "continental" being yogurt and prunes, or "full english" which consisted if "one of each", one sausage one slice of bacon one half tomato and one serving of the only recipe for egg that makes it taste of nothing like egg, we still cant work out how you cook the taste of egg out of egg??

Value for money it isn't, it isn't a three star hotel.

All said and done though, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and struggled with a good job in a bad location, we have no complaints about the way they helped us in our stay.

Room Tip: There are other hotels available
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel seems a bit tried. The room we stayed in was dirty. dust on everything , wallpaper peeling. the bedside tables has a cloth on but there was coffee stains on. the bathroom had black mouldy sealant around the bath. the shower was dredfull. there was no decaff coffee in the room. the bed was very soft my husband and i had the worst night sleep we went for continental breakfast but there was'nt any cheeses just juice cereal,toast fruit and yoghurt. the outside needed attention. my husband is registered disabled outside ther was only 2 disabled parking spaces which were full and infact the cars parked in these spaces did'nt have any blue badges displayed

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed as a party of 18 in a golf society playing local courses. The staff were very helpful and efficient . The menu selection of evening meal in advance at breakfast worked well and meant efficient serving. Food was decent and plentiful. The wine stock could have been better. Breakfast was very good, hot and quick. The rooms were comfortable and reasonably spacious even if a little old fashioned but in keeping with the period of the hotel and quite OK. Overall a good trip!

Room Tip: Room facing garden seemed best
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We were bought a night at this hotel as a present which also included evening meal and breakfast. First impressions are that it is very old and tired and could do with some TLC, however, this is what makes up it's olde worlde charm. Our room was large, very clean and with a lovely bed. We had a good size bathroom, again very clean and with adequate toiletries and towels. There is a beautiful garden, where we sat out and had cream tea and a bottle of wine, from a very good wine list. The cream tea was disappointing, the scones did not appear to be homemade and had been warmed up in the microwave so were very spongey. The evening meal was excellent, good selection of choices, delicious and large portions. Breakfast was also very good, plentiful choices of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and breads and cooked breakfast to follow, with lovely quality sausages and fresh eggs. All the staff at this hotel, were so friendly and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The location of the hotel is wonderful, right at the start of some beautiful walks through the forest, with the ponies wandering around at the front. We really wished that we could have stayed here for longer, and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honey13339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife and I selected the Forest Park Hotel on the basis of our knowledge many years ago and the current web site details. First impressions on arrival were that the building was very tired and maintenance of exterior painting and roof tiles was lacking. The entrance steps needed attention and cleaning. The receptionist was efficient but not well presented. To access the room there was no lift and one hd to pass through a fire door in the corridor which automatically slammed shut afterwards with considerable force and noise. There was a further fire door giving an exit towards the tennis courts which was nearly always wide open - this could have been a serious security matter allowing uncontrolled access from outside to the rooms in that wing. The radiators in the corridor were very hot - totally unnecessary with the warm weather. The carpeting in the corridor was also very worn. The bedroom was adequate but, again, very tired. the bathroom was a good size but not clean with mould on the bath and corrosion on the base of the taps. Water pressure was poor and the shower head clogged with hard water deposit. There was no soap or toiletries provided. Breakfast was limited in choice and poor quality. The young staff were trying but really needed training. We were not tempted to have other meals in the hotel restaurant. We consider that this visit was not good value and would neither return nor recommend to others.

Outside the hotel entrance there is an AA plaque indicating several stars. We do not feel that this is justified and in any case we do not think that the hotel is still actually listed by the AA.

It is sad to see what was a good hotel in such a state and the fact that we understand that the hotel has been up for sale for some time is no excuse for allowing it to deteriorate while still presenting it as of a high standard and charging that level of prices. Even if maintenance etc., is kept to a minimum while looking for a buyer it should be kept to a reasonable standard to ensure safety, security and service to customers and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
5.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
381 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,638 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,740 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £65 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing