We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country hotel of character”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Ascot, Berkshire.
1 review
“Country hotel of character”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here in July for 2 nights. Great countryside location and near sea. Good country hotel with bar for locals and residents. Village centre less than 1 mile away but hotel is not isolated. Very friendly with excellent staff and service. Breakfast was good it was the only meal I had. Room clean and bright and the bed was okay. Under new ownership and complete refurbishment in progress which it does need. Great large garden but no other facilities at present. I heard that a mini gym is planned.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden are brighter and quieter, they face south. Rooms at the front overlook road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    196
    111
    78
    81
See reviews for
130
292
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived to find the hotel in a beautiful location for the new forest and wild ponies. The hotel looked tired but the receptionist was very pleasant.
The interior was dated and old, as was the room, but our family room was a good size with a section for our bed and a section that had two singles for the kids.
We were very disappointed to discover that the month before the manager took the decision to remove coffee/tea facilities from the rooms which I would never have expected and was very annoyed about. The room was a bit grubby with staines all over the carpet and bathroom floor, and had no batteries in the remote control for the tv.
We had dinner in the bar which was an odd atmosphere but the staff were very nice.
Our shower didn't work with little power and ran cold for the first person. At breakfast we ordered croissants only to be brought something else and had to explain to the waitress that she hadn't brought croissants, just pastries. She went back to the kitchen and came back to tell us they didn't have any, which is fine, but don't just put something else on the table!
In their favour, they had free wifi which is definitely a plus.
Overall, the staff were pleasant if a little lacking, and the hotel has the location, but not a lot more.
I understand from another guest that they are renovating, but I think they should be open and upfront about that to guests, recognising that there is work to be done and they are undertaking a program of works to get them where they want to be. Not acknowledging it makes it seem as if they think they are fine as they are. It is not fine if they want to stay open as a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stargazer147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel this weekend and after reading some of the reviews I was quite put off by some of the comments!! Needless to say these people must have nothing better to do with there time, my experience was pleasant with helpful staff, our room had beautiful views into the garden and forest behind, the room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was a decent size, ok the rooms needed decorating and modernizing but overall it was clean and bright, breakfast was busy but the wait was not too long. If you are paying £95 a night and want some where clean and friendly to get your head down in a pretty area, forest park is a great choice. If however you are looking for a hotel with facilitates and immaculate decorated rooms, well it would cost you about £100 more and this hotel is not for you, but if you want friendly and helpful staff and large room with stunning views and dont mind a bit of peeling on your slash windows then this hotel is great.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18, big room with beautiful views into the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamPearse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Me and my husband stayed for the weekend ( no previous booking ) just up'd and went . Really dont understand the wingeing reviews , unless they are just put out of spite , true this place needs a bit of a makeover, but as we went for the forest and attractions , The room was perfect for showering and sleeping. , what do people want for £90 a night with breakfast , which is lovely , with plenty of choice , and nicely presented .We had dinner on the first night which was very nice indeed . Take no notice of the woefull wingers . Go find out for yourself , its got a great location,staff are helpful and pleasant , we will be back . (Tracey & Russell )

Room Tip: Room 14 has a nice view of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceyharris1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We booked to stay in this hotel a couple of weeks ago so that we wouldn't have to travel back from a friend's nearby wedding. The first thing I need to say is that when I read the recent reviews I was worried, but thankfully these proved to be totally unjustified. The hotel is full of character and the staff are very friendly. We stayed in a family room which was clean, well decorated and very spacious. The bathroom was huge for an ensuite! And whilst being dated it was clean and the shower was hot. The hotel is right in the New Forest and in keeping with the area. We had a lovely walk followed by a sit in the gardens. Breakfast was not a dissapointment either and there was plenty to choose from. The new Management are fully aware that some of the rooms can be improved and some work is in progress, in the meantime they offer you a free drink in the bar and very competive rates. I have stayed in plenty of hotels and I honestly couldn't fault it. If you want to stay in an ultra-modern hotel with every mod-con then go to the city. But if you want to stay in a lovely (and clean) hotel full of character with wild ponies on your doorstep then I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllyK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were heading to Lymington in search of a light meal and came across this hotel with the notice "food served all day". As there was also a notice which advertised hours when food was being served (not all day!) we thought we would check it out anyway. We made our way through to the bar where we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful barmaid. We ordered a couple of prawn baguettes which came with garnish and chips and a cheese platter that wasn't on the bar menu but was just what we had in mind. The jug of pimms served 3 of us generously and came with plenty of fruit. It is true the hotel is rather dated and the receptionist did seem busier flicking off sites which didn't look to be totally work-related rather than attending to the reception desk but overall our experience was extremely positive. Perhaps this hotel does lack an eye for detail, and the work in progress does make it difficult to negotiate in places but I can definitely recommend it for bar food, there is no problem with parking and the ladies toilets were immaculate!

Room Tip: didn't stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graceyloufreebushl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the outside it seemed it could only get better. It got worse on walking through the door. Sluggish reception. Took twenty minutes to get a room key. On reflection if it had taken 18 hours then I wouldn't have stayed there, which would have been delightful. The only modern thing about the room was the electronic door security lock. Extremely dated furnishings and a couple of sash windows that were most insistent on staying open. The sink had more chips than a Glaswegian fish and chip shop; and the shower was probably more complicated to operate than the space shuttle on landing - it offered super saturated steam or I could have indulged in a torrent of glacier run off! The room had not seen a spring clean since the Second World War ended and I was sorely tempted to ring David Dickenson to come round and value the furniture. At 0400 in the morning my partner could no longer stay in the uncomfortable bed so climbed out of the dining room window to walk round the garden and see if she could start the ride on lawnmower. Sadly she could not but full marks to the night porter who met her climbing out of the window with a lavish display of security attentiveness. As nikibar1 says, 'don’t do it'. Overpriced but they are surrounded by the beauty of the New Forest. So, get a tent and sleep in it, which I assure you will provide a more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mad_Gabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brockenhurst hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,597 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
439 reviews
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
5.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing