We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest Park Hotel”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I have been visiting this hotel for many years. The location is superb. It faces the forest and an adjoining field area where ponies and cattle graze. At times the ponies come to the hotel entrance. There are also stables and tennis courts, but alas, the swimming pool is no more.

The hotel has recently been sold - I did hear a rumour that it was for sale again - and the standard has dropped alarmingly. The food was nowhere near as good as on previous occasions and no provision made for vegetarians. There was no facility for hanging clothes in the bedroom; nor was there a glass in the bathroom, tissues ,or biscuits on the hospitality tray. The cup did not have a saucer. I could go on.

This is such a shame as I have such happy memories of staying here. I understand that the present Manager intends making some imrovements.

Room Tip: I had, as on previous occasions, booked a small, cosy room as advertised in brochure. However I wa...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
5  Thank Nomad34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

The staff at this hotel are let down by an owner who appears not to care and an incompetent person in charge of housekeeping. Yet it could be wonderful. It's a lovely building with loads of character, in a beautiful area. We were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. When I refused the first room due to the peeling wallpaper and dusty black cobwebs they very quickly found me an alternative. Unfortunately there were still cobwebs (though in this room only clinging to the curtains) and I wrote my name in the dust on the bedframe. The bathroom was just about adequate and it was morning before l found out that the shower didn't work. However, the sheets and towels were clean and fresh.

We opted to eat elsewhere as the menu is old fashioned and uninspiring. However, the breakfast was excellent.

The front of hotel decor is tired and shabby. The gardens at the back would be beautiful if the owners hadn't taken the cheapest option to fill in what was obviously some sort of pool with a load of gravel.

What is most disappointing is that nobody cares! the same comments have been on various review sites for over two years. Are the cobwebs I encountered the same ones as the reviewer in 2009? They were certainly big and black enough to be that old.

Room Tip: Check the cobweb count before accepting the room.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JiliS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in, Hoovering at 3am on a Sunday morning takes the mick. Food was not really that good, I'm guessing it was heated in a microwave. Room was absolutely filthy.....Lyndhurst park hotel is far nicer. #fact

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiffyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Not a very warn welcome and as walking to your room the building is all falling apart. Got to your room 109 on first impression it was just dated but it was a s*** hole the shower was fall of mould. the bed sheets didn't fit and the windows have mould and cobwebs all over them I could got on all day but I don't have the time so just don't book I wasted £104

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reeveshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights whilst visiting relatives. The hotel is in need of some cosmetic work but the room we stayed in was comfortable and the staff were friendly and attentive. The room we stayed in was at the top of the hotel and the only issue we had was the noise from the heat extractor starting up in the morning when breakfast was being prepared but as this was at about 7 am we didn't mind ( our 2 year old is up before then anyway ). We found the breakfast options plentiful and the location of the hotel was perfect for exploring the area. All in all if you are looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay and are not too bothered about the decor I would recommend staying there.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Spend there 2 nights. All staff apart from management was very friendly and helpful. The room was big but old with old furniture. Stained carpet, and hair in the bathroom aswell. Breakfast was very good. Regards to the chef Peter. Very nice and quite area, perfect for forest walks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel. the Hotel is in desperate need of a face lift and permanent staff with experience (many students working as casual labour) A new manager has been on site for a short time and he is a very hard working man who seems to have to be doing everybody's job. i hope this hotel sorts itself out as it is situated in an idyllic position

Room Tip: Room 11 was ok, (after the reports on the other guests we where fortunate)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarenewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cloud Hotel
The Cloud Hotel
#9 of 10 in Brockenhurst
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,676 reviews
5.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £67 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing