We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, disgusting, potentially dangerous”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed here as part of a group over a bank holiday in May. We booked a premier room and were given a ground floor room. This was very poorly furnished with dated decor, curtains hanging off the rails, wallpaper peeling off the wall, a saggy bed and the wardrobe door hanging on one hinge. The carpet was dirty, there was dust on the lampshades, bedside cabinets etc.
My main concern was the electrical systems. There were very few sockets for hair dryers etc. The radiators were not working but there was a very odd wire leading from the wall to the radiator and the odd arrangement of loose wires below the heated towel rail in the bathroom looked dangerous. The shower was just a trickle and there was no hot water one evening.
The food was extremely poor- the combination of spinach and feta goujons with sweet chilli sauce demonstrates why Greek/Oriental fusion food is likely to be recognised as one of the worlds top cuisines. The smoked haddock with cheese sauce was one of the worst dishes I have ever eaten and the fresh fruit salad contained tinned fruit. The hotel had a very limited wine list with most not available. On the Saturday night a member of staff had to go to a local supermarket to buy dry white wine. There was a limited choice of drinks in the bar with no gin available .
There was a gas leak whilst we were dining. The hotel moved our table to another part of the room away from the gas leak, complete with our own crumbs and dirty glasses. After that, a radiator falling of the wall was just seen as comical.
The hotel is in a fantastic location and is an attractive building. It could be a wonderful place to stay. However, in it's current dirty, badly maintained state with poor food and service I could not recommend that anyone stay here.

I have left it until now to write this review as I had written to the manager and, to be fair, received a prompt reply. He claimed the lack of cleaning was an oversight. However, reading other reviews, it appears that this is not the case.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacquiwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is on need of some TLC as many of the other people have mentioned.
However we found the staff very efficient and friendly. The room was large and there was plenty of tea and coffee supplied. The bathroom really needs some doing up but everything worked and all we really needed was somewhere to clean up and sleep.
We ate in the bar and although the choice there was limited the food was fine.
The gardens are beautiful and well kept.
There was a good selection of fruits and cereals etc for breakfast. And the full English was very filling.
I would stay again - the staff were fab and nothing seemed too much trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonnaLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked this hotel (2 x rooms) via Booking.com, yes we left it a bit late and only wanted to stay one night. On arrival the hotel had character from the outside albeit needing a lick of paint. On opening the front door the alarm bells started to ring - dark and smelling damp/dogs, after finding the very small reception hatch a young female did all the necessary paper work and gave us the card room keys (room 30 and 31). The journey up the the two flights of creaking floor boards and thread bare carpets took us past dirty window frames,dusty hand rails and wonderful cobwebs. Our room (30) was very dated and had a damp smell (and we found damp black patches) behid the curtains and window frames, peeling wallpaper. The carpet needed a good clean, the valence on the bed was ripped and dirty, the bed was old and the linen although smelt clean look grubby.

The bathroom complete with bright red tiles was pretty disgusting! dated,grubby,moldy,shower did not work. At one one time must of had a shower glass screen - frame there but no screen. A shower curtain has been placed over it?

A total of approx 6hrs sleep was had with the odd wake up due to creaking floor boards and banging pipes.Once up we felt that a nice warm shower would be nice - again shower not working!

Room 31 for our son and his girlfriend was no better!

Down for breakfast at 08.40 staff were welcoming. As there was four of us that would like to sit together it did take a little while for the staff to realise if you push together 2 x tables for two you can sit four. To be honest the English Breakfast was not bad 6/10 and we had been warned that you might get 3rd degree burns if you touch the plates - choices for no cooked breakfast people looked poor.

Then back to our room and leave. So as a group we agreed that this was the worst hotel we had ever stayed in. So on check out we complained to the same young female who checked us in. She did look like this has happened before and agreed to take off £30.00 each off our final bill.
I think it should have been for the whole amount.I did not take it any further due to other people behind us trying check out.

You have been warned!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fourleafDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked to stay in this hotel as a B and B break whilst visting Peppa Pig world. We chose the hotel compared to others as it was 3 star " yeah right thats a laugh" and the price was in the middle, not the cheapest chioce thou i would like to add. From the outside the building looks a little tired but there is good parking facilities. When we arrived after spending a day at Peppa pig world we checked in to our room. On a positive note which might be the only one the room was a good size especially with a 4 year old, the family bathroom was a good size too.
However the room was extremely poor. The master bed was broken with one caster missing resulting in the bed sloping to one side. The gold metal bed frame was thick with dust. When checking the bedding we notice that the carpet area under the bedside tables which were free standing was thick with dust, food and toe nail clippings, this obviously has not seen a hoover in some years! GROSS!
The rest of the room was very grubby, I know the hotel was only 3 stars but you expect simple housekeeping standards. The furniture was old but this suited the style of the room, however dust was piled up along the edges and in places that can easily be seen and reached. The bathroom was clean but very shabby. After unpacking i informed the reception that we was unhappy with the cleaniness of the room and asked for the room to be cleaned on our second day whilst we were out. When returning the second day, this had not been done....this left me very dissapointed that they had made no effort to redeem themselves.
For food, the first night we ate in the hotel restaurant, WHAT A RIP OFF! The food was rubbish, and way over priced. My daughter had a bowl of tomato soup, obviously out of a tin £3.50, for mains a cheese and tomato pizza, must have been some very cheap frozen supermarket value range cooked in a mircowave £5.50! Our meals were adequate, the Whitebait for starters was lovely thou and a good size portion. My steak tasted like it had been frozen and deforsted in a microwave yuck!
For breakfast the food was ok, but very poor choice of cereal, no frosties or rice crispies, seeing that this hotel is catering for children poor selection. The English breakfast was ok, only one thing of each and looked like it had been sitting on the plate for some time just waiting for the egg to be added. When served the plated were dangerously hot, this i noted was commeted by several guest who could not even adjust their plate on the table when served without burning their fingers.
I would not reccomend this hotel or ever return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Whilst it is true that some parts/rooms in the hotel are a little tired, it is also clear much of the public areas have ben given a fairly recent coat of paint. The style of the building is somewhat old fashioned but to me that adds to the charm of the place. The staff without exception were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
I stayed with a large party and we all found the breakfast to be very good indeed. Our evening meals whilst not five star were perfectly acceptable.
This hotel does not price it self at the level of others in the area and as such offers good overall value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been decorated in the last year or so. Would be worth asking if a refurbished room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grodhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We chose this hotel due to the location, we wanted a stay in the New forest with our dogs and this hotel was the only one available in Brockenhurst.

Bad Choice

We arrived having booked online and specified a ground floor room only to be offered a first floor room, we paid extra for "premium" rooms, can't bear to think what an "ordinary" was???

The room was grubby, needed a decent clean, the bathroom had panels held on by rusty nails and the shower "trickled"

The wardrobe door was held on by a single hinge and the light fittings didn't match, one double plug socket for "all electricals" so no kettle whilst anything else was plugged in.

The bed was so uncomfortable, so many lumps and bumps and sloped to the middle it made sleep impossible, the noise from surrounding rooms was only just bareable, TV's seemed to have one setting and they weren't low and every time some one in the hotel flushed their toilets everyone else heard the macerators working overtime.

Breakfast although included consisted of a choice of "continental" being yogurt and prunes, or "full english" which consisted if "one of each", one sausage one slice of bacon one half tomato and one serving of the only recipe for egg that makes it taste of nothing like egg, we still cant work out how you cook the taste of egg out of egg??

Value for money it isn't, it isn't a three star hotel.

All said and done though, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and struggled with a good job in a bad location, we have no complaints about the way they helped us in our stay.

Room Tip: There are other hotels available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel seems a bit tried. The room we stayed in was dirty. dust on everything , wallpaper peeling. the bedside tables has a cloth on but there was coffee stains on. the bathroom had black mouldy sealant around the bath. the shower was dredfull. there was no decaff coffee in the room. the bed was very soft my husband and i had the worst night sleep we went for continental breakfast but there was'nt any cheeses just juice cereal,toast fruit and yoghurt. the outside needed attention. my husband is registered disabled outside ther was only 2 disabled parking spaces which were full and infact the cars parked in these spaces did'nt have any blue badges displayed

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cloud Hotel
The Cloud Hotel
#9 of 10 in Brockenhurst
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,677 reviews
5.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £68 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing